$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The George, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 15 E Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Apr 5, 2010

Great value!

Fabulous location, great restaurant in the hotel. Only negative is that they are a pet-friendly hotel (good thing) but we heard dogs barking at night (not good). Basically very stylish little boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelerTeacher
Business
Northern VA
Apr 2, 2010

Fantastic!

I just came back from my trip to DC. I stayed at the George Hotel, it was wonderful! Everyone was so nice and helpful! The location was fantastic! Quick walk to Union Station where there are resturants, shops and all the site seeing tour booths. Great view of Capitol Hill and a quick walk to the museums. It was a fun, relaxing vacation. The Hotel George is one I will surely visit for years to come!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Their resturant on site was fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BeMary
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 7, 2011

The George July 4th 2011

The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom had a separate tub and shower - we liked that. The beds were very comfortable, and had great fluffy pillows. The closet and drawers were nice and easy to stay organized. The lobby was very nice. They had ice cold water flavored with fresh fruit which was great after sightseeing in the heat! And a couple times they had wine and limeade which we enjoyed. We liked that they allowed pets and provided water and treats for them Our doggie did not et to come on this trip, but we appreciate that they welcome pets. The restuarant was excellent, although pricey so we did not frequent it during our stay. The only thing missing was a pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HOUSTON, TX
May 11, 2008

Good Location and Price

What I liked most about this place was the fact that it was a short walk to the Union Station. Even with luggage going to and from the station was easy, and if the weather was bad the hotel room had an umbrella - so no problem! Getting to the Washington DC mall was easy too. The price was very good considering the location. I had an interior room which meant the only view was of the interior rooms on the other side, but that was not a problem for me. The clerk recommended an interior room because the exterior rooms were noisy. I have been in hotel rooms where street noise is a big problem so I took his recommendation and my room was very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Smithsonian Air and Space Museum is just less than a mile away. Of all the museums this is the one most attended and it gets crowded. Beat the crowd by leaving the hotel at 9:00 and walk there to be at the doors when they open at 10:00 AM. It is free to get inside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
plainview
May 26, 2008

Great Location

Within walking distance to the train station and the Capital. Has a lovely restaurant accessable through the hotel. Felt safe and comfortable at The George!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Sep 8, 2008

Great Hotel for anyone

From the moment I arrived at The George (a Kimpton Hotel, as you know), I was very impressed. The entire staff, from Bellman to Concierge, were very attentive and anxious to please. The room was wonderful, i.e., large with two queen beds, a lounge chair, ottoman, a desk w/chair, and a vast amount of closet and drawer space. Additionally, the large flat screen tv was behind the closet doors across the side of the room. I love the design of this space. The location of The George was perfect; three blocks from The Capitol, 1-1/2 blocks from Union Station, and there were ample taxis when needed. If I return to D.C., I hope a room is available. Kimpton Hotels have always had a good reputation; I highly recommend it to anyone, business, family, or just to get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining at The George is excellent and convenient. Also, at Union Station, there are many places serving various foods, Two blocks the other way is Starbucks, which is a nice stop for a coffee, frappacino or similar. I imagine there are other places to dine, but with the above listed, I looked no further.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
May 26, 2008

Very Friendly

Staff was most helpful, nice room, good restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Capitol Hill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 18, 2008

Very nice stay

Our stay was very nice at this hotel. Location was only a couple blocks from the Capitol and Union Station. The room was very nice and the staff was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 15, 2008

A secure and friendly stay

The personal at The George makes you feel welcome from the initial greeting you receive by the doorman to the friendly reception by the desk staff. The intimate atmosphere makes one feel secure in the modern yet cozy rooms. The attached restaurant with its' excellent food is an added bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a city park within walking distance, as is The Capitol !....also Union Station !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Areli
Business
Chihuahua, Mexico
Jan 10, 2010

We didn't want to go home!!

Me and My fiance loved the hotel from the first day. The decoration is very special and classy. The location is perfect we could order dinner or walk 1 block to Union station to get a meal or take the metro anywhere.The concierge helped us pick a great place for new years eve dinner.The room had everything you could need and more. Oh! and they gave us an upgrade just for being our first time there,,,including 2 bottles of wine.I definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top