$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

The George, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
15 E Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
95 reviews
DC trip

great July 4 weekend trip to DC. Love the location of this hotel- steps from capitol building other... See full review

  • skfm
  • Jul 16, 2014
best value

Nice location, great rooms, competitive pricing. Highly recoomend See full review

  • myxtap
  • Jul 8, 2014
Traditional style blended with modern twists and Bistro Bis

The George, a Kimpton Hotel, built in the boom era of 1928, shares a similar background to several other Washington D.C. luxury hotels. As such, George Hotel embodies classic style, in keeping with the prestigious surrounds of its Capitol Hill location. The atmosphere is chic and modern. Guests get a fully comprehensive luxury experience, and can sample some of Capitol Hill's finest dining at the affiliate restaurant Bistro Bis, offering the highest quality French cuisine with the convenience of onsite dining. Pets are welcome, a relatively unusual feature and a very welcome addition for more local travelers.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Capitol Hill location gives easy access to most of the popular Washington D.C. monuments and landmarks

  • High quality French dining on site with affiliate restaurant Bistro Bis

  • Bold designs bring the 1928 hotel completely up to date

The George, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

The George, a Kimpton Hotel offers guests many of the benefits common to other Kimpton hotels. The in-room spa service is a highlight. Guests can book spa treatment and not have to worry about finding the venue, as professional staff will come to the room to provide a full relaxing massage and spa treatment. The rooms feature much of the chic style that characterizes the exterior, lobby and restaurant. The generously sized rooms come in a range of standard rooms with king and queen sized beds and suites with expanded living facilities. The deluxe rooms offer around 270 square feet of spa e, with comfortable platform beds and full range of extras including a granite topped desk, 32 inch plasma TV that is tastefully hidden when not needed, and sunken tub in the bathroom for a relaxing soak. Queen rooms include an extra bed, perfect for families or traveling groups.

Things to Do:
  • White House (1.9mi/3km)

  • US Capitol (0.5mi/0.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (4.2mi/6.7km)

  • Washington Monument (1.7mi/2.7km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8962 -77.01
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The George, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive Queen
Executive Queen Room, 330 sq. ft., oversized glass shower, frette linens, HD TV, gourmet honor bar
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room, 275 sq. ft., accessible tub, comunication features, frette linens, free WiFi for Loyalty Members
Deluxe Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Room, 260 sq. ft., frette linens, animal print robes, WiFi for Loyalty Members oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Deluxe King Room with Sofa Sleep
Deluxe King Room Sofa Sleeper, 270 sq. ft., sofa sleeper, frette linens, WiFi for Members, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV,
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite, 535 sq. ft., living room, 1.5 baths, Fuji soak tub, glass shower, dining table, Frette linens, WiFi for members
Deluxe Queen Queen Room Sofa Sle
Deluxe Queen Queen Room with Sofa Sleeper, 270 sq. ft., sofa sleeper, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room with Roll-in 275 sq. ft., roll-in shower, comm features, frette linens, free WiFi for Loyalty Members,
Deluxe King Room
Deluxe King Room, 270 sq. ft., frette linens, animal print robes, WiFi for Loyalty Members, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Room, 270 sq. ft., frette linens, animal print robes, WiFi for Members, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Dining

Bistro Bis
Hip and sophisticated/ warm and intimate. Bistro Bis warm natural cherry interior/ designed by award-winning architects Adamstein and Demetriou/ is a wonderful/ very modern version of a French bistro. From the zinc bar with its tall columns and fabulous f

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 95
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deal Man
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 4, 2013

Great location, good value

Only disappointment was that I booked a room with 2 queen beds, but upon arrival they only had a room with 1 king bed -- so the staff arranged for a rollaway bed instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelerTeacher
Northern VA
Apr 2, 2010

Fantastic!

I just came back from my trip to DC. I stayed at the George Hotel, it was wonderful! Everyone was so nice and helpful! The location was fantastic! Quick walk to Union Station where there are resturants, shops and all the site seeing tour booths. Great view of Capitol Hill and a quick walk to the museums. It was a fun, relaxing vacation. The Hotel George is one I will surely visit for years to come!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Their resturant on site was fantastic!

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelerTeacher
Northern VA
Apr 2, 2010

Fantastic!

I just came back from my trip to DC. I stayed at the George Hotel, it was wonderful! Everyone was so nice and helpful! The location was fantastic! Quick walk to Union Station where there are resturants, shops and all the site seeing tour booths. Great view of Capitol Hill and a quick walk to the museums. It was a fun, relaxing vacation. The Hotel George is one I will surely visit for years to come!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Their resturant on site was fantastic!

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Poulsbo, WA
Oct 16, 2009

Treated like a second class citizen

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Poulsbo, WA
Oct 16, 2009

Treated like a second class citizen

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas
Sep 8, 2008

Great Hotel for anyone

From the moment I arrived at The George (a Kimpton Hotel, as you know), I was very impressed. The entire staff, from Bellman to Concierge, were very attentive and anxious to please. The room was wonderful, i.e., large with two queen beds, a lounge chair, ottoman, a desk w/chair, and a vast amount of closet and drawer space. Additionally, the large flat screen tv was behind the closet doors across the side of the room. I love the design of this space. The location of The George was perfect; three blocks from The Capitol, 1-1/2 blocks from Union Station, and there were ample taxis when needed. If I return to D.C., I hope a room is available. Kimpton Hotels have always had a good reputation; I highly recommend it to anyone, business, family, or just to get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining at The George is excellent and convenient. Also, at Union Station, there are many places serving various foods, Two blocks the other way is Starbucks, which is a nice stop for a coffee, frappacino or similar. I imagine there are other places to dine, but with the above listed, I looked no further.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas
Sep 8, 2008

Great Hotel for anyone

From the moment I arrived at The George (a Kimpton Hotel, as you know), I was very impressed. The entire staff, from Bellman to Concierge, were very attentive and anxious to please. The room was wonderful, i.e., large with two queen beds, a lounge chair, ottoman, a desk w/chair, and a vast amount of closet and drawer space. Additionally, the large flat screen tv was behind the closet doors across the side of the room. I love the design of this space. The location of The George was perfect; three blocks from The Capitol, 1-1/2 blocks from Union Station, and there were ample taxis when needed. If I return to D.C., I hope a room is available. Kimpton Hotels have always had a good reputation; I highly recommend it to anyone, business, family, or just to get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining at The George is excellent and convenient. Also, at Union Station, there are many places serving various foods, Two blocks the other way is Starbucks, which is a nice stop for a coffee, frappacino or similar. I imagine there are other places to dine, but with the above listed, I looked no further.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
plainview
May 26, 2008

Great Location

Within walking distance to the train station and the Capital. Has a lovely restaurant accessable through the hotel. Felt safe and comfortable at The George!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
plainview
May 26, 2008

Great Location

Within walking distance to the train station and the Capital. Has a lovely restaurant accessable through the hotel. Felt safe and comfortable at The George!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top