$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

The George, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 15 E Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
75 reviews
Great weekend stay

Such a warm and welcoming hotel. Great location that is convenient to Union Station and Capitol... See full review

  • NYR484
  • Apr 21, 2015
Perfect in every way...especially convenience!

Yes. It was fabulous from the doorman to the desk personnel and the wine pourer!! See full review

  • Mary S.
  • Mar 24, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The George, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Deluxe Queen, 260 sqft, 48in LED TV marble bath,glass shower, large desk 300 thrd count linens, Kuerig coffee maker
Executive Queen
Exec. Queen, 330 sqft, marble bath, dble glass shower, desk, 48in LED TV 300 thrd count linens, luxe bathrobes
Deluxe King Room
King Deluxe, 270 sqft, marble bath, glass shower, separate tub, large desk, 300 thrd count linens, 48in LED TV
Deluxe King Room with Sofa Sleep
King Deluxe, Sofa Sleeper, 270 sqft. marble bath, glass shower, separate tub large desk, Kuerig coffeemaker, luxe robes
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe 2 Queens, 260 sqft., large desk marble bath, glass shower, separate tub 48in. LED TV, Kuerig coffeemaker, luxe robes
Deluxe Queen Queen Room Sofa Sle
Deluxe 2 Queens, Sofa Sleeper 270 sq ft, marble bath, glass shower, separate tub 48in. LED TV, Kuerig coffeemaker, large desk
Presidential Suite
535sq.ft,living room,Sleeper Sofa,1.5 baths,
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room with Roll-in 275 sq. ft., roll-in shower, comm features, free WiFi for Kimpton Karma Rewards Members,
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room, 275 sq. ft., accessible tub, comunication features, free WiFi for Kimpton Karma Rewards Members

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Dining

Bistro Bis
Hip and sophisticated/ warm and intimate. Bistro Bis warm natural cherry interior/ designed by award-winning architects Adamstein and Demetriou/ is a wonderful/ very modern version of a French bistro. From the zinc bar with its tall columns and fabulous f

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Sep 11, 2012

EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

Perfect location, clean, neat, AMAZING customer service. Shout out to Patrick Donovan at the front desk. He made my stay in DC that much better. I will definitely stay at The Hotel George again soon! The only downside is that one of the two elevators was out of service due to repairs. Other than that, a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Poulsbo, WA
Oct 16, 2009

Treated like a second class citizen

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fire evacuee
Business
san diego
Mar 13, 2014

fire alarms

Room was smallish but nicely appointed.TV was impossible to watch from bed.Fire alarms went off at 1:30 am because of water blow out on 8th floor.Evacuated out of our rooms for 2 hours plus.No water for shower in the morning.No discount or gesture on the bill.Won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NLFbrooklyn
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 18, 2014

Made mistakes but addressed them well

This is a lovely hotel - would have probably given it a higher rating but there were a number of mishaps. We arrived at 1:30 and they said we wouldn't be able to check in until 3pm. Fine, as expected. We got back to the hotel from sightseeing at about 4:45 and the room was still not ready (first they said it was, but sent us to a room without the foldout couch for my daughter that they had promised when we arrived#. We waited until close to six in the lobby to check in, along with many, many others. The upside is that they were not only very civil and very apologetic but they comped our first night there as a result. All staff were trying incredibly hard to make amends. Room was very nice, moderately quiet for a city location, a bit tight with the fold out couch but comfortable. The first morning an overhead alarm with a light went off in our room and woke us up. I went to let the staff know about it, and they apologized and offered to buy us breakfast at the attached restaurant, no small thing given how expensive the place was #breakfast for two was $45 including tip, and we ordered minimally).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inja Girl
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 18, 2012

Great hotel, BUT

Construction next door meant loud banging outside my room, starting at 7 am, which was not welcome after a late (midnight) arrival. Also, my room was on the back side of the hotel, lovely, big, well appointed, BUT a total fishbowl. No way to open the curtains and an shudder to think of who I flashed the night before when I maynot have closed the blinds completely ... I menitoned this to the assistant manager, and he told me construction on that side had been going on for about a year and it would be over in October. He offered to comp me breakfast and make sure I had a flawless stay on my next visit--and I have no doubt they would deliver, but it's pretty awful to think that unless you KNOW to ask for an "E Street View" you will feel like you are on display and have to deal with contruction noise. Too bad that 1/2 or 1/3 of the rooms have that flaw. GREAT staff and I'm sure the "good" rooms are grreat, too. I think it was kind of awful to charge full fare for that kind of room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mjquick10
Business
North Jersey
Oct 9, 2013

Adequate stay

It was unfortunate timing our trip was during the govt shutdown so the city was dead. The location is great, right next to the train station. The restaurant in the lobby is kind of overpriced. The tv reception shouldn't be that bad for the price per night. The hotel was clean, and the staff were friendly and accomodating though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 6, 2010

Great location

This was a small hotel in an older building. It's been updated and is a bit too art deco for me. The restaurant here was great though, very high quality. [...] It was clean but noisy at times from sirens and street noise. It would have been even better after a hot day walking the city if there was a pool to relax in. The staff was very nice and accomodating. Bottom line, great location, nice hotel, just don't pay the web site prices, if you can get it for a deal, it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Nov 8, 2009

Hotel George

The hotel was fine. The room was a bit small and I couldn't get from one end to the other without moving a desk chair. The maid failed to make up the room my second day. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the lobby staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
May 6, 2010

Hotel George in DC - close to Union Stat

quick -- it served the purpose limited restaurant or room service menu --- helps for biz traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
justme
Business
Ohio, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Family getaway

The hotel did not meet our expectations. The room included a worn out mattress, broken mini bar key and construction from 7:30 am on each day.Hallways are worn, but lobby is welcoming with lemonade. Restaurant service was incredibly rushed, but food was delicious. Room service was quick and food also very good. Housekeeping staff was helpful about the mattress. Front desk was pleasant when asked, but only suggested sites, transportation, food when specifically asked., business computers cost $ 7.95/15 minutes. Saw many DC sites and Reds v Nationals game. Great city-will choose different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summer95
Business
Oakland
Jan 16, 2015

Vacation

It is OK place to stay. The location is not very easy to get in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top