$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
View map of 824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savvy senior
Business
Afton, Va.
Jan 24, 2012

Perfect for my needs!

Needed a location close to the Kennedy Center and affordable. Was very pleased with The George Washington University Inn. Friendly, helpful staff. They even showed me how to find on-street parking so I would not have to pay the daily parking fee! Loved the direct access to Notti Bianchi, a wonderful restaurant. I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Short walk to the Kennedy Center and only half a block to the closest Metro station! Also, I was heading out of town on Rt. 66 within 5 minutes of leaving the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAckermann
Business
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Great for a Stay in DC

We were very happy with our room, which was unexpectedly a suite! Comfortable, clean, good location, and very nice staff. Breakfast wasn't great but fine since the price of breakfast was included with our fee. I wouldn't have to pay extra for that breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gators09
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 25, 2011

Perfect for visiting GW

This hotel was perfect for me because I was interviewing at GW's school of medicine. It was steps away from the medical school and within walking distance to all of DC attractions, from the shops at Georgetown to the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you visit Georgetown cupcakes you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klbl
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Great for visiting GW campus

A perfect location for visiting the GW campus. We were able to walk to GW campus, Georgetown and the Nat'l Mall. Room was clean and staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDBrewer
Business
Damascus, Maryland
Aug 7, 2011

Big Room...Great Location...Good Value

We were in DC to see a show and picked this facility for its convenience. I thought this was a nice hotel for the price and very convenient to the Kennedy Center. The room was much larger than I expected, containing a comfortable bed and a flat screen TV, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. That being said, here's some minor nits: This building is old and despite the staff's efforts, it smelled old. The hallways were not exactly air conditioned and the elevators were tiny/slow. While the room was generally very nice, the blackout curtain was in shreds. Also, I don't exactly know what they use to clean the bathroom floors; whatever they use, it made the bathroom tile very slick. The restaurant bar was OK...but IMHO it needs more beer taps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 27, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Over the last 9 years have stayed at the GWU Inn while visiting our children in undergrad college and grad school. The staff is very accommodating. Allergic to down, I requested foam pillows for 9 years, and it was always honored. The location is ideal, right near Foggy Bottom metro station, GW campus and GW hospital, not to mention proximity to all monuments, etc. Only one concern, the breakfast buffet is terribly overpriced and the food was not good, nor hot, even the rolls were stale. They need a good breakfast program. I have eaten dinner there, which was good. I oftentimes wish the rates were lower; however, I find when booking air & hotel together it is more affordable. Rooms are clean, and staff has been kind enough to upgrade our room when we arrive early. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Murissoca
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 27, 2011

good location, clean room, old bathroom.

Good location: The hotel is about 5 minutes from the blue-line metro station, which takes you to the DCA airport and to the National Mall and downtown. The location itself is residential, you need to walk 15 to 10 minutes to find some restaurant options. The room is clean, the air conditioner works fine but the bathroom is very old. To refresh the heat, you can find a great orange cold water in the lobby, very special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Archaeologist
Business
La Verne, CA
May 1, 2011

Wonderful stay, wonderful location

I was in D.C. to attend a business meeting and to do sightseeing. The hotel is not impressive from the outside, but it is a different story inside. The staff were friendly and helpful. My room was clean and comfortable - no different than a swankier hotel. And no bedbugs! This was a concern since I had heard stories about bedbug infestations on the east coast. The hotel is next to the prestigious Georgetown University. It was an easy 15 minute walk past the the university and the State Department to the Lincoln Memorial. From there it was easy to get to all the major sights on the national mall. It took took me no more than 30 min. to walk between the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History and the hotel. It also took me no longer than 3-5 minutes to get to the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Bottom line: If you are looking for a clean, well-maintained, reasonably priced hotel that is in a historic area of D.C., and want to be reasonably close to the sights and close to Metro, then I highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nallu
Business
Wilbraham,MA
Apr 26, 2011

Great location

Close to the Foggy Bottom Metro stop, restaurants and shops....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the valet parking available to avoid searching for spots and parking tickets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilbraham,MA
Apr 26, 2011

Great location

Close to the Foggy Bottom Metro stop, restaurants and shops....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the valet parking available to avoid searching for spots and parking tickets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top