$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

The George, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
15 E Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Sightseeing adventure

Hotel was neat, clean, quiet, and the service was good. Everyone was very helpful and kind. The... See full review

  • Two visitors
  • Sep 19, 2014
Great service

We took a train from NJ to get to DC, and the GEORGE is so conveniently located, we were able to... See full review

  • Laura and Anthony
  • Sep 2, 2014
Traditional style blended with modern twists and Bistro Bis

The George, a Kimpton Hotel, built in the boom era of 1928, shares a similar background to several other Washington D.C. luxury hotels. As such, George Hotel embodies classic style, in keeping with the prestigious surrounds of its Capitol Hill location. The atmosphere is chic and modern. Guests get a fully comprehensive luxury experience, and can sample some of Capitol Hill's finest dining at the affiliate restaurant Bistro Bis, offering the highest quality French cuisine with the convenience of onsite dining. Pets are welcome, a relatively unusual feature and a very welcome addition for more local travelers.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Capitol Hill location gives easy access to most of the popular Washington D.C. monuments and landmarks

  • High quality French dining on site with affiliate restaurant Bistro Bis

  • Bold designs bring the 1928 hotel completely up to date

The George, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

The George, a Kimpton Hotel offers guests many of the benefits common to other Kimpton hotels. The in-room spa service is a highlight. Guests can book spa treatment and not have to worry about finding the venue, as professional staff will come to the room to provide a full relaxing massage and spa treatment. The rooms feature much of the chic style that characterizes the exterior, lobby and restaurant. The generously sized rooms come in a range of standard rooms with king and queen sized beds and suites with expanded living facilities. The deluxe rooms offer around 270 square feet of spa e, with comfortable platform beds and full range of extras including a granite topped desk, 32 inch plasma TV that is tastefully hidden when not needed, and sunken tub in the bathroom for a relaxing soak. Queen rooms include an extra bed, perfect for families or traveling groups.

Things to Do:
  • White House (1.9mi/3km)

  • US Capitol (0.5mi/0.8km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (4.2mi/6.7km)

  • Washington Monument (1.7mi/2.7km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8962 -77.01
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The George, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The George, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive Queen
Executive Queen Room, 330 sq. ft., sofa sleeper, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk,HD TV, gourmet honor bar
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room, 275 sq. ft., accessible tub, comunication features, free WiFi for Kimpton Karma Rewards Members
Deluxe Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Room, 260 sq. ft., frette linens, WiFi for Kimpton Karma Rewards Members oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Deluxe King Room with Sofa Sleep
Deluxe King Room Sofa Sleeper, 270 sq. ft., sofa sleeper, frette linens, WiFi for Members, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV,
Presidential Suite
535sq.ft,living room,Sleeper Sofa,1.5 baths,
Deluxe Queen Queen Room Sofa Sle
Deluxe Queen Queen Room with Sofa Sleeper, 270 sq. ft., sofa sleeper, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room with Roll-in 275 sq. ft., roll-in shower, comm features, free WiFi for Kimpton Karma Rewards Members,
Deluxe King Room
Deluxe King Room, 270 sq. ft., frette linens, WiFi for Kimpton Karma Rewards Members, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Room, 270 sq. ft., frette linens, animal print robes, WiFi for Members, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Dining

Bistro Bis
Hip and sophisticated/ warm and intimate. Bistro Bis warm natural cherry interior/ designed by award-winning architects Adamstein and Demetriou/ is a wonderful/ very modern version of a French bistro. From the zinc bar with its tall columns and fabulous f

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 66
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fire evacuee
Business
san diego
Mar 13, 2014

fire alarms

Room was smallish but nicely appointed.TV was impossible to watch from bed.Fire alarms went off at 1:30 am because of water blow out on 8th floor.Evacuated out of our rooms for 2 hours plus.No water for shower in the morning.No discount or gesture on the bill.Won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mack Hou
Business
The George, E Street NW, DC
Feb 9, 2014

Overnight at the George

Very attentive and friendly staff, very clean rooms and modern appointments but, the heater in my room on this chilly night was too loud each time it fired up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ornex
Business
Geneva, Switzerland
Jan 25, 2014

Wonderfully comfortable room

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The room was very well appointed and comfortable. I had a room with one queen bed. While the view wasn't great (into other bedrooms# I wasn't there for that. I was looking for a comfortable hotel with easy access to the Department of Labor. The hotel fit this bill. My only complaint was about the service at Breakfast. on two occasions I had to hunt them down to ask for something. Upon entering, they immediately assumed that I would drink coffee and started to pour it before even asking what I wanted. I drink tea.! Same with the bill. The bill would come before even asking if we needed anything else. #same at dinner). This being said the food was really very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TV Traveller
Business
NYC
Jul 20, 2012

Still a Solid Performer

The George continues to deliver value. Great location steps from Capital Hill and Union station. Helpful friendly staff and a killer restaurant, Bis. Beware rooms that look into the inner courtyard. They are functional, but not special and the AC unit bangs along all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

BlackFinn American Saloon is great for happy hour and for dinner. Lots of intrigue with a mixed crowd of Republican and Democrat strategists steps from the White House. 1620 I Street Northwest Washington, DC 20006 (202) 429-4350

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inja Girl
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 18, 2012

Great hotel, BUT

Construction next door meant loud banging outside my room, starting at 7 am, which was not welcome after a late (midnight) arrival. Also, my room was on the back side of the hotel, lovely, big, well appointed, BUT a total fishbowl. No way to open the curtains and an shudder to think of who I flashed the night before when I maynot have closed the blinds completely ... I menitoned this to the assistant manager, and he told me construction on that side had been going on for about a year and it would be over in October. He offered to comp me breakfast and make sure I had a flawless stay on my next visit--and I have no doubt they would deliver, but it's pretty awful to think that unless you KNOW to ask for an "E Street View" you will feel like you are on display and have to deal with contruction noise. Too bad that 1/2 or 1/3 of the rooms have that flaw. GREAT staff and I'm sure the "good" rooms are grreat, too. I think it was kind of awful to charge full fare for that kind of room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Michigan
May 25, 2011

Dr. Leonard Johnson

I like the wine event each evening. The gym at this one and the Philly one (I was there last week) are not great. The TV monitors often don't work on the equipment, the one in PHilly was hot and had no ventilation, the one in DC was cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IN
Mar 19, 2011

A great small hotel experience

The room was fine, but it was the helpfulness of the staff that was particularly appreciated. My daughter and infant grandson stopped by for a short visit and the staff immediately provided a crib and took care of parking my daughter's car. I'll definately select the Hotel George for my next trip to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The corned beef hash for breakfast was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Feb 1, 2011

Excellent hotel

Everything was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chinatown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
May 6, 2010

Hotel George in DC - close to Union Stat

quick -- it served the purpose limited restaurant or room service menu --- helps for biz traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EQ
Business
El Paso TX
Mar 29, 2010

Cute boutique hotel with an indie feel

In D.C. for a conference and fun afterwards. Can't beat this location, Union Station and the Capitol a short walk away. Cute, little boutique hotel with daily 5:00 wine hour, friendly staff and an Indie feel. LOVED IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top