The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

5 stars
2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
61 reviews
Fairfax Embassy Row

A quintessential home from home and antidote to modern, boutique hotels. The Fairfax is classically... See full review

  • ColinBJ
  • May 16, 2014
Great location

close to the zoo, national mall isn't far away. great place to stay a nit. See full review

  • rocku
  • Apr 29, 2014
Luxury Washington DC hotel near the White House
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel is a fabulous example of elegance in the heart of the city. The Kennedy Center for Arts and many shopping opportunities are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel has a wide choice of accommodations to suit all tastes and needs, offering many modern conveniences and views of Embassy Row or the National Cathedral. 
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Ideally situated near attractions, including the White House, National Cathedral and the Kennedy Center
  • Meeting facilities including a 2,600 square-foot ballroom
  • Comfortable rooms with modern amenities such as flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel offers a range of room types, including suites. The superior and deluxe rooms have classic decor and feature original artwork inspired by the local area. The generously sized rooms have high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TVs. Suites offer an added degree of privacy for all guests staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington DC Hotel. There are workstations for business users and each has high-speed Internet access. The Fairfax suite offers stunning views of the National Cathedral and surrounding areas, as well as a marble bathroom with Jacuzzi tub.
Things to Do:
  • The White House (0.5 mi/.8 km)
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old Stone House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km )
  • National Museum of Crime & Punishment (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. Rooms

Superior
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Hotel Map

38.9104 -77.0471
Area served
Alexandria, Baltimore, Crystal City, Mt Vernon
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 50.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 30.00, MI; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 10.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Sales Guy
Business
Eastern Shore MD
Dec 8, 2010

First Class Service

The Fairfax is located one block from the DuPont Station Metro red line. I arrived at 10 am and they were able to give me a room although check in was not until 3 PM. Also I was greeted on my arrival like I have never been greeted before. I wish I could remember her name but I arrived at 10 AM on Tuesday December 7th – so if any managers are reading this that young lady has set the standard for guests arriving at a hotel. Warm and friendly and really wanting to please their guests. The hotel is clean and modern with an old world feeling. The holiday decorations were beautiful. I stayed on the 3rd floor and found the room exceptional. Very clean, modern and all the amenities including plenty of hot water. I was gone all day on business and returned in the evening. The area was well lit and I felt safe walking the block from the subway to the hotel. I did sample the bar and the staff again was very warm and friendly. I parked my car with the hotel and found the rate in line with other hotels at $38.00 per night. I waited less than 5 minutes for my car to be returned. I have paid a lot more in DC for a hotel than what I paid at the Fairfax – less than $200 for the night. The Fairfax is on my Favorite hotel list in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

TO get to the Metro walk one block east and go North 500 feet. You can't see the Metro from the corner of MASS Ave but the Metro is on the right.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louise47
St. Louis, MO
Aug 6, 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer

A beautiful hotel with a friendly staff, clean rooms and easy access to Washington, D.C. We were only there for about 6 hours. We wish we could have stayed there for our entire trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It had everything. Night life, dining access, things to do within walking distance as well as cab service. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Great hotel

Lovely hotel in a great location; very friendly staff, very comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newyork13
New York
Aug 20, 2012

Fantastic Stay

Had a wonderful and relaxing weekend at the Fairfax! The quality of service was excellent and the hotel was absolutely charming! Will be staying here on my next trip to DC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marathonur
Los Angeles
Jul 5, 2013

Excellent facility for price

Very convenient Dupont location. Room was very clean and staff was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Collingswood, NJ
Oct 3, 2009

Highly Recommended

I stayed at the hotel for one night on business. The hotel was immaculately clean; the room service meal was delicious and not overpriced; and the DuPont Circle location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, Utah
Dec 13, 2009

Fantastic

The Fairfax was warm and comfortable. Location was perfect and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northbrook, IL
Aug 17, 2009

Pleasant, Professional Staff

The staff was very pleasant and friendly, while remaining very professional. This was especially true with their attempts to solve the problem I experienced, as described below. Upon checking in I was given the now typical card to open my door. I could not get it to work, so assistance was provided and the only way to open the door was by using a master key. I then left my "stuff" in the room, got another card and when I returned the door would not open, causing me to once again return downstairs to get another key. I was accompanied back to my room by 2 staff members and they could not get the door open even with a master card. A third staff member came and finally opened the door with another master. At that point I was given another, nicer room. But I did waste more than a few minutes. When I got to the new room, the door was blocked by a house keeping cart, which was quickly moved. Then when I went to make coffee in the morning, there was no fresh pods and a used one in the pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isabel p
Business
new york
Jan 19, 2013

Just what you need

well situated and comfortable. friendly and my room was always tidy when i cam back. i would recommend staying here for work or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j ross s
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jun 6, 2013

solid hotel

really liked the location. close to business and restaurants. had potential issue extending my stay and front desk was able to handle it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top