$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
85 reviews
Can't say enough good things about the staff.

The great service started before we arrived. I called the hotel to see if they could get me some... See full review

  • Tanya Y
  • Jul 7, 2014
Couples city break

The room was massive - we had a suite with kitchenette and sofa which was perfect to relax in after... See full review

  • Bubs
  • Jun 12, 2014
Now, there's a new name for luxurious hotel accommodations in the nation's capital. It's The George Washington University Inn -- ideally situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in the prestigious residential neighborhood of historic Foggy Bottom.

This premiere inn is located just two blocks from The George Washington University and The Kennedy Center, the theatrical heart of Washington's vibrant and varied cultural life. A delightfully pleasant and short walk will place you in the center of famous, fashionable Georgetown with its array of uncommon attractions.

The George Washington University Inn's attentive staff is quick to provide all the services that are sure to indulge our guests. That's why The George Washington University Inn has quickly become the hotel of choice among our frequent travelers.

When you consider all that The George Washington University Inn has to offer, you'll see why it's the smart place to stay.

Daily parking rate: $40 plus tax.

Now pet friendly!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George Washington University Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The George Washington University Inn Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette Newly Renovated/Living Room w/Queen Sofabed.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room King Bed Newly Renovated/Oversized/Deluxe amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.4 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddnd
Business
Delaware
Oct 17, 2012

very causy in Foggy Bottom

Very friendly staff! Quit and comfortable location. Good beds, big rooms, feeling home in this place!. I come to visit my son, student in GWU, and know all hotels around, this one is very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Georgetown! Great boutique stores!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beagle Mommy
Business
Tulsa, OK
Oct 17, 2012

Great Location for our Washington DC stay

This was our first trip to DC and this hotel turned out to be great! It doesn't have a lot of extras but we didn't need those. We had a 1-bedroom suite and it was VERY roomy --- large living room, large bathroom, 2 large closets, and a kitchenette (besides bedroom). The hotel is around the corner from a Metro station so that was convenient since we took the Metro everywhere. As others have mentioned, there is a Whole Foods about a block away which is great for breakfast or snacks. We did try the breakfast buffet that the hotel had and it was good also. Staff was very polite and helpful. We had a great deal on this hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We took the Metro from Reagan National Airport to the Foggy Bottom station on the Metro and just walked with our luggage from there to the hotel which was about a block or less away. Only costs about 2 or 3 dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seattle savvy
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 4, 2012

perfect hotel for a Quick trip

wow, location, location, location afforded us several good experiences! late afternoon of arrival walk to Lincoln Memorial and Mall gazing, excellent Italian restaurant next door! easy walk or cab ride to Kennedy Center for the opera! fast cab ride to the Freer to see Whistler's Peacock Room and a day of museums. small refer in room helped with easy b'fast and snacks. friendly and helpful staff made our 48 hours near perfect. definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

whole Foods grocery next to Foggy Bottom Metro, also, check out what's happening at the Kennedy Center only four blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC vacationer
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 4, 2012

Nice hotel, convenient location

Our recent 5 night stay at this hotel was very pleasant. They are located only 2 short blocks from Foggy Bottom metro. Plenty of inexpensive restaurants nearby as well as a Whole Foods. The room was clean and quite large. The microwave and fridge were handy. There is also a guest laundry. All in all a very good value, with extremely nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Whole Foods store was a handy find. We were able to stock up on fruit, juice and all kinds of breakfast and picnic food. Much healthier and less expensive than the food available on the Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glende
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 27, 2012

Perfect for university tours

We took a cab from here and were able to see all the universities we came to visit. The staff took care of our every need including storing our luggage and finding my glasses. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiffdagift
Business
Columbia, MD
Sep 19, 2012

Great hotel, affordable and amazing location!

The staff was v ery friendly upon arriving. Check-in was quick and easy, especially with a nice cup of cold lemon water that was provided. The hotel is very clean and cozy. I loved the fact that each room had a microwave and a fridge. Lots of space. Great location...close to Metro. The only issue I had was with the TV...it didn't really work. But I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Duck Tavern for Brunch....absolutely delicious and great ambiance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Brunswick, NJ
Aug 31, 2012

Nice hotel, neighborhood, and location.

It was a good stay and within walking distance from the nearest attractions(15-20 minute walk to Mall). Felt very safe walking between hotel and museums. It really is tucked away within a nice neighborhood. The outdoor pics of it seem to try to avoid showing the charm of the neighborhood. Subway stop close by also. The only negative thing I can think of is that the parking tax is 18% on top of the $35 daily rate(valet only). I really don't know if that is normal for the city or we just got gouged a bit. So count on over $41/day to park your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard23
Business
Winchester, UK
Jul 30, 2012

A welcoming hotel in a pleasant area

Very helpful desk staff, nice fast free wi-fi, and a large, quiet, comfortable suite. A nice touch to have a radio alarm with a slot at the top for my iPod. Air conditioning was easy to control and not too noisy. It was good value for money, partly I suspect because it doesn't provide facilities like a pool and gym, which i never use when staying in a hotel. When staying in hotels that charge more per room, I often feel I am subsidizing those who do use the free leisure facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwestern Vacationer
Business
Carmel, IN
Jul 15, 2012

Great family getaway

This hotel provided us with a terrific stay in the heart of DC. Room was average decorated with a comfortable king bed and a one person pull out couch (supposed to have a double pull out but was enough for my 7 year old). It had a nice flat screen TV and a very useful kitchenette. The location cannot be beaten, less than 5 min walk to Foggy Bottom metro station and a Whole Foods store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
salvation999
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 12, 2012

Plain stay nothing over the top

Wifi was unreliable and although free, was unusable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hop on hop off tour was a nice was to get from attraction to attraction

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top