$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

The George, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
15 E Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
95 reviews
DC trip

great July 4 weekend trip to DC. Love the location of this hotel- steps from capitol building other... See full review

  • skfm
  • Jul 16, 2014
best value

Nice location, great rooms, competitive pricing. Highly recoomend See full review

  • myxtap
  • Jul 8, 2014
Traditional style blended with modern twists and Bistro Bis

The George, a Kimpton Hotel, built in the boom era of 1928, shares a similar background to several other Washington D.C. luxury hotels. As such, George Hotel embodies classic style, in keeping with the prestigious surrounds of its Capitol Hill location. The atmosphere is chic and modern. Guests get a fully comprehensive luxury experience, and can sample some of Capitol Hill's finest dining at the affiliate restaurant Bistro Bis, offering the highest quality French cuisine with the convenience of onsite dining. Pets are welcome, a relatively unusual feature and a very welcome addition for more local travelers.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Capitol Hill location gives easy access to most of the popular Washington D.C. monuments and landmarks

  • High quality French dining on site with affiliate restaurant Bistro Bis

  • Bold designs bring the 1928 hotel completely up to date

The George, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

The George, a Kimpton Hotel offers guests many of the benefits common to other Kimpton hotels. The in-room spa service is a highlight. Guests can book spa treatment and not have to worry about finding the venue, as professional staff will come to the room to provide a full relaxing massage and spa treatment. The rooms feature much of the chic style that characterizes the exterior, lobby and restaurant. The generously sized rooms come in a range of standard rooms with king and queen sized beds and suites with expanded living facilities. The deluxe rooms offer around 270 square feet of spa e, with comfortable platform beds and full range of extras including a granite topped desk, 32 inch plasma TV that is tastefully hidden when not needed, and sunken tub in the bathroom for a relaxing soak. Queen rooms include an extra bed, perfect for families or traveling groups.

Things to Do:
  • White House (1.9mi/3km)

  • US Capitol (0.5mi/0.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (4.2mi/6.7km)

  • Washington Monument (1.7mi/2.7km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The George, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive Queen
Executive Queen Room, 330 sq. ft., sofa sleeper, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk,HD TV, gourmet honor bar
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room, 275 sq. ft., accessible tub, comunication features, frette linens, free WiFi for Loyalty Members
Deluxe Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Room, 260 sq. ft., frette linens, animal print robes, WiFi for Loyalty Members oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Deluxe King Room with Sofa Sleep
Deluxe King Room Sofa Sleeper, 270 sq. ft., sofa sleeper, frette linens, WiFi for Members, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV,
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite, 535 sq. ft., living room, 1.5 baths, Fuji soak tub, glass shower, dining table, Frette linens, WiFi for members
Deluxe Queen Queen Room Sofa Sle
Deluxe Queen Queen Room with Sofa Sleeper, 270 sq. ft., sofa sleeper, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room with Roll-in 275 sq. ft., roll-in shower, comm features, frette linens, free WiFi for Loyalty Members,
Deluxe King Room
Deluxe King Room, 270 sq. ft., frette linens, animal print robes, WiFi for Loyalty Members, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Room, 270 sq. ft., frette linens, animal print robes, WiFi for Members, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8962 -77.01
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Dining

Bistro Bis
Hip and sophisticated/ warm and intimate. Bistro Bis warm natural cherry interior/ designed by award-winning architects Adamstein and Demetriou/ is a wonderful/ very modern version of a French bistro. From the zinc bar with its tall columns and fabulous f

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 95
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NOLAJ
New Orleans, LA, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Washington, DC

Perfect hotel, close to union station and capitol. gave kids milk and cookies at bed time very very nice experience. staff was very helpful no complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to union station and take double decker tour bus cheaper then taxi's and you can get on and off at your own pace

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myxtap
almaty
Jul 8, 2014

best value

Nice location, great rooms, competitive pricing. Highly recoomend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy bus tours. A big waste of money. Hot. Inconvenience. Waiting time. Crappie. A lot easier and cheaper to take cabs, ~$8 to any attraction.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bordentown, NJ
Apr 25, 2011

Great For the Whole Family

We had an excellent weekend stay at The George Hotel. When we arrived, they were serving complimentary glasses of wine in the lobby while we checked in. Our 3 and 6 year olds had a great time. They had kid size robes for them to wear and had cookies and milk delivered to the room for them. They also had a small gift bag for them to keep them occupied for a short while. They had a Wii in the lobby for kids to play with. It's only a block away from Union Station making it easy to travel to the zoo by metro and it's only 5 blocks from the Capital Building. The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly. Parking came to $45 with taxes, but it was valet service with unlimited in/out access. Parking was good til midnight on the day of check out and they held our bags for us downstairs for us until we left in the late afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parmentier
Philadelphia
Jul 6, 2014

Excellent for family or business travel

The George is coveniently located in between Union Station and the Capitol. The room was very comfortable and spacious enough for a family of six. Everyone enjoyed the. George Washington themed decor. The bathroom was quiet luxurious with separate bath and shower. We were very pleased with every aspect of our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BeMary
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 7, 2011

The George July 4th 2011

The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom had a separate tub and shower - we liked that. The beds were very comfortable, and had great fluffy pillows. The closet and drawers were nice and easy to stay organized. The lobby was very nice. They had ice cold water flavored with fresh fruit which was great after sightseeing in the heat! And a couple times they had wine and limeade which we enjoyed. We liked that they allowed pets and provided water and treats for them Our doggie did not et to come on this trip, but we appreciate that they welcome pets. The restuarant was excellent, although pricey so we did not frequent it during our stay. The only thing missing was a pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BeMary
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 7, 2011

The George July 4th 2011

The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom had a separate tub and shower - we liked that. The beds were very comfortable, and had great fluffy pillows. The closet and drawers were nice and easy to stay organized. The lobby was very nice. They had ice cold water flavored with fresh fruit which was great after sightseeing in the heat! And a couple times they had wine and limeade which we enjoyed. We liked that they allowed pets and provided water and treats for them Our doggie did not et to come on this trip, but we appreciate that they welcome pets. The restuarant was excellent, although pricey so we did not frequent it during our stay. The only thing missing was a pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bordentown, NJ
Apr 25, 2011

Great For the Whole Family

We had an excellent weekend stay at The George Hotel. When we arrived, they were serving complimentary glasses of wine in the lobby while we checked in. Our 3 and 6 year olds had a great time. They had kid size robes for them to wear and had cookies and milk delivered to the room for them. They also had a small gift bag for them to keep them occupied for a short while. They had a Wii in the lobby for kids to play with. It's only a block away from Union Station making it easy to travel to the zoo by metro and it's only 5 blocks from the Capital Building. The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly. Parking came to $45 with taxes, but it was valet service with unlimited in/out access. Parking was good til midnight on the day of check out and they held our bags for us downstairs for us until we left in the late afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
satisfied Jer
Lakeland, Florida
Dec 9, 2009

great location and accomadations

We saw all the sites we could in three nites and the location of the hotel George was excellent, real close to the Capital. The staff was a great help with the must things to do....The monuments by moonlight was a great first night. Try having a drink on top of the Washington hotel overlooking he White House...it's a great view of the City. This was one of our best trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A quick meal is easy to find at the Union station...one block away.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy Oz Mum
Melbourne, Australia
Jun 24, 2014

DC visit

Love this hotel. Very close to The Capitol and Union Station. Staff were nice too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 18, 2010

A nice, modern hotel near the Capitol

This is a modern, well-decorated hotel just steps from Union Station and about three blocks from the Capitol. The staff was extremely friendly to our entire family. The room was fairly large, but not quite a suite, and had a couch and lcd television. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top