$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
View map of 824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
future college mom
Business
Bedford, TX, USA
Mar 15, 2012

perfect for college visit

Very clean room, little old expected for the price, people were very polite and promt to respond any request. safe area to walk, a 7-11 very convenient steps away, metro steps away, it was stuffy but once we open the windows (like in old hotel) we had a very nice breeze. I will come back anytime. I like they have a ihome (modern touch)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

the trolly hop on and off, super value for your money

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aragorn
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Great location and an outstanding value

If you're looking at this review, you need a place in DC and have already discovered that nice places are not cheap. But the George Washington University Inn is reasonable. Located three blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro, the GWUI may be what you're looking for. It was for us. The room we had on the 7th floor was nice, clean and quiet. The furnishings were decent and comfortable with enough lighting located just where you would need it. Beyond being just 5 minutes from the Metro stop, there are also some conveniences you might use during your stay. The GW Hospital has a decent cafeteria that's cheap and a Starbucks for those hankering more sophisticated morning coffee. The staff at GWUI was always friendly and helpful. You won't spend much time in the tiny lobby, but you're staying there for a decent room and not to impress your entourage. The attached restaurant is supposed to be a decent Italian eatery at night. During the morning it offers an uninspired, very basic breakfast buffet for $15. Save money by having breakfast in the cafeteria of the GWU Hospital. You'll overlook the Styrofoam plates when they total your bill. A close by Whole Foods offers a sterling selection of everything you'll want at their usual platinum pricing. There are other restaurants and at least one bar close by. I do have a few critical comments about the inn. Wi-Fi is very limited. No streaming is permitted, probably due to an underwhelming connectivity infrastructure. The staff says that they are aware of the problem and hoping to upgrade in the future. The way it is now is okay for email and a few simple page views. There was a network cable that I didn't have a chance to use since I was traveling without a laptop. It seems to me that high speed Wifi should be standard everywhere by now, and I downgrade them for not having one. Faucet controls are a bit twitchy, but hold constant once the temperature is set. Nice showers with larger than average tubs. The old tubs have been nicely redone, lots of tile and shiny clean caulking and grout. These rooms used to be apartments, so they're roomy, but there's an odd room between main space and the bathroom that has just the coffee maker and a small refrigerator. I would have liked an extra towel bar or couple hooks, but there's adequate space for toiletries. I'm being a bit picky here, because this is really nice for the price in DC. If you're lucky or ask for it, you might get a room facing the Watergate Hotel and the Kennedy Center. Those who need to park, plan on a $30 nightly charge. Bottom line is that I would be happy to stay here again and I would recommend it to my friends who were price conscious but still wanted something as nice as home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The George Washington University Hospital has an excellent and cheap cafeteria.

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kendra
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Outstanding value

The online price of $89 plus tax was more than a good value. The room was large, clean, comfortable, and all the staff was more than helpful. This is my place to stay in DC from

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savvy senior
Business
Afton, Va.
Jan 24, 2012

Perfect for my needs!

Needed a location close to the Kennedy Center and affordable. Was very pleased with The George Washington University Inn. Friendly, helpful staff. They even showed me how to find on-street parking so I would not have to pay the daily parking fee! Loved the direct access to Notti Bianchi, a wonderful restaurant. I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Short walk to the Kennedy Center and only half a block to the closest Metro station! Also, I was heading out of town on Rt. 66 within 5 minutes of leaving the hotel!

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAckermann
Business
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Great for a Stay in DC

We were very happy with our room, which was unexpectedly a suite! Comfortable, clean, good location, and very nice staff. Breakfast wasn't great but fine since the price of breakfast was included with our fee. I wouldn't have to pay extra for that breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gators09
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 25, 2011

Perfect for visiting GW

This hotel was perfect for me because I was interviewing at GW's school of medicine. It was steps away from the medical school and within walking distance to all of DC attractions, from the shops at Georgetown to the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you visit Georgetown cupcakes you won't regret it.

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klbl
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Great for visiting GW campus

A perfect location for visiting the GW campus. We were able to walk to GW campus, Georgetown and the Nat'l Mall. Room was clean and staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDBrewer
Business
Damascus, Maryland
Aug 7, 2011

Big Room...Great Location...Good Value

We were in DC to see a show and picked this facility for its convenience. I thought this was a nice hotel for the price and very convenient to the Kennedy Center. The room was much larger than I expected, containing a comfortable bed and a flat screen TV, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. That being said, here's some minor nits: This building is old and despite the staff's efforts, it smelled old. The hallways were not exactly air conditioned and the elevators were tiny/slow. While the room was generally very nice, the blackout curtain was in shreds. Also, I don't exactly know what they use to clean the bathroom floors; whatever they use, it made the bathroom tile very slick. The restaurant bar was OK...but IMHO it needs more beer taps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 27, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Over the last 9 years have stayed at the GWU Inn while visiting our children in undergrad college and grad school. The staff is very accommodating. Allergic to down, I requested foam pillows for 9 years, and it was always honored. The location is ideal, right near Foggy Bottom metro station, GW campus and GW hospital, not to mention proximity to all monuments, etc. Only one concern, the breakfast buffet is terribly overpriced and the food was not good, nor hot, even the rolls were stale. They need a good breakfast program. I have eaten dinner there, which was good. I oftentimes wish the rates were lower; however, I find when booking air & hotel together it is more affordable. Rooms are clean, and staff has been kind enough to upgrade our room when we arrive early. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Murissoca
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 27, 2011

good location, clean room, old bathroom.

Good location: The hotel is about 5 minutes from the blue-line metro station, which takes you to the DCA airport and to the National Mall and downtown. The location itself is residential, you need to walk 15 to 10 minutes to find some restaurant options. The room is clean, the air conditioner works fine but the bathroom is very old. To refresh the heat, you can find a great orange cold water in the lobby, very special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top