$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Dupont Circle Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1500 New Hampshire Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
329 reviews
Awesome place to stay

great location, super friendly staff ( we were traveling with kids), they kept our luggage last day... See full review

  • san diegan 1978
  • Apr 30, 2015
excellent stay

The hotel is delightful, light and modern with grat amenities (an addition of a coffee maker would... See full review

  • Sirpa J.
  • Apr 18, 2015
Dupont Circle hotel offers chic spaces and approachable bistro fare
Downtown style permeates The Dupont Circle Hotel, where a multi-million dollar renovation transformed the hotel from top to bottom. Fresh, vibrant and cosmopolitan, The Dupont Circle Hotel caters to guests in modern rooms and suites, the French-inspired Cafe Dupont, 24-hour concierge services and meeting and event facilities that set the bar very high. European-style boulevards and America's most coveted national landmarks are all within walking distance. The hotel is completely non-smoking.
Highlights
  • Central location close to many attractions, restaurants and shops
  • Chic guest rooms with flat-panel TVs and iPod docking stations
  • 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Superior and deluxe guest rooms at The Dupont Circle Hotel don't skimp on style and comfort -- look for luxury linens, heated bathroom tiles, plantation shutters and ergonomic Eames-style seating. Grand deluxe rooms offer even more space to unwind, while studio suites offer upgraded amenities and exclusive access to the Level 9 lounge.

Dining
Cafe Dupont at The Dupont Circle Hotel draws on French themes to create a specialized menu utilizing fresh, organic produce from neighborhood markets. Enjoy a meal in the stylish dining room or the outdoor patio that showcases Dupont Circle. An original brunch choice is steamed mussels with chorizo cream. Bar Dupont revels in a seductive atmosphere, where the Dupont cosmo is a great starter before indulging in a prosciutto and brie baguette with fries dressed in truffle aioli.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (Across the street)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
Attractions
  • The Phillips Collection (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • National Mall (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Capitol Hill (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center 
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 9,000 square feet of function space
  • Sweeping views at The Heights at Level Nine
Policies and fees
The hotel pet policy only allows dogs 30 pounds and under to stay free of charge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dupont Circle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Dupont Circle Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
Superior Rooms at this luxury Washington Hotel offer clean lines and contemporary style in abundance, as well as a long list of amenities that includes duck down duvets, 300 thread count Lissadell linens, marble bathrooms with heated floors, Aromatherapy Associates bathroom amenities, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, iHome docking station, and a dedicated work area with ergonomic chair. Superior Rooms feature one king or two double beds and include free wireless high speed internet, complimentary water, mini-bar and in-room safes.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Rooms at the Dupont Circle Hotel are high floor rooms offering great views of the city with large windows, subtle, soothing colors, and luxurious Sferra bathrobes. Deluxe Rooms also feature a long list of amenities that includes duck down duvets, 300 thread count Lissadell linens, marble bathrooms with heated floors, Aromatherapy Associates bathroom amenities, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, iHome docking station, and a dedicated work area with ergonomic chair. Superior Rooms feature one king or two double beds and include free wireless high speed internet, complimentary water, mini-bar and in-room safes.
Grand Deluxe Room
Grand Deluxe Rooms are high floor rooms offering a little extra space to stretch out, great views of the city with large windows, subtle, soothing colors, and luxurious Sferra bathrobes. Grand Deluxe Rooms also feature a long list of amenities that includes duck down duvets, 300 thread count Lissadell linens, marble bathrooms with heated floors, Aromatherapy Associates bathroom amenities, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, iHome docking station, and a dedicated work area with ergonomic chair. Superior Rooms feature one king or two double beds and include free wireless high speed internet, complimentary water, mini-bar and in-room safes.
Sturio Suite
Studio Suites are even larger accommodations on Level 9 of the hotel that offer special extra amenities, such as turndown service, bathrobe & slippers, umbrella, early check in or late check out options, and city views. Suite guests have exclusive access to Level 9's lounge area, with complimentary soft drinks. Studio Suites also feature a long list of amenities that includes duck down duvets, 300 thread count Lissadell linens, marble bathrooms with heated floors, Aromatherapy Associates bathroom amenities, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, iHome docking station, and a dedicated work area with ergonomic chair. Superior Rooms feature one king or two double beds and include free wireless high speed internet, complimentary water, mini-bar and fridge, and in-room safes.
Studio Suite with Balcony
Studio Suites with Balcony are spacious accommodations on Level 9 of the hotel that offer special extra amenities, including a seating area, blackout blinds, floor to ceiling windows, heated towel rack, and panoramic views of the surrounding area. Suite guests have exclusive access to Level 9's lounge area, with complimentary soft drinks. Studio Suites also feature a long list of amenities that includes duck down duvets, 300 thread count Lissadell linens, marble bathrooms with heated floors, Aromatherapy Associates bathroom amenities, a 42-inch flat-screen TV, iHome docking station, and a dedicated work area with ergonomic chair. Superior Rooms feature one king or two double beds and include free wireless high speed internet, complimentary water, mini-bar and fridge, and in-room safes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.4 mi

Dining

Cafe & Bar Dupont
In an area with some of the very best restaurants and bars DC has to offer, Cafe & Bar Dupont more than holds its own. The fashionable, minimalist interior showcases a menu of unique French-influenced dishes with a modern twist, along with the legendary weekend brunch. Cooked with rigorously sourced, organic produce from our neighboring farmers market, our dishes take French influences from the city's history and channel them into true contemporary classics. The Dupont Bar buzzes after dark as guests and locals rub shoulders with Washington's hip crowd, all in pursuit of a perfectly mixed cocktail or a fine vintage.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Dupont Circle Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 329
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 6, 2008

the jury is still out

the jurys washington has an awesome location, friendly staff, but this is where it ends. Our room was small and cramped. on top of this they should try investing in double paned glass window, especially as you are on top of dupont circle. the bathroom was the worst, so small and oldfashioned, no sink in it, its in the bedroom, and closine the door requires one to step in the shower first. paint job was shoody in bathroom. however the guest service is grade A and has great amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of restaurants and bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 1, 2008

Hotel should be closed during renovations

This is my third stay at this hotel and upon check in I was told that the hotel was undergoing renovations. The next day I was awoken by jackhammering on the floor above my room. I could hardly hear myself think. I called the front desk and was told that the renovations were actually occurring 2 floors above me and that all the hotel guests could hear it so they could not move me to another room. I was trying to get work done in my room and it was raining outside so I didn't want to venture outside. The person I spoke to told me that the work would ONLY last until 6 p.m. Upon checkout I was told that there were no additional charges and was never asked how my stay was or to come back in the future...believe me I won't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gingerrugger
Business
Hartford, Connecticut
May 5, 2014

Twilight zone?

I had stayed in the hotel a few weeks ago and thought the property was extremely good; clean rooms, hallway and elevators, attentive staff and clean bathroom with the only disappointment my first stay was the overpriced and tasteless omelet. This time, was very different. Evidentally, the hotel books one room for discount users - Room 438. The room looks over the roof but the windows are tastefully covered and usually ok. During this stay, the room was not ready until 3:45pm, there was banging at night on the roof that never stopped, the bathroom garbage had not been emptied and the television did not work - it took three calls to thedesk for someone to come. What happened?? The staff was polite but never really did anything. Was I in the twilght zone? Give this hotel a try but be prepared..you never know whats going to happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many cool restaurants within walking distance. I tried a few and a great bakery next door with inexpensive hearty sandwiches! Great area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gvio
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Nov 20, 2011

convenient location

The hotel was nice overall, however the noise from the street outside made it difficult to get a restful night's sleep. Complimentary wi-fi is a great perk. I'd stay here again if I could reserve a quieter room location in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth's Chris is a classy restaurant with fantastic food and wine. I highly recommend dining here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andi V
Business
MT
Apr 17, 2013

Problem with hotel security

I had a problem the hotel security protocol but the manager was friendly and helped to solve the problem with an effective solution. Location was great, and room was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2008

Weak AC

My first room had the cover off of the AC unit and a box fan on the floor, and was hot. The second room (I switched) was just hot. Not what you want for Dc in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
May 7, 2008

good hotel, interesting experience

I've stayed at this hotel before and loved it! I think I was put on the not yet remodeled and/or budget side this time as the decor, bedding and technology amenities were completely different and just standard hotel fare. Staff is amazing, location is excellent and there's a starbucks right next door. My only real complaint is that there were people picketing the hotel during my stay and they would start at 5pm one day and go for hours with loud speakers, shouting things and then the next day they were back at 7 am with their loud speakers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hillsborough, NC
Aug 5, 2008

good location

Access to metro system, city cabs make it very easy to travel to business, shopping and dining experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sammie Jane
Business
Midwest
Nov 1, 2014

Service has slipped; location remains perfection

This has been my go-to hotel for my business trips to DC. But something was different this time. Starting with check-in, when the desk person could not answer basic questions about the room (which way it faced) to a middle-of-the-night, wrong-room call from the desk about an emergency visit from a physician (which startled me awake and cost me a night's sleep), I could not deny that this hotel was not as sharp as in other recent visits. Even the complimentary bedside eye masks, necessary because the shuttered windows allow in too much light at night, were forgotten -- an oversight by a maid, for each of the three nights I was there. The maid also attempted to enter the room while I was dressing, despite a "do not disturb" signal on the door. The manager was apologetic, and provided a free breakfast. It was a nice gesture, but the missing night's sleep had a bad effect on my visit. The parting shot: a long wait at checkout. I waited 20 minutes as two clerks without obvious haste worked the long line, one by one. Finally, with three people still ahead of me and my taxi to the airport waiting, I handed my key and business card to a bellman, forgetting to tip him in my haste and irritation, and feeling bad about that. Did I mention that I missed a full night's sleep? I still have not seen my final bill, which he said would be send via email. I remain hopeful. This hotel, in walkable distance to every place that matters to me, remains golden for its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami Work Tripper
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 10, 2014

Very Nice Update

I stayed for a one-night work trip, and was very pleased with my room -- contemporary style, comfortable beds, good lighting, but a little small. The public areas are nice, too. Enjoyed the bar and restaurant. I wish there was a spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top