$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

5 stars
View map of 2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., 2100 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JEisinger
Business
New York
Jun 6, 2013

Nicest DC hotel

I've been looking for a good business DC hotel at a reasonable price for a long time, having been underwhelmed by the Hotel George, the Sofitel, & especially the Helix. This was the best of the bunch. The downside is that it seemed a little out of the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j ross s
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jun 6, 2013

solid hotel

really liked the location. close to business and restaurants. had potential issue extending my stay and front desk was able to handle it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeLe74
Business
Boston, MA
May 13, 2013

Nice hotel

I like the Fairfax and had a nice weekend stay. The room was immaculate, the noise control very good. My only complaint is there was no hot water Sunday morning and the room phone was not working inhouse to call the front desk. The person who cleaned the room did a wonderful job and the location is very nice. I will definitely stay there again since the issues were minor and the hotel itself very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tato V.
Business
Central Illinois
Apr 7, 2013

Great getaway!

I was with my wife and son recently for 3 nights at the Fairfax. The location is great. Out of the way yet accessible by cab, bus, metro and trolley. We are more old world than contemporary so this was perfect for us. We had dinner twice and breakfast once at 2100 Prime which was amazing. We fully enjoyed every dish we ordered. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The concierge answered our questions. We will definitely be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kid with the Golden Arms
Business
East Coast, USA
Mar 25, 2013

Great location. No complaints.

Convenient to Dupont Circle Metro stop. 24-hour CVS nearby for late night water run. Le Pain Quotidien nearby for nice early morning breakfast. Valet parking was $40 but worth it. They were prompt and pleasant. Room was perfectly sized for a one-night stay. Nice fluffy pillows. Soft sheets. No complaints. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheaper eats nearby. No need to stick with hotel offerings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mammamia42
Business
charlottesville, va
Mar 22, 2013

I expected more....

Our king-size bed completely filled our room - there was not much space left for walking. It was so tight that the bathroom door almost hit the closet door. The valet parking was pricey but I expected that. I did not expect to have to pay $12.95 a day for an internet connection. A 5 star hotel should not 'nickel and dime' you - the corner cafe offers a free connection with a cup of coffee!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin19807
Business
Wilmington, Delaware
Feb 17, 2013

Old world service, modern amenities.

We had a very pleasant one night stay at this elegant little hotel a block away from DuPont Circle. The staff has been well-schooled in the old world art of hospitality. They have the balance just right -- genuinely warm but professional, without going overboard and invading your privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isabel p
Business
new york
Jan 19, 2013

Just what you need

well situated and comfortable. friendly and my room was always tidy when i cam back. i would recommend staying here for work or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gay Couple Traveling
Business
Michigan
Dec 31, 2012

Big Disappointment

We had a very bad experience at this hotel which surprised us. We have stayed here before and had a great time. This is the reason why we paid additional money to come back to this hotel. Wanted to experience the same great time as we did on previous trips. Here are the concerns: We reserved a very specific room. Upon check in we were told that our requested room was not available for market for some reason. When I inquired the desk clerk did not know why. I said was it because it is being held for us? She replied that she would just give us another room that would be the same. In the replacement room, the carpet was stained; the bath tub dirty; the room was cold we had to run the heat up to 75 - 79 to keep warm enough. There was so much hallway light that leaked in around the door that it made hard to sleep at night. Had bellman push bell carts into us on the elevator instead of waiting until the elevator was free. The furniture in the room was in poor shape. The chair in the room did not fit the style of the room. Clearly it had been placed from another hotel. It was not even in the style or the year of the hotel. This was a great hotel on previous stays. Not sure if there is a new manager or what but was a huge disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newyork13
Business
New York
Aug 20, 2012

Fantastic Stay

Had a wonderful and relaxing weekend at the Fairfax! The quality of service was excellent and the hotel was absolutely charming! Will be staying here on my next trip to DC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top