$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
84 reviews
Can't say enough good things about the staff.

The great service started before we arrived. I called the hotel to see if they could get me some... See full review

  • Tanya Y
  • Jul 7, 2014
Couples city break

The room was massive - we had a suite with kitchenette and sofa which was perfect to relax in after... See full review

  • Bubs
  • Jun 12, 2014
Now, there's a new name for luxurious hotel accommodations in the nation's capital. It's The George Washington University Inn -- ideally situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in the prestigious residential neighborhood of historic Foggy Bottom.

This premiere inn is located just two blocks from The George Washington University and The Kennedy Center, the theatrical heart of Washington's vibrant and varied cultural life. A delightfully pleasant and short walk will place you in the center of famous, fashionable Georgetown with its array of uncommon attractions.

The George Washington University Inn's attentive staff is quick to provide all the services that are sure to indulge our guests. That's why The George Washington University Inn has quickly become the hotel of choice among our frequent travelers.

When you consider all that The George Washington University Inn has to offer, you'll see why it's the smart place to stay.

Daily parking rate: $40 plus tax.

Now pet friendly!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George Washington University Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The George Washington University Inn Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette Newly Renovated/Living Room w/Queen Sofabed.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room King Bed Newly Renovated/Oversized/Deluxe amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.4 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carol chick
Business
Bozeman Montana
May 22, 2012

Great location for GWU

This was a nice hotel. Clean, good location, nice staff. The rest of my family stayed at Hilton Gran Tree across the street. That was very nice also. They Offered hot Starbucks coffee and Tea in the Lobby every morning. We liked that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is right around the corner from the Foggy Bottom Metro. So you don't need to rent a car. Easy to get to Reagan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WPVMD
Business
Winchester, VA
May 21, 2012

PLEASANT PLACE TO STAY

Room was spacious suite, with kitchen, dining area, pull out sofa if you had an extra guest or children, and separate dressing area next to bathroom. Had valet parking. Entrance was a little difficult to find as the hotel was off the main street with a private drive that got congested. Middle of George Washington Univ & Hospital and a 15 minute walk to Georgetown shopping.One block from Foggy Botton Metro. Staff very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ddnd
Business
Delaware
May 17, 2012

gwu family visit

The room was always perfectly clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Close location to GWU, laundry place helped us to finalise quickly all packing leaving the campus after a school year. Good food in the restaurant and nice bellman service- everything helped to feel first days of summer vacations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GW Univ. visitor
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 7, 2012

College visit

Great experience staying at this hotel. Chose this hotel based on price and location. Was a great value for the price paid. Have seen higher rates posted for this same hotel during peak times, but would stay somewhere a bit nicer at those higher rates. Amenities are clean, but dated. The location is perfect if you are visiting GW University. Easy walk to the metro to visit DC sites. Never needed to take a taxi during our entire visit. Staff was extremely responsive to anything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab breakfast or lunch at Whole Foods. Great bakery section and right off the Foggy Bottom metro stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
future college mom
Business
Bedford, TX, USA
Mar 15, 2012

perfect for college visit

Very clean room, little old expected for the price, people were very polite and promt to respond any request. safe area to walk, a 7-11 very convenient steps away, metro steps away, it was stuffy but once we open the windows (like in old hotel) we had a very nice breeze. I will come back anytime. I like they have a ihome (modern touch)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

the trolly hop on and off, super value for your money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aragorn
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Great location and an outstanding value

If you're looking at this review, you need a place in DC and have already discovered that nice places are not cheap. But the George Washington University Inn is reasonable. Located three blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro, the GWUI may be what you're looking for. It was for us. The room we had on the 7th floor was nice, clean and quiet. The furnishings were decent and comfortable with enough lighting located just where you would need it. Beyond being just 5 minutes from the Metro stop, there are also some conveniences you might use during your stay. The GW Hospital has a decent cafeteria that's cheap and a Starbucks for those hankering more sophisticated morning coffee. The staff at GWUI was always friendly and helpful. You won't spend much time in the tiny lobby, but you're staying there for a decent room and not to impress your entourage. The attached restaurant is supposed to be a decent Italian eatery at night. During the morning it offers an uninspired, very basic breakfast buffet for $15. Save money by having breakfast in the cafeteria of the GWU Hospital. You'll overlook the Styrofoam plates when they total your bill. A close by Whole Foods offers a sterling selection of everything you'll want at their usual platinum pricing. There are other restaurants and at least one bar close by. I do have a few critical comments about the inn. Wi-Fi is very limited. No streaming is permitted, probably due to an underwhelming connectivity infrastructure. The staff says that they are aware of the problem and hoping to upgrade in the future. The way it is now is okay for email and a few simple page views. There was a network cable that I didn't have a chance to use since I was traveling without a laptop. It seems to me that high speed Wifi should be standard everywhere by now, and I downgrade them for not having one. Faucet controls are a bit twitchy, but hold constant once the temperature is set. Nice showers with larger than average tubs. The old tubs have been nicely redone, lots of tile and shiny clean caulking and grout. These rooms used to be apartments, so they're roomy, but there's an odd room between main space and the bathroom that has just the coffee maker and a small refrigerator. I would have liked an extra towel bar or couple hooks, but there's adequate space for toiletries. I'm being a bit picky here, because this is really nice for the price in DC. If you're lucky or ask for it, you might get a room facing the Watergate Hotel and the Kennedy Center. Those who need to park, plan on a $30 nightly charge. Bottom line is that I would be happy to stay here again and I would recommend it to my friends who were price conscious but still wanted something as nice as home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The George Washington University Hospital has an excellent and cheap cafeteria.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kendra
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Outstanding value

The online price of $89 plus tax was more than a good value. The room was large, clean, comfortable, and all the staff was more than helpful. This is my place to stay in DC from

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savvy senior
Business
Afton, Va.
Jan 24, 2012

Perfect for my needs!

Needed a location close to the Kennedy Center and affordable. Was very pleased with The George Washington University Inn. Friendly, helpful staff. They even showed me how to find on-street parking so I would not have to pay the daily parking fee! Loved the direct access to Notti Bianchi, a wonderful restaurant. I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Short walk to the Kennedy Center and only half a block to the closest Metro station! Also, I was heading out of town on Rt. 66 within 5 minutes of leaving the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAckermann
Business
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Great for a Stay in DC

We were very happy with our room, which was unexpectedly a suite! Comfortable, clean, good location, and very nice staff. Breakfast wasn't great but fine since the price of breakfast was included with our fee. I wouldn't have to pay extra for that breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gators09
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 25, 2011

Perfect for visiting GW

This hotel was perfect for me because I was interviewing at GW's school of medicine. It was steps away from the medical school and within walking distance to all of DC attractions, from the shops at Georgetown to the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you visit Georgetown cupcakes you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top