$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The George, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 15 E Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron G
Rockford, IL, USA
Oct 25, 2012

Excellent stay

We found everything in very good condition. I have never stayed at a hotel before where every person we encountered on the staff was welcoming and excellent. It was an easy walk to Starbucks, the capitol, mall etc. If in the area, I would stay at The George again for sure. Thank you everyone for a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TV Traveller
Business
NYC
Jul 20, 2012

Still a Solid Performer

The George continues to deliver value. Great location steps from Capital Hill and Union station. Helpful friendly staff and a killer restaurant, Bis. Beware rooms that look into the inner courtyard. They are functional, but not special and the AC unit bangs along all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

BlackFinn American Saloon is great for happy hour and for dinner. Lots of intrigue with a mixed crowd of Republican and Democrat strategists steps from the White House. 1620 I Street Northwest Washington, DC 20006 (202) 429-4350

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inja Girl
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 18, 2012

Great hotel, BUT

Construction next door meant loud banging outside my room, starting at 7 am, which was not welcome after a late (midnight) arrival. Also, my room was on the back side of the hotel, lovely, big, well appointed, BUT a total fishbowl. No way to open the curtains and an shudder to think of who I flashed the night before when I maynot have closed the blinds completely ... I menitoned this to the assistant manager, and he told me construction on that side had been going on for about a year and it would be over in October. He offered to comp me breakfast and make sure I had a flawless stay on my next visit--and I have no doubt they would deliver, but it's pretty awful to think that unless you KNOW to ask for an "E Street View" you will feel like you are on display and have to deal with contruction noise. Too bad that 1/2 or 1/3 of the rooms have that flaw. GREAT staff and I'm sure the "good" rooms are grreat, too. I think it was kind of awful to charge full fare for that kind of room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aindrian
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jun 11, 2012

Really (not only) dog friendly hotel

You probably know how hard it is to find a hotel that accepts dogs... but you probably have no idea how impossible it is to find a hotel which would accept an Irish Wolfhound (over 120 pounds...). Hotel George not only invited our dog to stay for no extra charge - they also gave us a bowl, a ball, some treats and directions to nearest dog parks! Apart from that - the hotel is clean and nice. There was no dog smell in the room. The staff was very friendly. And the location - couldn't be better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dr c
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Feb 27, 2012

great family getaway in a fabulous location

Excellent .Staff was friendly and did everything to make us feel welcome. Would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Crime and punishment museum was a short walk and very entertaining and quite different than your usual museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
justme
Business
Ohio, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Family getaway

The hotel did not meet our expectations. The room included a worn out mattress, broken mini bar key and construction from 7:30 am on each day.Hallways are worn, but lobby is welcoming with lemonade. Restaurant service was incredibly rushed, but food was delicious. Room service was quick and food also very good. Housekeeping staff was helpful about the mattress. Front desk was pleasant when asked, but only suggested sites, transportation, food when specifically asked., business computers cost $ 7.95/15 minutes. Saw many DC sites and Reds v Nationals game. Great city-will choose different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NOLAJ
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Washington, DC

Perfect hotel, close to union station and capitol. gave kids milk and cookies at bed time very very nice experience. staff was very helpful no complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to union station and take double decker tour bus cheaper then taxi's and you can get on and off at your own pace

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BeMary
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 7, 2011

The George July 4th 2011

The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom had a separate tub and shower - we liked that. The beds were very comfortable, and had great fluffy pillows. The closet and drawers were nice and easy to stay organized. The lobby was very nice. They had ice cold water flavored with fresh fruit which was great after sightseeing in the heat! And a couple times they had wine and limeade which we enjoyed. We liked that they allowed pets and provided water and treats for them Our doggie did not et to come on this trip, but we appreciate that they welcome pets. The restuarant was excellent, although pricey so we did not frequent it during our stay. The only thing missing was a pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jandretti
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 4, 2011

Great for walking everywhere!

Staff was very Helpful and friendly. It was extremely hot while we were there. Had to keep the airconditioning on at night and it blew right at our bed. Easy walk to Capital bldgs, trains, and Smithsonian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Michigan
May 25, 2011

Dr. Leonard Johnson

I like the wine event each evening. The gym at this one and the Philly one (I was there last week) are not great. The TV monitors often don't work on the equipment, the one in PHilly was hot and had no ventilation, the one in DC was cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bordentown, NJ
Apr 25, 2011

Great For the Whole Family

We had an excellent weekend stay at The George Hotel. When we arrived, they were serving complimentary glasses of wine in the lobby while we checked in. Our 3 and 6 year olds had a great time. They had kid size robes for them to wear and had cookies and milk delivered to the room for them. They also had a small gift bag for them to keep them occupied for a short while. They had a Wii in the lobby for kids to play with. It's only a block away from Union Station making it easy to travel to the zoo by metro and it's only 5 blocks from the Capital Building. The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly. Parking came to $45 with taxes, but it was valet service with unlimited in/out access. Parking was good til midnight on the day of check out and they held our bags for us downstairs for us until we left in the late afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top