The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

5 stars
2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
61 reviews
Fairfax Embassy Row

A quintessential home from home and antidote to modern, boutique hotels. The Fairfax is classically... See full review

  • ColinBJ
  • May 16, 2014
Great location

close to the zoo, national mall isn't far away. great place to stay a nit. See full review

  • rocku
  • Apr 29, 2014
Luxury Washington DC hotel near the White House
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel is a fabulous example of elegance in the heart of the city. The Kennedy Center for Arts and many shopping opportunities are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel has a wide choice of accommodations to suit all tastes and needs, offering many modern conveniences and views of Embassy Row or the National Cathedral. 
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideally situated near attractions, including the White House, National Cathedral and the Kennedy Center
  • Meeting facilities including a 2,600 square-foot ballroom
  • Comfortable rooms with modern amenities such as flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel offers a range of room types, including suites. The superior and deluxe rooms have classic decor and feature original artwork inspired by the local area. The generously sized rooms have high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TVs. Suites offer an added degree of privacy for all guests staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel. There are workstations for business users and each has high-speed Internet access. The Fairfax suite offers stunning views of the National Cathedral and surrounding areas, as well as a marble bathroom with Jacuzzi tub.
Things to Do:
  • The White House (0.5 mi/.8 km)
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old Stone House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km )
  • National Museum of Crime & Punishment (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms

Superior
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Hotel Map

38.9104 -77.0471
Area served
Alexandria, Baltimore, Crystal City, Mt Vernon
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 50.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 30.00, MI; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gay Couple Traveling
Michigan
Dec 31, 2012

Big Disappointment

We had a very bad experience at this hotel which surprised us. We have stayed here before and had a great time. This is the reason why we paid additional money to come back to this hotel. Wanted to experience the same great time as we did on previous trips. Here are the concerns: We reserved a very specific room. Upon check in we were told that our requested room was not available for market for some reason. When I inquired the desk clerk did not know why. I said was it because it is being held for us? She replied that she would just give us another room that would be the same. In the replacement room, the carpet was stained; the bath tub dirty; the room was cold we had to run the heat up to 75 - 79 to keep warm enough. There was so much hallway light that leaked in around the door that it made hard to sleep at night. Had bellman push bell carts into us on the elevator instead of waiting until the elevator was free. The furniture in the room was in poor shape. The chair in the room did not fit the style of the room. Clearly it had been placed from another hotel. It was not even in the style or the year of the hotel. This was a great hotel on previous stays. Not sure if there is a new manager or what but was a huge disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drmarkflies
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Beds, what happened to the beds?

For most of us, the main hotel room attraction is the bed. Why would we need a hotel but for a place to sleep? The bed was akin to a torture rack... hard and unforgiving. The hotel food was awesome! The staff were clearly trained to be upscale DC subserviants. Wonderful people, doing an excellent job, and oh so surprised that someone would bother to ask how their day was going. Have you seen "The Help"? Reminded me of that. Oh well it's DC, and what would you expect? It's almost, but not quite north of the Mason Dixon line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A good place to dine in.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nir.L
Business
ISR
Jan 21, 2012

OK

Nice hotel good location, expensive internet , parking, no breakfest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 1, 2010

Farifax at Embassy Row

Rooms are too small and outdated. Check-in took far too long at what is billed as a luxury hotel. Only one restaurant option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Pain Quotidien is around the corner for a great breakfast, as well as Starbucks.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mammamia42
charlottesville, va
Mar 22, 2013

I expected more....

Our king-size bed completely filled our room - there was not much space left for walking. It was so tight that the bathroom door almost hit the closet door. The valet parking was pricey but I expected that. I did not expect to have to pay $12.95 a day for an internet connection. A 5 star hotel should not 'nickel and dime' you - the corner cafe offers a free connection with a cup of coffee!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northbrook, IL
Aug 17, 2009

Pleasant, Professional Staff

The staff was very pleasant and friendly, while remaining very professional. This was especially true with their attempts to solve the problem I experienced, as described below. Upon checking in I was given the now typical card to open my door. I could not get it to work, so assistance was provided and the only way to open the door was by using a master key. I then left my "stuff" in the room, got another card and when I returned the door would not open, causing me to once again return downstairs to get another key. I was accompanied back to my room by 2 staff members and they could not get the door open even with a master card. A third staff member came and finally opened the door with another master. At that point I was given another, nicer room. But I did waste more than a few minutes. When I got to the new room, the door was blocked by a house keeping cart, which was quickly moved. Then when I went to make coffee in the morning, there was no fresh pods and a used one in the pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great area.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isabel p
Business
new york
Jan 19, 2013

Just what you need

well situated and comfortable. friendly and my room was always tidy when i cam back. i would recommend staying here for work or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j ross s
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jun 6, 2013

solid hotel

really liked the location. close to business and restaurants. had potential issue extending my stay and front desk was able to handle it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherbeary
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 21, 2014

Mixed Bag

On my recent trip to this hotel I had a variety of experiences -- some positive, some not. Check-in for some reason was a little long -- even though I was helped right away. I inquired about whether or not I can earn loyalty points for this stay and was told "no, you booked through a third party." The irony was that upon checkout I was given a business card requesting that I review the property on third party website. Hmmm. It seems odd to request a positive review via a provider who links guests to third parties -- when I was just told there's no loyalty for booking through one. That aside, I found dark black hair all over my room - on the foot of the bed, the carpet, the bathroom floor and in the toilet (where I also found paper wrappers from the toilet paper outside wrap) when I arrived. My shampoo/conditioner were not refreshed and I had to request them. Most of the staff were nice. The gym was quite good as compared to many other hotel gyms I have used. I also requested special assistance with something in my room and was accommodated straight away. The hotel appointments are very good, and the location is perfect for sightseeing and business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JEisinger
Business
New York
Jun 6, 2013

Nicest DC hotel

I've been looking for a good business DC hotel at a reasonable price for a long time, having been underwhelmed by the Hotel George, the Sofitel, & especially the Helix. This was the best of the bunch. The downside is that it seemed a little out of the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top