$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

5 stars
2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., 2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
62 reviews
Fairfax Embassy Row

A quintessential home from home and antidote to modern, boutique hotels. The Fairfax is classically... See full review

  • ColinBJ
  • May 16, 2014
Great location

close to the zoo, national mall isn't far away. great place to stay a nit. See full review

  • rocku
  • Apr 29, 2014
Luxury Washington DC hotel near the White House
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel is a fabulous example of elegance in the heart of the city. The Kennedy Center for Arts and many shopping opportunities are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel has a wide choice of accommodations to suit all tastes and needs, offering many modern conveniences and views of Embassy Row or the National Cathedral. 
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideally situated near attractions, including the White House, National Cathedral and the Kennedy Center
  • Meeting facilities including a 2,600 square-foot ballroom
  • Comfortable rooms with modern amenities such as flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel offers a range of room types, including suites. The superior and deluxe rooms have classic decor and feature original artwork inspired by the local area. The generously sized rooms have high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TVs. Suites offer an added degree of privacy for all guests staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel. There are workstations for business users and each has high-speed Internet access. The Fairfax suite offers stunning views of the National Cathedral and surrounding areas, as well as a marble bathroom with Jacuzzi tub.
Things to Do:
  • The White House (0.5 mi/.8 km)
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old Stone House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km )
  • National Museum of Crime & Punishment (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi

Dining

The Capitol Room
The Capitol Room serves a bountiful breakfast featuring all-American classics.
The Fairfax Grille & Lounge
The Fairfax Grille & Lounge, once solely used as the hotel bar, has been revitalized with an inviting nautical theme that brings guests back in time with a host of historic elements and an array of locally inspired drinks and dishes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louise47
St. Louis, MO
Aug 6, 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer

A beautiful hotel with a friendly staff, clean rooms and easy access to Washington, D.C. We were only there for about 6 hours. We wish we could have stayed there for our entire trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It had everything. Night life, dining access, things to do within walking distance as well as cab service. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JFarrell8256
Business
Blackwood, NJ
May 28, 2012

Great Stay

Went for a weekend getaway and the staff was overly accommodating. Were already planning our next stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ValandJ
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 20, 2012

Weekend getaway

Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Although not the greatest view from our room, it wasnt like we were there much during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NAS12345
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Great Classic Hotel and Excellent Location

The hotel was well kept and in a great location. Management has also done an excellent job restoring the classic interior. However, although I appreciated the classic historical design, it was frustrating that wifi was not provided for in the individual hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cmgrob
Business
Rochester Hills, MI, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Lovely place

This hotel exudes elegance and style. I enjoyed my stay, the staff was polite and helpful. The location was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GW Law Mom
Business
Shelton, CT
Mar 26, 2012

We'll be going back!

We loved the Fairfax - the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, the room was very clean, quiet. and updated. The hotel is situated about 2 blocks from the metro and across the street from the Phillips Art Gallery. A beautiful neighborhood - within easy walking distance of Dupont Circle with great shopping and restaurants. My only disappointment was the breakfast buffet. It consisted of some tired scrambled eggs and bacon and was pricey. However, it wouldn't be difficult to find a nearby restaurant for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Tabard Inn - best brunch ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyler's wife and family
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Perfect hotel

The fairfax at embassy row is the perfect hotel. It is located by several nice resturaunts and many embassy's. I have never in my life stayed at a hotel where the staff was so nice and pleasant. Where it was getting in to the car, walking in the hotel or taking luggage out of the car there was a staff member there to open the door or grab your bags. No doubt I will come back to this hotel next time I am in the Washington dc area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cap'n Rick
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Feb 5, 2012

A night at the Fairfax

I enjoyed a one night get away at the Fairfax. We were looking for simple elegance at a reasonable price and we were not disappointed. Location was convenient and elegant, on Embassy Row. Rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. We caught some snacks and drinks at the lounge, which also provided ambience and comfort that we were looking for. I lovely evening in a lovely venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drmarkflies
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Beds, what happened to the beds?

For most of us, the main hotel room attraction is the bed. Why would we need a hotel but for a place to sleep? The bed was akin to a torture rack... hard and unforgiving. The hotel food was awesome! The staff were clearly trained to be upscale DC subserviants. Wonderful people, doing an excellent job, and oh so surprised that someone would bother to ask how their day was going. Have you seen "The Help"? Reminded me of that. Oh well it's DC, and what would you expect? It's almost, but not quite north of the Mason Dixon line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A good place to dine in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nir.L
Business
ISR
Jan 21, 2012

OK

Nice hotel good location, expensive internet , parking, no breakfest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MountJoy Mom
Business
Mount Joy, PA
Aug 8, 2011

Weekend in DC

Our weekend stay at the Fairfax was a pleasant experience. The hotel staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. The concierge took time to help us understand the subway system, and gave us excellent advice on how to plan our itinerary for the museums we wanted to visit. Our room was lovely and had a fabulous view of DuPont Circle. Additionally, the room was meticulously clean, while the beds were extremely comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay. The reasons for our 4 star rating were as follows: the air conditioning unit in the room was rather loud and tended to blow on my face while I was trying to sleep. On our last night's stay, the hotel was running low on water bottles for their guests, which became problematic for me at 4 AM. Neither room service nor the front desk could spare more than one bottle, because they had run out. (I have been told that it is better to use bottled and filtered water when staying in DC.)The brunch breakfast was not worth the price charged for the meal. We were charged $60.00 for slightly runny eggs and sour berries. If you choose this hotel, you won't be disappointed with your stay. However, you may want to open your options for eating out and be sure to have some extra water on hand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Spy Museum was a fun visit. You can choose a spy persona and "become" a spy while visiting the interactive displays. You definitely want to get to visit this museum as its doors open. By the time we left, there was a huge line out the door and wrapped around to the next block!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top