$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

5 stars
View map of 2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., 2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke, VA
Aug 3, 2011

Great stay!

The hotel was very nice! Very clean, great location and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Royal Oak, Michigan
Dec 6, 2009

Review of the Fairfax at Embassy Row

The staff went out of their way to be helpful with printing boarding passes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We did not have a good experience at the seafood restaurant Pesce. The service was slow, and we had to wait 15 minutes past our reservation time because the staff had not allotted enough time between the end of a wedding party and the first reservations of the evening.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vicki, Avid Traveler
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 31, 2010

Great location

The staff could not have been more accomodating. Our every need was met. The room was spotless and the linens and toiletries were of the finest quality. We were truly pampered. The neighborhood was charming. We had a whirlwind visit and participated in the Restore Sanity Rally. We would highly recommend staying at the Fairfax Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Venture out to P Street for fine food with an international flavor and reasonable prices.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Sep 9, 2009

Great location, incredible service

It was a great, safe location. It was convenient to the Metro and lots of great restaurants that were within walking distance. The concierge was available and willing to go above and beyond to help make our stay more enjoyable. It is an older hotel; but, they have upgraded it and it was fine. I felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 6, 2009

Very clean & Good Location but snooty

It was a wonderful room, great view, plenty of towels and an amazing pillow-top bed and feather pillows. The room was more than adequate in size and the large TV was a nice added bonus as well as the iPod stereo in the room. My only negative comment was regrading the staff. The "front of the house" people were a bit abrasive and semi-rude. The bartender and cleaning staff were so much kinder and a better source of information; the check-in desk individuals were very frigid and spoke to us with an air of superiority. They were also behind with check-in by three hours. However, since I had limited face-to-face interaction with those individuals I would go back. It was a great place to get away from it all. Great neighborhood, good restaurants and very close to the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MountJoy Mom
Business
Mount Joy, PA
Aug 8, 2011

Weekend in DC

Our weekend stay at the Fairfax was a pleasant experience. The hotel staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. The concierge took time to help us understand the subway system, and gave us excellent advice on how to plan our itinerary for the museums we wanted to visit. Our room was lovely and had a fabulous view of DuPont Circle. Additionally, the room was meticulously clean, while the beds were extremely comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay. The reasons for our 4 star rating were as follows: the air conditioning unit in the room was rather loud and tended to blow on my face while I was trying to sleep. On our last night's stay, the hotel was running low on water bottles for their guests, which became problematic for me at 4 AM. Neither room service nor the front desk could spare more than one bottle, because they had run out. (I have been told that it is better to use bottled and filtered water when staying in DC.)The brunch breakfast was not worth the price charged for the meal. We were charged $60.00 for slightly runny eggs and sour berries. If you choose this hotel, you won't be disappointed with your stay. However, you may want to open your options for eating out and be sure to have some extra water on hand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Spy Museum was a fun visit. You can choose a spy persona and "become" a spy while visiting the interactive displays. You definitely want to get to visit this museum as its doors open. By the time we left, there was a huge line out the door and wrapped around to the next block!!

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northbrook, IL
Aug 17, 2009

Pleasant, Professional Staff

The staff was very pleasant and friendly, while remaining very professional. This was especially true with their attempts to solve the problem I experienced, as described below. Upon checking in I was given the now typical card to open my door. I could not get it to work, so assistance was provided and the only way to open the door was by using a master key. I then left my "stuff" in the room, got another card and when I returned the door would not open, causing me to once again return downstairs to get another key. I was accompanied back to my room by 2 staff members and they could not get the door open even with a master card. A third staff member came and finally opened the door with another master. At that point I was given another, nicer room. But I did waste more than a few minutes. When I got to the new room, the door was blocked by a house keeping cart, which was quickly moved. Then when I went to make coffee in the morning, there was no fresh pods and a used one in the pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great area.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte NC
Jan 25, 2010

Great hotel

Great hotel in Dupont Circle, a good choice in the area and close the metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rumson,NJ
Oct 1, 2009

Embassy row hotel

My wife and I stayed for two nights.The room was clean and nicely kept.The staff was very responsive to our needs.Nice getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When looking for a place to eat ,step out of the main entrance,make a right,walk one minute to P street and there is a Starbucks on the near right corner and a selection of food and services to your right and left.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
portaustindad
Business
Detroit, Mi.
Sep 30, 2009

one of our best experiences

great location, friendly, attentive staff, amenities just perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top