$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

5 stars
2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
61 reviews
Fairfax Embassy Row

A quintessential home from home and antidote to modern, boutique hotels. The Fairfax is classically... See full review

  • ColinBJ
  • May 16, 2014
Great location

close to the zoo, national mall isn't far away. great place to stay a nit. See full review

  • rocku
  • Apr 29, 2014
Luxury Washington DC hotel near the White House
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel is a fabulous example of elegance in the heart of the city. The Kennedy Center for Arts and many shopping opportunities are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel has a wide choice of accommodations to suit all tastes and needs, offering many modern conveniences and views of Embassy Row or the National Cathedral. 
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideally situated near attractions, including the White House, National Cathedral and the Kennedy Center
  • Meeting facilities including a 2,600 square-foot ballroom
  • Comfortable rooms with modern amenities such as flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel offers a range of room types, including suites. The superior and deluxe rooms have classic decor and feature original artwork inspired by the local area. The generously sized rooms have high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TVs. Suites offer an added degree of privacy for all guests staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel. There are workstations for business users and each has high-speed Internet access. The Fairfax suite offers stunning views of the National Cathedral and surrounding areas, as well as a marble bathroom with Jacuzzi tub.
Things to Do:
  • The White House (0.5 mi/.8 km)
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old Stone House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km )
  • National Museum of Crime & Punishment (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

Hotel Map

38.9104 -77.0471
Area served
Alexandria, Baltimore, Crystal City, Mt Vernon
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 50.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 30.00, MI; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms

Superior
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeLe74
Business
Boston, MA
May 13, 2013

Nice hotel

I like the Fairfax and had a nice weekend stay. The room was immaculate, the noise control very good. My only complaint is there was no hot water Sunday morning and the room phone was not working inhouse to call the front desk. The person who cleaned the room did a wonderful job and the location is very nice. I will definitely stay there again since the issues were minor and the hotel itself very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte NC
Jan 25, 2010

Great hotel

Great hotel in Dupont Circle, a good choice in the area and close the metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Semper
Greensboro, NC, USA
Aug 12, 2014

DC

Overall this hotel was a great value and location, the bedsheets did not seem to have been changed from the previous customers, it had body hairs under the sheets, and the pillow had a dirty smell!!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cap'n Rick
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Feb 5, 2012

A night at the Fairfax

I enjoyed a one night get away at the Fairfax. We were looking for simple elegance at a reasonable price and we were not disappointed. Location was convenient and elegant, on Embassy Row. Rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. We caught some snacks and drinks at the lounge, which also provided ambience and comfort that we were looking for. I lovely evening in a lovely venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MountJoy Mom
Mount Joy, PA
Aug 8, 2011

Weekend in DC

Our weekend stay at the Fairfax was a pleasant experience. The hotel staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. The concierge took time to help us understand the subway system, and gave us excellent advice on how to plan our itinerary for the museums we wanted to visit. Our room was lovely and had a fabulous view of DuPont Circle. Additionally, the room was meticulously clean, while the beds were extremely comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay. The reasons for our 4 star rating were as follows: the air conditioning unit in the room was rather loud and tended to blow on my face while I was trying to sleep. On our last night's stay, the hotel was running low on water bottles for their guests, which became problematic for me at 4 AM. Neither room service nor the front desk could spare more than one bottle, because they had run out. (I have been told that it is better to use bottled and filtered water when staying in DC.)The brunch breakfast was not worth the price charged for the meal. We were charged $60.00 for slightly runny eggs and sour berries. If you choose this hotel, you won't be disappointed with your stay. However, you may want to open your options for eating out and be sure to have some extra water on hand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Spy Museum was a fun visit. You can choose a spy persona and "become" a spy while visiting the interactive displays. You definitely want to get to visit this museum as its doors open. By the time we left, there was a huge line out the door and wrapped around to the next block!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
markfromsea
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 24, 2014

Great location, but my room tiny and getting tired

This hotel is in a great location - close to all things government and business within WDC. Also it is right next to Dupont Circle, which is full of restaurants and shops. Love the location. The Hotel however appears to be getting a bit tired. For example the caulking in my my shower looked rough and painted over. The carpet had a stain in it. Not horrible, but not what you would expect from a 5-star hotel. Also my room was tiny. No desk and the TV was to the right of my bed so that one would have to lay on their side to watch it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hank's Oyster Bar is nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brittney S.
Laurel, MD
Jan 2, 2014

NYE

Stayed here for New Years. The room was nice, large tub, nice coffee machine , and a really nice bed. The valet is a bit expensive and the room service ( breakfast - potatoes, eggs, turkey sausage, toast, juice and coffee) could have been a little better but was expected at a hotel. Overall, nice experience but for the location, the price was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

About a half mile walk to DuPont. We took a cab to DuPont ($6), but walked back and the walk was okay. It was cold that night, but it would be a lovely walk when it's nice out. Def. a money saver vs. the hotels right in DuPont.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeteS
Boston
Nov 21, 2013

Lovely, charming older hotel in Dupont Circle

Nice, elegant and pleasant hotel. It's a converted apartment house, so there is not much of a lobby, but it was very comfortable, with a helpful staff. My only real complaint is that internet access is expensive, and you have to pay separately for each device that connects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newtoDC
DC
Jun 17, 2014

Great hotel in an excellent location

I have stayed in this hotel a few times in the past. The location can't be beat.The hotel is only a short walk from Dupont Circle and is right on Embassy Row - a very nice tree-lined street where all the embassies are located. The hotel rooms are of decent size and if you are a lucky you may get one of the suite style rooms which are really really large. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the rooms are very clean. My only gripe is that I wish they had more personal products in the bathroom like toothpaste, deodorants, more soaps, and conditioners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wisconsin Griswalds
Madison, WI
Jul 25, 2014

Location is the key

This is a great place to stay. If you like using the Metro to get around, it is unbeatable. The lobby and the rooms are a little on the small side, but the place is a little piece of beauty right in the middle of Embassy Row. There are dozens of places to eat in the neighborhood and a Starbucks right around the corner. The staff are friendly and seem to love the place and just working there. We highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro is a nice 2 block walk through a historic and beautiful section of Dupont Circle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search