$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

5 stars
2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
80 reviews
Fairfax Embassy Row

A quintessential home from home and antidote to modern, boutique hotels. The Fairfax is classically... See full review

  • ColinBJ
  • May 16, 2014
Great location

close to the zoo, national mall isn't far away. great place to stay a nit. See full review

  • rocku
  • Apr 29, 2014
Luxury Washington DC hotel near the White House
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel is a fabulous example of elegance in the heart of the city. The Kennedy Center for Arts and many shopping opportunities are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel has a wide choice of accommodations to suit all tastes and needs, offering many modern conveniences and views of Embassy Row or the National Cathedral. 
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideally situated near attractions, including the White House, National Cathedral and the Kennedy Center
  • Meeting facilities including a 2,600 square-foot ballroom
  • Comfortable rooms with modern amenities such as flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel offers a range of room types, including suites. The superior and deluxe rooms have classic decor and feature original artwork inspired by the local area. The generously sized rooms have high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TVs. Suites offer an added degree of privacy for all guests staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel. There are workstations for business users and each has high-speed Internet access. The Fairfax suite offers stunning views of the National Cathedral and surrounding areas, as well as a marble bathroom with Jacuzzi tub.
Things to Do:
  • The White House (0.5 mi/.8 km)
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old Stone House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km )
  • National Museum of Crime & Punishment (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

Hotel Map

38.9104 -77.0471
Area served
Alexandria, Baltimore, Crystal City, Mt Vernon
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 50.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 30.00, MI; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms

Superior
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackie well tavelled senior citizen
England
Sep 9, 2009

Unbeatable luxury at an affordable price

My daughter and I could find very little wrong with this hotel.We had 2 connecting rooms which were superb.A quiet location in a very nice neighbourhood with excellent restaurants on Dupont Circle.You may need to take the bus to the attractions ie The White House,Capitol Buildings and Museums etc..Washington was a joy to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, Utah
Dec 13, 2009

Fantastic

The Fairfax was warm and comfortable. Location was perfect and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Great hotel

Lovely hotel in a great location; very friendly staff, very comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jul 6, 2009

Fabulous Hotel! Fantastic Service!

The hotel was fabulous and the service was outstanding. The staff were very courteous and went out of their way to help us find an Indian restaurant minutes after we got to the hotel. The only problem we had was that we made the reservation through Orbitz couple hours before we reached the hotel. The confirmation was not available with the reception and we had to wait almost an hour to check-in. The online rates we had were lower than the regular rates so they did not want to check us in even though there were plently of rooms available. They could have trusted us a bit more and checked us in (since I mentioned to them a couple of times that we were travelling with my mother who was visiting from India). But after that first hour everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Georgetown is full of cute, quaint restaurants. Check with the conceirge or the bell captain.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MM2011
New Jersey
Sep 24, 2013

Beautiful

Everything was perfection. Definitely will go back. First time in Washington DC and the hotel made the experience so worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kid with the Golden Arms
East Coast, USA
Mar 25, 2013

Great location. No complaints.

Convenient to Dupont Circle Metro stop. 24-hour CVS nearby for late night water run. Le Pain Quotidien nearby for nice early morning breakfast. Valet parking was $40 but worth it. They were prompt and pleasant. Room was perfectly sized for a one-night stay. Nice fluffy pillows. Soft sheets. No complaints. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheaper eats nearby. No need to stick with hotel offerings.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smsowen
Southern California
Nov 1, 2010

Excellent Location and Quality

Enjoyed the hospitality and courtesy of everyone working at this hotel. It is beautiful and located in a nice area filled with good restaurants, shops, and a close Metro stop. Will stay here any time we return to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meggem
Philadelphia
Feb 17, 2014

Fairfax-amazing location! super friendly!

We stayed here Valentines/President's Day weekend and we had the best time. We were 3 -20-something girls in for a weekend and we couldn't have asked for better. First impression-the Fairfax is the prettiest hotel on embassy row, has a nice historic feel - inside and out. The staff was amazingly friendly, concierge was our best friend. The location was also great. Dupoint Circle has alot of shops, restaurants, and bars in walking distance. You do need to take either taxi or subway to the White House, museums, and such. I will definitely stay here again and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a 5 star hotel in the DC area!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Al Tiramisu - Authentic Italian restaurant about a 1.5 blocks away.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Paz, Bolivia
Jul 2, 2011

Clean, confortable and quiet !

I would suggest a larger Business Center. Two computers for the Hotel is too little !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

¨Pesce¨ Restaurant on ¨P ¨St. between 20 and 21 streets

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Sales Guy
Business
Eastern Shore MD
Dec 8, 2010

First Class Service

The Fairfax is located one block from the DuPont Station Metro red line. I arrived at 10 am and they were able to give me a room although check in was not until 3 PM. Also I was greeted on my arrival like I have never been greeted before. I wish I could remember her name but I arrived at 10 AM on Tuesday December 7th – so if any managers are reading this that young lady has set the standard for guests arriving at a hotel. Warm and friendly and really wanting to please their guests. The hotel is clean and modern with an old world feeling. The holiday decorations were beautiful. I stayed on the 3rd floor and found the room exceptional. Very clean, modern and all the amenities including plenty of hot water. I was gone all day on business and returned in the evening. The area was well lit and I felt safe walking the block from the subway to the hotel. I did sample the bar and the staff again was very warm and friendly. I parked my car with the hotel and found the rate in line with other hotels at $38.00 per night. I waited less than 5 minutes for my car to be returned. I have paid a lot more in DC for a hotel than what I paid at the Fairfax – less than $200 for the night. The Fairfax is on my Favorite hotel list in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

TO get to the Metro walk one block east and go North 500 feet. You can't see the Metro from the corner of MASS Ave but the Metro is on the right.

Back to menu Return to top