$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

The George, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 15 E Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Sep 11, 2012

EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

Perfect location, clean, neat, AMAZING customer service. Shout out to Patrick Donovan at the front desk. He made my stay in DC that much better. I will definitely stay at The Hotel George again soon! The only downside is that one of the two elevators was out of service due to repairs. Other than that, a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richie C
Business
New York
Dec 30, 2013

Christmas 2013

Great staff and it's location next to union station is great. I'll be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ornex
Business
Geneva, Switzerland
Jan 25, 2014

Wonderfully comfortable room

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The room was very well appointed and comfortable. I had a room with one queen bed. While the view wasn't great (into other bedrooms# I wasn't there for that. I was looking for a comfortable hotel with easy access to the Department of Labor. The hotel fit this bill. My only complaint was about the service at Breakfast. on two occasions I had to hunt them down to ask for something. Upon entering, they immediately assumed that I would drink coffee and started to pour it before even asking what I wanted. I drink tea.! Same with the bill. The bill would come before even asking if we needed anything else. #same at dinner). This being said the food was really very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mack Hou
Business
The George, E Street NW, DC
Feb 9, 2014

Overnight at the George

Very attentive and friendly staff, very clean rooms and modern appointments but, the heater in my room on this chilly night was too loud each time it fired up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dr c
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Feb 27, 2012

great family getaway in a fabulous location

Excellent .Staff was friendly and did everything to make us feel welcome. Would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Crime and punishment museum was a short walk and very entertaining and quite different than your usual museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TV Traveller
Business
NYC
Jul 20, 2012

Still a Solid Performer

The George continues to deliver value. Great location steps from Capital Hill and Union station. Helpful friendly staff and a killer restaurant, Bis. Beware rooms that look into the inner courtyard. They are functional, but not special and the AC unit bangs along all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

BlackFinn American Saloon is great for happy hour and for dinner. Lots of intrigue with a mixed crowd of Republican and Democrat strategists steps from the White House. 1620 I Street Northwest Washington, DC 20006 (202) 429-4350

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aindrian
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jun 11, 2012

Really (not only) dog friendly hotel

You probably know how hard it is to find a hotel that accepts dogs... but you probably have no idea how impossible it is to find a hotel which would accept an Irish Wolfhound (over 120 pounds...). Hotel George not only invited our dog to stay for no extra charge - they also gave us a bowl, a ball, some treats and directions to nearest dog parks! Apart from that - the hotel is clean and nice. There was no dog smell in the room. The staff was very friendly. And the location - couldn't be better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim plus Kim
Business
Milwaukee,WI
Sep 29, 2012

Excellent location.

Steps from the capital or Union Station, the George was contemporary without being trendy. The staff was professional but relaxed as was our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SUPER BEAN
Business
DURHAM
Dec 5, 2012

nice location

It is near the union station, which allows us to walk there within 5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deal Man
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 4, 2013

Great location, good value

Only disappointment was that I booked a room with 2 queen beds, but upon arrival they only had a room with 1 king bed -- so the staff arranged for a rollaway bed instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bevi'ly
Business
Southern, Maine
Nov 4, 2013

Cousins capital reunion

The staff was outstanding with smiles and a sincere interaction that I found welcoming, which is sometimes lacking at city hotels. Location to capital, museums and sites were good with minimal taxi need. Hotel even gave a runners map ..... I loved that touch. Weather was 72 ...go figure for November??. Even cabbies were friendly! What an unexpected switch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top