$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

5 stars
View map of 2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., 2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
65 reviews
Perfect location in Dupont Circle

It doesn't get much better than this if you want a classy, quiet place to stay for a few nights in... See full review

  • Senator Blutarsky
  • Dec 31, 2014
Fairfax Embassy Row

A quintessential home from home and antidote to modern, boutique hotels. The Fairfax is classically... See full review

  • ColinBJ
  • May 16, 2014
  • The White House (0.5 mi/.8 km)
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old Stone House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • National La
    General
    Washington DC hotel with ballroom near the White House
    Location
    The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel is a fabulous example of elegance in the heart of the city. The Kennedy Center for Arts and many shopping opportunities are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D
    Dining
    • Ideally situated near attractions, including the White House, National Cathedral and the Kennedy Center
    • Meeting facilities including a 2,600 square-foot ballroom
    • Comfortable rooms with modern amenities such as flat-screen TVs and h
      Rooms
      The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel offers a range of room types, including suites. The superior and deluxe rooms have classic decor and feature original artwork inspired by the local area. The generously sized rooms have high-speed Internet a

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi

Dining

The Capitol Room
The Capitol Room serves a bountiful breakfast featuring all-American classics.
The Fairfax Grille & Lounge
The Fairfax Grille & Lounge, once solely used as the hotel bar, has been revitalized with an inviting nautical theme that brings guests back in time with a host of historic elements and an array of locally inspired drinks and dishes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 65
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nir.L
Business
ISR
Jan 21, 2012

OK

Nice hotel good location, expensive internet , parking, no breakfest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drmarkflies
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Beds, what happened to the beds?

For most of us, the main hotel room attraction is the bed. Why would we need a hotel but for a place to sleep? The bed was akin to a torture rack... hard and unforgiving. The hotel food was awesome! The staff were clearly trained to be upscale DC subserviants. Wonderful people, doing an excellent job, and oh so surprised that someone would bother to ask how their day was going. Have you seen "The Help"? Reminded me of that. Oh well it's DC, and what would you expect? It's almost, but not quite north of the Mason Dixon line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A good place to dine in.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 1, 2010

Farifax at Embassy Row

Rooms are too small and outdated. Check-in took far too long at what is billed as a luxury hotel. Only one restaurant option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Pain Quotidien is around the corner for a great breakfast, as well as Starbucks.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
markfromsea
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 24, 2014

Great location, but my room tiny and getting tired

This hotel is in a great location - close to all things government and business within WDC. Also it is right next to Dupont Circle, which is full of restaurants and shops. Love the location. The Hotel however appears to be getting a bit tired. For example the caulking in my my shower looked rough and painted over. The carpet had a stain in it. Not horrible, but not what you would expect from a 5-star hotel. Also my room was tiny. No desk and the TV was to the right of my bed so that one would have to lay on their side to watch it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hank's Oyster Bar is nearby

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isabel p
Business
new york
Jan 19, 2013

Just what you need

well situated and comfortable. friendly and my room was always tidy when i cam back. i would recommend staying here for work or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeLe74
Business
Boston, MA
May 13, 2013

Nice hotel

I like the Fairfax and had a nice weekend stay. The room was immaculate, the noise control very good. My only complaint is there was no hot water Sunday morning and the room phone was not working inhouse to call the front desk. The person who cleaned the room did a wonderful job and the location is very nice. I will definitely stay there again since the issues were minor and the hotel itself very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JEisinger
Business
New York
Jun 6, 2013

Nicest DC hotel

I've been looking for a good business DC hotel at a reasonable price for a long time, having been underwhelmed by the Hotel George, the Sofitel, & especially the Helix. This was the best of the bunch. The downside is that it seemed a little out of the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j ross s
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jun 6, 2013

solid hotel

really liked the location. close to business and restaurants. had potential issue extending my stay and front desk was able to handle it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TYRESALEZZZ
Business
MORENO VALLEY CA
May 31, 2009

The good The bad The ugly

The Fairfax provided reliable service but for obscene prices. Parking was bad and cost $30 a day. The rooms were small but provided comfort and were quiet most of the time. There was no method of refrigeration and food was too expensive, and stay away from P Street.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northbrook, IL
Aug 17, 2009

Pleasant, Professional Staff

The staff was very pleasant and friendly, while remaining very professional. This was especially true with their attempts to solve the problem I experienced, as described below. Upon checking in I was given the now typical card to open my door. I could not get it to work, so assistance was provided and the only way to open the door was by using a master key. I then left my "stuff" in the room, got another card and when I returned the door would not open, causing me to once again return downstairs to get another key. I was accompanied back to my room by 2 staff members and they could not get the door open even with a master card. A third staff member came and finally opened the door with another master. At that point I was given another, nicer room. But I did waste more than a few minutes. When I got to the new room, the door was blocked by a house keeping cart, which was quickly moved. Then when I went to make coffee in the morning, there was no fresh pods and a used one in the pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great area.

Back to menu Return to top