$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

5 stars
2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., 2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
61 reviews
Fairfax Embassy Row

A quintessential home from home and antidote to modern, boutique hotels. The Fairfax is classically... See full review

  • ColinBJ
  • May 16, 2014
Great location

close to the zoo, national mall isn't far away. great place to stay a nit. See full review

  • rocku
  • Apr 29, 2014
Luxury Washington DC hotel near the White House
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel is a fabulous example of elegance in the heart of the city. The Kennedy Center for Arts and many shopping opportunities are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel has a wide choice of accommodations to suit all tastes and needs, offering many modern conveniences and views of Embassy Row or the National Cathedral. 
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideally situated near attractions, including the White House, National Cathedral and the Kennedy Center
  • Meeting facilities including a 2,600 square-foot ballroom
  • Comfortable rooms with modern amenities such as flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel offers a range of room types, including suites. The superior and deluxe rooms have classic decor and feature original artwork inspired by the local area. The generously sized rooms have high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TVs. Suites offer an added degree of privacy for all guests staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel. There are workstations for business users and each has high-speed Internet access. The Fairfax suite offers stunning views of the National Cathedral and surrounding areas, as well as a marble bathroom with Jacuzzi tub.
Things to Do:
  • The White House (0.5 mi/.8 km)
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old Stone House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km )
  • National Museum of Crime & Punishment (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

Hotel Map

38.9104 -77.0471
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 41.84, KM; Baltimore Washington Intl. Airport, (BWI), 64.37, KM; Ronald Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 9.66, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi

Dining

The Fairfax Grille & Lounge
The Fairfax Grille & Lounge, once solely used as the hotel bar, has been revitalized with an inviting nautical theme that brings guests back in time with a host of historic elements and an array of locally inspired drinks and dishes.
The Capitol Room
The Capitol Room serves a bountiful breakfast featuring all-American classics.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke, VA
Aug 3, 2011

Great stay!

The hotel was very nice! Very clean, great location and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Royal Oak, Michigan
Dec 6, 2009

Review of the Fairfax at Embassy Row

The staff went out of their way to be helpful with printing boarding passes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We did not have a good experience at the seafood restaurant Pesce. The service was slow, and we had to wait 15 minutes past our reservation time because the staff had not allotted enough time between the end of a wedding party and the first reservations of the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vicki, Avid Traveler
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 31, 2010

Great location

The staff could not have been more accomodating. Our every need was met. The room was spotless and the linens and toiletries were of the finest quality. We were truly pampered. The neighborhood was charming. We had a whirlwind visit and participated in the Restore Sanity Rally. We would highly recommend staying at the Fairfax Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Venture out to P Street for fine food with an international flavor and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Sep 9, 2009

Great location, incredible service

It was a great, safe location. It was convenient to the Metro and lots of great restaurants that were within walking distance. The concierge was available and willing to go above and beyond to help make our stay more enjoyable. It is an older hotel; but, they have upgraded it and it was fine. I felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 6, 2009

Very clean & Good Location but snooty

It was a wonderful room, great view, plenty of towels and an amazing pillow-top bed and feather pillows. The room was more than adequate in size and the large TV was a nice added bonus as well as the iPod stereo in the room. My only negative comment was regrading the staff. The "front of the house" people were a bit abrasive and semi-rude. The bartender and cleaning staff were so much kinder and a better source of information; the check-in desk individuals were very frigid and spoke to us with an air of superiority. They were also behind with check-in by three hours. However, since I had limited face-to-face interaction with those individuals I would go back. It was a great place to get away from it all. Great neighborhood, good restaurants and very close to the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MountJoy Mom
Business
Mount Joy, PA
Aug 8, 2011

Weekend in DC

Our weekend stay at the Fairfax was a pleasant experience. The hotel staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. The concierge took time to help us understand the subway system, and gave us excellent advice on how to plan our itinerary for the museums we wanted to visit. Our room was lovely and had a fabulous view of DuPont Circle. Additionally, the room was meticulously clean, while the beds were extremely comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay. The reasons for our 4 star rating were as follows: the air conditioning unit in the room was rather loud and tended to blow on my face while I was trying to sleep. On our last night's stay, the hotel was running low on water bottles for their guests, which became problematic for me at 4 AM. Neither room service nor the front desk could spare more than one bottle, because they had run out. (I have been told that it is better to use bottled and filtered water when staying in DC.)The brunch breakfast was not worth the price charged for the meal. We were charged $60.00 for slightly runny eggs and sour berries. If you choose this hotel, you won't be disappointed with your stay. However, you may want to open your options for eating out and be sure to have some extra water on hand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Spy Museum was a fun visit. You can choose a spy persona and "become" a spy while visiting the interactive displays. You definitely want to get to visit this museum as its doors open. By the time we left, there was a huge line out the door and wrapped around to the next block!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northbrook, IL
Aug 17, 2009

Pleasant, Professional Staff

The staff was very pleasant and friendly, while remaining very professional. This was especially true with their attempts to solve the problem I experienced, as described below. Upon checking in I was given the now typical card to open my door. I could not get it to work, so assistance was provided and the only way to open the door was by using a master key. I then left my "stuff" in the room, got another card and when I returned the door would not open, causing me to once again return downstairs to get another key. I was accompanied back to my room by 2 staff members and they could not get the door open even with a master card. A third staff member came and finally opened the door with another master. At that point I was given another, nicer room. But I did waste more than a few minutes. When I got to the new room, the door was blocked by a house keeping cart, which was quickly moved. Then when I went to make coffee in the morning, there was no fresh pods and a used one in the pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte NC
Jan 25, 2010

Great hotel

Great hotel in Dupont Circle, a good choice in the area and close the metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rumson,NJ
Oct 1, 2009

Embassy row hotel

My wife and I stayed for two nights.The room was clean and nicely kept.The staff was very responsive to our needs.Nice getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When looking for a place to eat ,step out of the main entrance,make a right,walk one minute to P street and there is a Starbucks on the near right corner and a selection of food and services to your right and left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
portaustindad
Business
Detroit, Mi.
Sep 30, 2009

one of our best experiences

great location, friendly, attentive staff, amenities just perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top