$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
81 reviews
Can't say enough good things about the staff.

The great service started before we arrived. I called the hotel to see if they could get me some... See full review

  • Tanya Y
  • Jul 7, 2014
Couples city break

The room was massive - we had a suite with kitchenette and sofa which was perfect to relax in after... See full review

  • Bubs
  • Jun 12, 2014
Now, there's a new name for luxurious hotel accommodations in the nation's capital. It's The George Washington University Inn -- ideally situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in the prestigious residential neighborhood of historic Foggy Bottom.

This premiere inn is located just two blocks from The George Washington University and The Kennedy Center, the theatrical heart of Washington's vibrant and varied cultural life. A delightfully pleasant and short walk will place you in the center of famous, fashionable Georgetown with its array of uncommon attractions.

The George Washington University Inn's attentive staff is quick to provide all the services that are sure to indulge our guests. That's why The George Washington University Inn has quickly become the hotel of choice among our frequent travelers.

When you consider all that The George Washington University Inn has to offer, you'll see why it's the smart place to stay.

Daily parking rate: $40 plus tax.

Now pet friendly!

Hotel Map

38.9002 -77.0531
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport
Area description
George Washington University Inn is located in the historic Foggy Bottom neighborhood in downtown Washington DC, one block away from the metro and approximately 26 miles from Washington Dulles International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George Washington University Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The George Washington University Inn Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette Newly Renovated/Living Room w/Queen Sofabed.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room King Bed Newly Renovated/Oversized/Deluxe amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.4 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glende
Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 27, 2012

Perfect for university tours

We took a cab from here and were able to see all the universities we came to visit. The staff took care of our every need including storing our luggage and finding my glasses. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiffdagift
Columbia, MD
Sep 19, 2012

Great hotel, affordable and amazing location!

The staff was v ery friendly upon arriving. Check-in was quick and easy, especially with a nice cup of cold lemon water that was provided. The hotel is very clean and cozy. I loved the fact that each room had a microwave and a fridge. Lots of space. Great location...close to Metro. The only issue I had was with the TV...it didn't really work. But I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Duck Tavern for Brunch....absolutely delicious and great ambiance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Brunswick, NJ
Aug 31, 2012

Nice hotel, neighborhood, and location.

It was a good stay and within walking distance from the nearest attractions(15-20 minute walk to Mall). Felt very safe walking between hotel and museums. It really is tucked away within a nice neighborhood. The outdoor pics of it seem to try to avoid showing the charm of the neighborhood. Subway stop close by also. The only negative thing I can think of is that the parking tax is 18% on top of the $35 daily rate(valet only). I really don't know if that is normal for the city or we just got gouged a bit. So count on over $41/day to park your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard23
Business
Winchester, UK
Jul 30, 2012

A welcoming hotel in a pleasant area

Very helpful desk staff, nice fast free wi-fi, and a large, quiet, comfortable suite. A nice touch to have a radio alarm with a slot at the top for my iPod. Air conditioning was easy to control and not too noisy. It was good value for money, partly I suspect because it doesn't provide facilities like a pool and gym, which i never use when staying in a hotel. When staying in hotels that charge more per room, I often feel I am subsidizing those who do use the free leisure facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwestern Vacationer
Carmel, IN
Jul 15, 2012

Great family getaway

This hotel provided us with a terrific stay in the heart of DC. Room was average decorated with a comfortable king bed and a one person pull out couch (supposed to have a double pull out but was enough for my 7 year old). It had a nice flat screen TV and a very useful kitchenette. The location cannot be beaten, less than 5 min walk to Foggy Bottom metro station and a Whole Foods store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
salvation999
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 12, 2012

Plain stay nothing over the top

Wifi was unreliable and although free, was unusable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hop on hop off tour was a nice was to get from attraction to attraction

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sundevilsam
Provo, Utah
Jul 2, 2012

Close, clean, resonable for DC

A quaint place to stay in DC. Close to Metro stop, cool places to eat, walking distance to the National Mall. Reasonable rates for a place right in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Whole Foods just beyond the Foggy Bottom Metro station. Go to the food bar for a quick inexpensive meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carol chick
Bozeman Montana
May 22, 2012

Great location for GWU

This was a nice hotel. Clean, good location, nice staff. The rest of my family stayed at Hilton Gran Tree across the street. That was very nice also. They Offered hot Starbucks coffee and Tea in the Lobby every morning. We liked that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is right around the corner from the Foggy Bottom Metro. So you don't need to rent a car. Easy to get to Reagan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WPVMD
Winchester, VA
May 21, 2012

PLEASANT PLACE TO STAY

Room was spacious suite, with kitchen, dining area, pull out sofa if you had an extra guest or children, and separate dressing area next to bathroom. Had valet parking. Entrance was a little difficult to find as the hotel was off the main street with a private drive that got congested. Middle of George Washington Univ & Hospital and a 15 minute walk to Georgetown shopping.One block from Foggy Botton Metro. Staff very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ddnd
Delaware
May 17, 2012

gwu family visit

The room was always perfectly clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Close location to GWU, laundry place helped us to finalise quickly all packing leaving the campus after a school year. Good food in the restaurant and nice bellman service- everything helped to feel first days of summer vacations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search