$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

The George, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
15 E Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
94 reviews
best value

Nice location, great rooms, competitive pricing. Highly recoomend See full review

  • myxtap
  • Jul 8, 2014
Excellent for family or business travel

The George is coveniently located in between Union Station and the Capitol. The room was very... See full review

  • Parmentier
  • Jul 6, 2014
Traditional style blended with modern twists and Bistro Bis

The George, a Kimpton Hotel, built in the boom era of 1928, shares a similar background to several other Washington D.C. luxury hotels. As such, George Hotel embodies classic style, in keeping with the prestigious surrounds of its Capitol Hill location. The atmosphere is chic and modern. Guests get a fully comprehensive luxury experience, and can sample some of Capitol Hill's finest dining at the affiliate restaurant Bistro Bis, offering the highest quality French cuisine with the convenience of onsite dining. Pets are welcome, a relatively unusual feature and a very welcome addition for more local travelers.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Capitol Hill location gives easy access to most of the popular Washington D.C. monuments and landmarks

  • High quality French dining on site with affiliate restaurant Bistro Bis

  • Bold designs bring the 1928 hotel completely up to date

The George, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

The George, a Kimpton Hotel offers guests many of the benefits common to other Kimpton hotels. The in-room spa service is a highlight. Guests can book spa treatment and not have to worry about finding the venue, as professional staff will come to the room to provide a full relaxing massage and spa treatment. The rooms feature much of the chic style that characterizes the exterior, lobby and restaurant. The generously sized rooms come in a range of standard rooms with king and queen sized beds and suites with expanded living facilities. The deluxe rooms offer around 270 square feet of spa e, with comfortable platform beds and full range of extras including a granite topped desk, 32 inch plasma TV that is tastefully hidden when not needed, and sunken tub in the bathroom for a relaxing soak. Queen rooms include an extra bed, perfect for families or traveling groups.

Things to Do:
  • White House (1.9mi/3km)

  • US Capitol (0.5mi/0.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (4.2mi/6.7km)

  • Washington Monument (1.7mi/2.7km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8962 -77.01
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The George, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive Queen
Executive Queen Room, 330 sq. ft., oversized glass shower, frette linens, HD TV, gourmet honor bar
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room, 275 sq. ft., accessible tub, comunication features, frette linens, free WiFi for Loyalty Members
Deluxe Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Room, 260 sq. ft., frette linens, animal print robes, WiFi for Loyalty Members oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Deluxe King Room with Sofa Sleep
Deluxe King Room Sofa Sleeper, 270 sq. ft., sofa sleeper, frette linens, WiFi for Members, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV,
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite, 535 sq. ft., living room, 1.5 baths, Fuji soak tub, glass shower, dining table, Frette linens, WiFi for members
Deluxe Queen Queen Room Sofa Sle
Deluxe Queen Queen Room with Sofa Sleeper, 270 sq. ft., sofa sleeper, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room with Roll-in 275 sq. ft., roll-in shower, comm features, frette linens, free WiFi for Loyalty Members,
Deluxe King Room
Deluxe King Room, 270 sq. ft., frette linens, animal print robes, WiFi for Loyalty Members, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Room, 270 sq. ft., frette linens, animal print robes, WiFi for Members, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Dining

Bistro Bis
Hip and sophisticated/ warm and intimate. Bistro Bis warm natural cherry interior/ designed by award-winning architects Adamstein and Demetriou/ is a wonderful/ very modern version of a French bistro. From the zinc bar with its tall columns and fabulous f

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myxtap
almaty
Jul 8, 2014

best value

Nice location, great rooms, competitive pricing. Highly recoomend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy bus tours. A big waste of money. Hot. Inconvenience. Waiting time. Crappie. A lot easier and cheaper to take cabs, ~$8 to any attraction.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skfm
durham,nc
Jul 7, 2014

dc visit

great hotel in a great location; arrived early but they were kind enough to let me check in anyways; very nice clean hotel in a great area- will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

sights like the capitol building, mall, etc are within a 5 minute walk. union station is within five minute walk to take metro to other places, like baseball stadium.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parmentier
Philadelphia
Jul 6, 2014

Excellent for family or business travel

The George is coveniently located in between Union Station and the Capitol. The room was very comfortable and spacious enough for a family of six. Everyone enjoyed the. George Washington themed decor. The bathroom was quiet luxurious with separate bath and shower. We were very pleased with every aspect of our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy Oz Mum
Melbourne, Australia
Jun 24, 2014

DC visit

Love this hotel. Very close to The Capitol and Union Station. Staff were nice too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LyndaG
Granby, CT
Jun 17, 2014

Excellent hotel

Excellent staff. Very responsive. The food at the bistro is terrific. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Zitanya, Mediterranean food.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fire evacuee
Business
san diego
Mar 13, 2014

fire alarms

Room was smallish but nicely appointed.TV was impossible to watch from bed.Fire alarms went off at 1:30 am because of water blow out on 8th floor.Evacuated out of our rooms for 2 hours plus.No water for shower in the morning.No discount or gesture on the bill.Won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NLFbrooklyn
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 18, 2014

Made mistakes but addressed them well

This is a lovely hotel - would have probably given it a higher rating but there were a number of mishaps. We arrived at 1:30 and they said we wouldn't be able to check in until 3pm. Fine, as expected. We got back to the hotel from sightseeing at about 4:45 and the room was still not ready (first they said it was, but sent us to a room without the foldout couch for my daughter that they had promised when we arrived#. We waited until close to six in the lobby to check in, along with many, many others. The upside is that they were not only very civil and very apologetic but they comped our first night there as a result. All staff were trying incredibly hard to make amends. Room was very nice, moderately quiet for a city location, a bit tight with the fold out couch but comfortable. The first morning an overhead alarm with a light went off in our room and woke us up. I went to let the staff know about it, and they apologized and offered to buy us breakfast at the attached restaurant, no small thing given how expensive the place was #breakfast for two was $45 including tip, and we ordered minimally).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mack Hou
Business
The George, E Street NW, DC
Feb 9, 2014

Overnight at the George

Very attentive and friendly staff, very clean rooms and modern appointments but, the heater in my room on this chilly night was too loud each time it fired up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ornex
Business
Geneva, Switzerland
Jan 25, 2014

Wonderfully comfortable room

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The room was very well appointed and comfortable. I had a room with one queen bed. While the view wasn't great (into other bedrooms# I wasn't there for that. I was looking for a comfortable hotel with easy access to the Department of Labor. The hotel fit this bill. My only complaint was about the service at Breakfast. on two occasions I had to hunt them down to ask for something. Upon entering, they immediately assumed that I would drink coffee and started to pour it before even asking what I wanted. I drink tea.! Same with the bill. The bill would come before even asking if we needed anything else. #same at dinner). This being said the food was really very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richie C
New York
Dec 30, 2013

Christmas 2013

Great staff and it's location next to union station is great. I'll be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top