$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

The George Washington University Inn

3 stars
824 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
114 reviews
Can't say enough good things about the staff.

The great service started before we arrived. I called the hotel to see if they could get me some... See full review

  • Tanya Y
  • Jul 7, 2014
Couples city break

The room was massive - we had a suite with kitchenette and sofa which was perfect to relax in after... See full review

  • Bubs
  • Jun 12, 2014
Now, there's a new name for luxurious hotel accommodations in the nation's capital. It's The George Washington University Inn -- ideally situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in the prestigious residential neighborhood of historic Foggy Bottom.

This premiere inn is located just two blocks from The George Washington University and The Kennedy Center, the theatrical heart of Washington's vibrant and varied cultural life. A delightfully pleasant and short walk will place you in the center of famous, fashionable Georgetown with its array of uncommon attractions.

The George Washington University Inn's attentive staff is quick to provide all the services that are sure to indulge our guests. That's why The George Washington University Inn has quickly become the hotel of choice among our frequent travelers.

When you consider all that The George Washington University Inn has to offer, you'll see why it's the smart place to stay.

Daily parking rate: $40 plus tax.

Now pet friendly!

The George Washington University Inn Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette Newly Renovated/Living Room w/Queen Sofabed.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room King Bed Newly Renovated/Oversized/Deluxe amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George Washington University Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9002 -77.0531
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport
Area description
George Washington University Inn is located in the historic Foggy Bottom neighborhood in downtown Washington DC, one block away from the metro and approximately 26 miles from Washington Dulles International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.2 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.4 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for The George Washington University Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celia pete
Charleston s c
Jun 25, 2013

The perfect d.c. home

This hotel is very well located, quiet and lean and comfortable. Residential area and just off university campus, across from Watergate and more. Have been staying here for years and will continue. Staff has a lot of long timers who recognize you when you return. A nice special touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

DC. Has so much for everyone. You just choose your own.

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tourist1991
Seattle, WA
Jun 4, 2013

Modern yet old-fashioned style, walking distance to Nat'l Mall

We were very impressed with the suite we stayed in. Got a good deal and were slightly skeptical, since the price was so good. At first, we were unsure upon arrival of the quality, since they were in the middle of a remodel and relocated their Lobby to a room on the 1st floor (this was not clearly marked...). However, good customer service and one of the sweetest maids who made sure we enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean, 6th floor view was awesome, walking distance to Metro station, or a 20-minute walk to the White House. Great food options nearby. We saw lots of sights, and were able to check out 45 minutes late (metro construction delayed us, staff was very understanding). I would go back here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Javu
Business
London, England
May 29, 2013

Business Trip

This was a good hotel, not exceptional. Good location and within easy reach of metro station and grocery stores. But i thought it was rather overpriced for what it delivered. There is no proper restaurant at the facility, an italian restaurant that doubles up as serving buffet breakfast and dinner. The breakfast is overpriced for the same daily fare it offers. The dinner menu similarly is overpriced limited and has no range in variety. What I found really annoying was that the reception area was being renovated so check in was located to the first floor. But no staff had the common sense to put a notice at the front door informing arriving guests about this. One guest even went away because he thought the hotel was closed. I pointed this out to the receptionist who stated "yes you are right, we should have put a notice at the front."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Billman
West Sand Lake NY USA
Apr 6, 2013

Great location!

This was our second stay at GWU Inn. Staff is great and helpful. Rooms are clean comfortable. The Metro is only a block away and the neighborhood feels really safe. Walking distance to Georgetown and Lincoln Memorial. Whole Foods is two blocks away and is a one stop for marketing, pizza and deli. Krispy Creme on Dupont Circle is always a treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the Metro or the Circulator Bus ($1.00) and save your legs for walking downtown.

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRA12345
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 19, 2012

Excellent value

My room was a nice suite, complete with a comfortable bed, seating area with sofa, flat-screen TV. Very spacious and clean. Great location extremely close to Metro. Friendly staff. Incredibly nice room and place for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddnd
Delaware
Oct 17, 2012

very causy in Foggy Bottom

Very friendly staff! Quit and comfortable location. Good beds, big rooms, feeling home in this place!. I come to visit my son, student in GWU, and know all hotels around, this one is very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Georgetown! Great boutique stores!

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beagle Mommy
Tulsa, OK
Oct 17, 2012

Great Location for our Washington DC stay

This was our first trip to DC and this hotel turned out to be great! It doesn't have a lot of extras but we didn't need those. We had a 1-bedroom suite and it was VERY roomy --- large living room, large bathroom, 2 large closets, and a kitchenette (besides bedroom). The hotel is around the corner from a Metro station so that was convenient since we took the Metro everywhere. As others have mentioned, there is a Whole Foods about a block away which is great for breakfast or snacks. We did try the breakfast buffet that the hotel had and it was good also. Staff was very polite and helpful. We had a great deal on this hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We took the Metro from Reagan National Airport to the Foggy Bottom station on the Metro and just walked with our luggage from there to the hotel which was about a block or less away. Only costs about 2 or 3 dollars.

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC vacationer
Portland, OR
Oct 4, 2012

Nice hotel, convenient location

Our recent 5 night stay at this hotel was very pleasant. They are located only 2 short blocks from Foggy Bottom metro. Plenty of inexpensive restaurants nearby as well as a Whole Foods. The room was clean and quite large. The microwave and fridge were handy. There is also a guest laundry. All in all a very good value, with extremely nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Whole Foods store was a handy find. We were able to stock up on fruit, juice and all kinds of breakfast and picnic food. Much healthier and less expensive than the food available on the Mall.

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seattle savvy
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 4, 2012

perfect hotel for a Quick trip

wow, location, location, location afforded us several good experiences! late afternoon of arrival walk to Lincoln Memorial and Mall gazing, excellent Italian restaurant next door! easy walk or cab ride to Kennedy Center for the opera! fast cab ride to the Freer to see Whistler's Peacock Room and a day of museums. small refer in room helped with easy b'fast and snacks. friendly and helpful staff made our 48 hours near perfect. definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

whole Foods grocery next to Foggy Bottom Metro, also, check out what's happening at the Kennedy Center only four blocks away.

Review of The George Washington University Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glende
Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 27, 2012

Perfect for university tours

We took a cab from here and were able to see all the universities we came to visit. The staff took care of our every need including storing our luggage and finding my glasses. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top