$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

The George, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 15 E Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eprobo
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 19, 2014

Weekend trip to DC

This hotel is located just a block or two from Union Station, which makes it perfect if you're arriving in DC via Amtrak, Megabus, or some other transportation of that sort. It is located within walking distance of Capitol Hill. There's not too much in the way of dining around the hotel, but if you walk just a few blocks and get near Chinatown, that's when you will find more dining options than you will know what to do with. There's also lots of places to choose from to eat at in Union Station. Being within walking distance of Chinatown also means you are close to the Verizon Center, where the NHL and NBA play, and concerts are held. The hotel is also within walking distance of the White House, the monuments and the museums, but it's a further hike to all these things from the hotel than to Capitol Hill. It's doable, but wear comfortable shoes. That said, the hotel is near bus and metro lines, so you're good. We were there for a concert and sight-seeing, so being near the Verizon Center, Capitol Hill, and the White House area was perfect. Wifi in the room is not complimentary, unless you're a rewards member. That's disappointing. 24/7 gym is complimentary. In-house restaurant is pricey, though maybe not for the area. Check-in/check-out was easy. Room was very comfortable. Would've been nice to have had a DVD player in the room. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel to you, if you're looking for a hotel close to all the big DC sights. It was a great deal for us and we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not much dining around the hotel, but get to Chinatown. Lots there.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DandM32
Business
New York
Aug 5, 2014

DC weekend

Great location for the train station. A little far for some of the sights. Friendly staff. Great shower and water pressure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ask for a quiet room - you will not hear any noise.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skfm
Business
durham,nc
Jul 16, 2014

DC trip

great July 4 weekend trip to DC. Love the location of this hotel- steps from capitol building other attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

parking near buy is much less expensive than with hotel.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myxtap
Business
almaty
Jul 8, 2014

best value

Nice location, great rooms, competitive pricing. Highly recoomend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy bus tours. A big waste of money. Hot. Inconvenience. Waiting time. Crappie. A lot easier and cheaper to take cabs, ~$8 to any attraction.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skfm
Business
durham,nc
Jul 7, 2014

dc visit

great hotel in a great location; arrived early but they were kind enough to let me check in anyways; very nice clean hotel in a great area- will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

sights like the capitol building, mall, etc are within a 5 minute walk. union station is within five minute walk to take metro to other places, like baseball stadium.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parmentier
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 6, 2014

Excellent for family or business travel

The George is coveniently located in between Union Station and the Capitol. The room was very comfortable and spacious enough for a family of six. Everyone enjoyed the. George Washington themed decor. The bathroom was quiet luxurious with separate bath and shower. We were very pleased with every aspect of our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy Oz Mum
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jun 24, 2014

DC visit

Love this hotel. Very close to The Capitol and Union Station. Staff were nice too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LyndaG
Business
Granby, CT
Jun 17, 2014

Excellent hotel

Excellent staff. Very responsive. The food at the bistro is terrific. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Zitanya, Mediterranean food.

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fire evacuee
Business
san diego
Mar 13, 2014

fire alarms

Room was smallish but nicely appointed.TV was impossible to watch from bed.Fire alarms went off at 1:30 am because of water blow out on 8th floor.Evacuated out of our rooms for 2 hours plus.No water for shower in the morning.No discount or gesture on the bill.Won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The George, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NLFbrooklyn
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 18, 2014

Made mistakes but addressed them well

This is a lovely hotel - would have probably given it a higher rating but there were a number of mishaps. We arrived at 1:30 and they said we wouldn't be able to check in until 3pm. Fine, as expected. We got back to the hotel from sightseeing at about 4:45 and the room was still not ready (first they said it was, but sent us to a room without the foldout couch for my daughter that they had promised when we arrived#. We waited until close to six in the lobby to check in, along with many, many others. The upside is that they were not only very civil and very apologetic but they comped our first night there as a result. All staff were trying incredibly hard to make amends. Room was very nice, moderately quiet for a city location, a bit tight with the fold out couch but comfortable. The first morning an overhead alarm with a light went off in our room and woke us up. I went to let the staff know about it, and they apologized and offered to buy us breakfast at the attached restaurant, no small thing given how expensive the place was #breakfast for two was $45 including tip, and we ordered minimally).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top