$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

5 stars
2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
80 reviews
Fairfax Embassy Row

A quintessential home from home and antidote to modern, boutique hotels. The Fairfax is classically... See full review

  • ColinBJ
  • May 16, 2014
Great location

close to the zoo, national mall isn't far away. great place to stay a nit. See full review

  • rocku
  • Apr 29, 2014
Luxury Washington DC hotel near the White House
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel is a fabulous example of elegance in the heart of the city. The Kennedy Center for Arts and many shopping opportunities are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel has a wide choice of accommodations to suit all tastes and needs, offering many modern conveniences and views of Embassy Row or the National Cathedral. 
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideally situated near attractions, including the White House, National Cathedral and the Kennedy Center
  • Meeting facilities including a 2,600 square-foot ballroom
  • Comfortable rooms with modern amenities such as flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel offers a range of room types, including suites. The superior and deluxe rooms have classic decor and feature original artwork inspired by the local area. The generously sized rooms have high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TVs. Suites offer an added degree of privacy for all guests staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel. There are workstations for business users and each has high-speed Internet access. The Fairfax suite offers stunning views of the National Cathedral and surrounding areas, as well as a marble bathroom with Jacuzzi tub.
Things to Do:
  • The White House (0.5 mi/.8 km)
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old Stone House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km )
  • National Museum of Crime & Punishment (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms

Superior
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9104 -77.0471
Area served
Alexandria, Baltimore, Crystal City, Mt Vernon
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 50.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 30.00, MI; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 80
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rocku
Wilmington DE
Apr 29, 2014

Great location

close to the zoo, national mall isn't far away. great place to stay a nit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wash Dc veteran
va beach
Feb 26, 2014

Good location and good value

Excellent in all respects.will stay there again.good restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Izzy Malik
Merced, CA
Jul 7, 2013

Best location in Washington DC

Really enjoyed being there. Area is really nice and very convenient. Lots of stuff that you can walk to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nandos with delicious peri peri chicken wraps.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K Vivian
Dallas, tx
Jul 5, 2013

College orientation

The staff was great and we very much enjoyed our stay. Would definitely book again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tato V.
Central Illinois
Apr 7, 2013

Great getaway!

I was with my wife and son recently for 3 nights at the Fairfax. The location is great. Out of the way yet accessible by cab, bus, metro and trolley. We are more old world than contemporary so this was perfect for us. We had dinner twice and breakfast once at 2100 Prime which was amazing. We fully enjoyed every dish we ordered. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The concierge answered our questions. We will definitely be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louise47
St. Louis, MO
Aug 6, 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer

A beautiful hotel with a friendly staff, clean rooms and easy access to Washington, D.C. We were only there for about 6 hours. We wish we could have stayed there for our entire trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It had everything. Night life, dining access, things to do within walking distance as well as cab service. Great location.

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cmgrob
Rochester Hills, MI, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Lovely place

This hotel exudes elegance and style. I enjoyed my stay, the staff was polite and helpful. The location was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyler's wife and family
New Jersey, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Perfect hotel

The fairfax at embassy row is the perfect hotel. It is located by several nice resturaunts and many embassy's. I have never in my life stayed at a hotel where the staff was so nice and pleasant. Where it was getting in to the car, walking in the hotel or taking luggage out of the car there was a staff member there to open the door or grab your bags. No doubt I will come back to this hotel next time I am in the Washington dc area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MountJoy Mom
Mount Joy, PA
Aug 8, 2011

Weekend in DC

Our weekend stay at the Fairfax was a pleasant experience. The hotel staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. The concierge took time to help us understand the subway system, and gave us excellent advice on how to plan our itinerary for the museums we wanted to visit. Our room was lovely and had a fabulous view of DuPont Circle. Additionally, the room was meticulously clean, while the beds were extremely comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay. The reasons for our 4 star rating were as follows: the air conditioning unit in the room was rather loud and tended to blow on my face while I was trying to sleep. On our last night's stay, the hotel was running low on water bottles for their guests, which became problematic for me at 4 AM. Neither room service nor the front desk could spare more than one bottle, because they had run out. (I have been told that it is better to use bottled and filtered water when staying in DC.)The brunch breakfast was not worth the price charged for the meal. We were charged $60.00 for slightly runny eggs and sour berries. If you choose this hotel, you won't be disappointed with your stay. However, you may want to open your options for eating out and be sure to have some extra water on hand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Spy Museum was a fun visit. You can choose a spy persona and "become" a spy while visiting the interactive displays. You definitely want to get to visit this museum as its doors open. By the time we left, there was a huge line out the door and wrapped around to the next block!!

Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MountJoy Mom
Mount Joy, PA
Aug 8, 2011

Weekend in DC

Our weekend stay at the Fairfax was a pleasant experience. The hotel staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. The concierge took time to help us understand the subway system, and gave us excellent advice on how to plan our itinerary for the museums we wanted to visit. Our room was lovely and had a fabulous view of DuPont Circle. Additionally, the room was meticulously clean, while the beds were extremely comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay. The reasons for our 4 star rating were as follows: the air conditioning unit in the room was rather loud and tended to blow on my face while I was trying to sleep. On our last night's stay, the hotel was running low on water bottles for their guests, which became problematic for me at 4 AM. Neither room service nor the front desk could spare more than one bottle, because they had run out. (I have been told that it is better to use bottled and filtered water when staying in DC.)The brunch breakfast was not worth the price charged for the meal. We were charged $60.00 for slightly runny eggs and sour berries. If you choose this hotel, you won't be disappointed with your stay. However, you may want to open your options for eating out and be sure to have some extra water on hand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Spy Museum was a fun visit. You can choose a spy persona and "become" a spy while visiting the interactive displays. You definitely want to get to visit this museum as its doors open. By the time we left, there was a huge line out the door and wrapped around to the next block!!

Back to menu Return to top