The Embassy Row Hotel

3 stars
2015 Massachusetts Avenue, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
200 reviews
girls getaway

Awesome location. Nice staff. Will definitely stay again See full review

  • steph lynn
  • Apr 8, 2014
Great place to stay on Embassy Row

We have traveled to D.C. for several years to see family and need to stay near Dupont Circle.... See full review

  • T'giving visitor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Hotel with rooftop pool on Embassy Row near Dupont Circle

The Embassy Row is a half-block from Dupont Circle in the midst of Embassy Row. Georgetown, the White House, and downtown D.C. are nearby. The Dupont Circle Metro is a half-block away. Guests won't lack entertainment with the neighborhood's restaurants, shops, and attractions, including the Phillips Collection, less than a block away. The seasonal rooftop pool is a great place to lounge during the summer.

Highlights
  • 100 % non-smoking property
  • The seasonal rooftop pool is popular with locals and guests
  • Rooms have views of Embassy Row, tree-lined streets, or the city
  • Children's menu for room service
Location

The Embassy Row Is half a block from Dupont Circle on Embassy Row, near Georgetown, the White House, and downtown D.C.

Rooms

Guests feel comfortable and well cared for at the Embassy Row. The traditionally decorated rooms have work desks, ergonomic chairs and 250-thread count linens. Rooms feature views of Embassy Row, tree-lined streets near Dupont Circle, or the city. Wireless Internet access is available at an added charge. Families with small children can request high chairs, cribs, and playpens, and there is a children's menu for room service. Bath amenities at the Embassy Row are by Crabtree and Evelyn.

Features

Facilities at Embassy Row include an exercise room, a seasonal rooftop pool and business center. Valet parking is available (fees apply).  The hotel is pet friendly (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • The Phillips Collection (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The White House (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Georgetown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The National Mall (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • National Zoo (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • National Cathedral (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Photocopying/fax/printer services
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
  • Meeting rooms
Policies and fees
The hotel charges a daily hotel technology fee of USD $9.95 which includes high-speed Internet access and unlimited local and domestic long-distance calls. This fee will be collected at the front desk at the time of check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Embassy Row Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen room- Serta Pillow Top Bed-In Room Coffee and safe-ihome radio-MP3 player
Deluxe King
Deluxe King Room-Serta Pillow Top Bed-In Room Coffee and safe-ihome radio-MP3 player
Deluxe Two Double Beds
Deluxe 2 Doubles -Serta Pillow Top Bed-In Room Coffee and safe-ihome radio-MP3 player
Superior Queen
Superior Queen-Views of Embassy Row-row houses In room Coffee and safe-ihome radio-MP3 player
Superior King
Superior King-Views of Embassy Row-row houses In room Coffee and safe-ihome radio-MP3 player
Superior Two Doubles
Superior 2 Dbles-View of Embassy Row-row houses In room Coffee and safe-ihome radio-MP3 player

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

38.9104 -77.0456
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 7.00, MI, SE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 33.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.2 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.5 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for The Embassy Row Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Embassy Row Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poindexter2
Business
Portand, OR
Apr 1, 2014

Should be less expensive hotel

The location is great by DuPont Circle with many nearby restaurants. The hotel room itself we felt overcharged significantly. The rooms are very small and dated. Many small problems that could be easily corrected, but management is oblivious. There is no microwave available at the breakfast, so you must eat everything cold. There were never enough spoons so they would bring out tiny teaspoons every day. Ancient enormous poor quality TV (not a flat screen - what does a flat screen HD TV cost these days, $250?? (really outrageous they won't update the TV) The 2 elevators cannot serve the hotel adequately so you have long waits at certain hours. The wifi went out for a long period of time one day. It felt like one of those old small hotels in San Francisco that you expect to pay 1/2 the rate of a modern large hotel, except they charge you the full rate. We felt ripped off. Whatever we asked for, the answer was generally no. No business center, no workout room, no loaned umbrellas, no pool, no to everything you would expect. Weird split level lobby where you have to walk up or down stairs (great fun lugging your luggage up stairs). The staff I have to say was very nice though. They are touting a remodel that will happen in 2015, but this comes off as annoying since we are the suckers paying now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Embassy Row Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristy and luke
Business
Boston mass
Apr 14, 2014

We would never go back

They advertised online a rooftop pool, which when we arrived learned it was under construction until 2015. They did not provide a necessary amenity to life, WATER! When I asked the front desk at check in for water, they simply said sorry no mam... Rooms were very small and didn't have mini refrigerators. My boyfriend and I had a couple if other friends stay on the same night and they were also very disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Embassy Row Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr SF
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 5, 2012

Worst hotel in dc

This place is a wreck. Tear it down. The firstt night I was in a room with a drain pipe and pump adjacent to the room. Then they moved me to a room with mildew and chipped paint on the ceiling. The whole place smelled like an old mildewed smoking hotel. Very disturbing as I needed rest on the short, important trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Embassy Row Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Oct 25, 2012

Unhappy experience

Staff was not that bright. My room phone was not working... it would ring and when I answered it nobody was there. The night manager Ales Rodisiki ( sp? ) told me it was another guest in the hotel ( it wasn't ). Tried to use a pay phone... there was signage for one but no phones! When I asked at the front desk why there was still a sign up for one I got no answer PERIOD. Just was stared at as if I was from Mars. When I asked where the nearest pay phone was I was told "Outside". No, it was two blocks away and in the Metro station where I'd have to pay to enter! ll night I could hear hall noises in my room... people talking or the slamming of doors. I paid a lot of money for a terrible evening... I will NOT use this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Embassy Row Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
juba
Business
New York
Apr 24, 2013

overbooked!

The hotel in itself is comfortable and has all standard amenities. The breakfast was OK but it would be nicer not to eat in paper plates and cups. The reason for this low rating is that the hotel overbooked and one of my colleagues had to be transferred to another hotel, when she arrived late at night. The reservation was paid in full so we found this really strange. At a minimum, the hotel could have had the courtesy to inform us in advance to avoid a detour and my colleague could have gone straight to the other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Embassy Row Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HRBeat
Business
Chicago
May 3, 2013

I you get your information on current events from Fox News, do not come to this hotel.

I was disappointed when I could not find the Fox News channel. This is important for me and probably all people who want unfettered access to the news. I will remember next time a book a hotel to search for ALL except Embassy Row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Embassy Row Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
very disappointed in dc
Business
boca raton, fl
May 13, 2013

Horrible Experience

When we arrived, they had given away our room. they did confirm our reservation and confirmation number, but gave our room away anyway. after a long day of traveling, we were shuffled to another hotel. they told us we were responsible for the fees we would have paid if we had stayed there, and were told we should inconvenience ourselves further, by switching back to their hotel. this was not possible, as we were occupied with business meetings. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Embassy Row Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
May 6, 2011

Horrible experience

When we arrived tired and jet lagged at this hotel the desk staff told us that our room had been given to a "VIP" for the night, despite the fact that we had a confirmed reservation. When I demanded to talk to the manager she said they could put us up in a room in Maryland. That, however, involved another long taxi ride and put us nowhere near where we needed to be the next day. I asked her if it was really the hotel's policy to give a reserved room to another customer just because they judged the other customer to be more important and she said flat out "yes." So unless you are a "VIP" don't count on your reservation to mean anything here. When we finally got our room the next night it was kind of dingy anyway. AVOID.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Embassy Row Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beijing
May 3, 2010

disappointed-unfriendly hoel

Was disappointed with the hotel because I had high expectation of the hotel as it;s part of hilton. Only one bell boy in the hotel, so no one offer to help with the luggage until upon request. There were free internet in every hotel we stayed but not Hilton, so i am quite disappointed too. Hotel staff were generally unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Embassy Row Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joenmontgomery
Business
Alabama
Dec 30, 2013

Horroble Room

We stayed at a much cheaper hotel on the way home. As we walked into the room my partner said, "Well, this is like a castle compared to the room we just left. The television was from the 80s and took up a large portion of the tiny room. The room was extremely hot when we arrived and the air didn't work We had to request that it be fixed. I have never stayed in a hotel that was so dark. With every lamp on we still could not read anything. Thank goodness there was a large window we could open during the day. Of course these windows were covered with curtains that were dry rotted and had large holes! There was no counter in the restroom. The sink was held up by a 2"x4" piece of wood nailed on the wall. The hallways were always cold and as for the doorman, he was rarely seen. The breakfast was unreal. A huge pot of oatmeal and some cold pastries which were just as cold as the dinning room. Parking was ridicules! With tax the cost to park the car which we never used was $41.00 each day. Other rooms that we passed by when the doors were open for cleaning were much larger, flat screen televisions and bathrooms with counters. We truly believe we were given such a horrible room because we used this site to book our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top