$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Dupont Circle Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1500 New Hampshire Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dupont Circle Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S.F. Native
Couples
San Francisco, California
Apr 16, 2013

Great Hotel

Very good location. We used the hop on hop off and it stopped right around the corner. We also used cabs and an airport shuttle ant they was no waiting for either. We ate at 2 nearby restaurants, one right across the street on 2 of our 3 night stay and the food was quite good. The heated tile floors in the bathroom were super comfy and the king sized bed was very nice. The most enjoyable amenity to this hotel was the complementary full breakfasts that were outstanding and what we most enjoyed in starting our day. We did have a problem with opening our room safe and so did the staff. Multiple trips and time to open it and correct the problem was somewhat frustrating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I'd certainly recommend the Capitol tour as the highlight of my visit to Washington D.C.

Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santitos
Family
México
Apr 3, 2013

Nice family Hotel

The Hotel is nice and in an excelent location. The staff where very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine23
Family
Roseland, New Jersey
Apr 3, 2013

Location is great!

I was slightly nervous about being what looked like a pretty good distance away from the mall and other places of interest. I couldn't have been more wrong. There was a metro stop about a block from the hotel (a five minute walk, if that) which made it convenient to any place we wanted to see- the Mall, Tidal Basin, the Zoo, Smithsonian museums, the White House, Capitol, etc... One suggestion I have is to get the Metro smart trip card and register it the first day you buy it. You get a $3 credit but it takes a day or two to kick in and it saves you from getting charged an extra dollar per trip if you just pay for the daily fare cards. Cesar, the hotel concierge, was great at describing exactly which stops to get off at and offered helpful tips for our excursions. His two restaurant suggestions were exactly what we asked for, were within walking distance from the hotel and were great (The Front Page and a Thai place that started with a P...Pasara?). My husband and I were with our two kids so didn't go to the hotel bar/lounge. But whenever we walked through, it seemed to have a good vibe and lively crowd. There was a cool outdoor patio area that I'd imagine is great in the nicer weather. While the hotel doesn't look overly attractive on the outside, the inside was clean, clearly recently updated and nicely decorated. The room was the same but pretty small, especially for two adults and two small children (a 5 year old and a baby). I opted for the cheapest two double bed room since we were traveling on a budget. There was hardly room to walk and the bathroom had virtually no privacy. I'd probably splurge for the bigger room if you are traveling with more than two people. I called a few days earlier to request a mini fridge which they did have waiting in the room when we arrived. They also supplied a microwave for an additional $25 fee. The parking fee was $32 a day. Overall, DuPont Circle is a cute neighborhood with plenty of restaurants (franchised like Starbucks and Panera, and other non- chains) within walking distance. I felt safe walking around and was glad to be close to so many options for dinner after sightseeing all day. There were plenty of family restaurants and trendy places as well, not to mention the delicious bakery/coffee shop around the corner on the way to the metro stop! We stayed from Saturday to Tuesday. On Saturday night it was a bit noisy in the room from the people in the streets from around 10-2am. Fortunately, my kids are good sleepers. If they were not, that might have been a problem. Great hotel option, especially considering the comparatively low price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

MetroPass Smart Trip

Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother and Grandmother
Family
Selma, AL
Mar 30, 2013

Customer Service Above and Beyond!

Our stay at The DuPont Circle Hotel was from March 23- March 28. My 2 daughters, grandson and I were in one room together and my sister and her husband were in another room. From the bellmen to the conceirge, the staff was helpful and friendly. We ate breakfast in the hotel every morning and had the same waitress each day. On the second day Katia (the waitress) remembered what each person in our party of 6 wanted to drink and any extra we might have requested. The conceirge and front desk personnel answered any questions we asked; their answers given with a smile and a final question back to us.... do you need additional information? Requested directions were accompanied by a map and readily visible landmarks to watch for. Although the room was not the largest, it was certainly clean and comfortable and we didn't stay in the room that much anyway. Even the less than usual private bathroom situation was acceptable by the 4 of us sharing one room. Our early morning check-out (6 a.m.) was smooth and the bellman prompt to pick up our luggage. The cab I had requested the night before was waiting to take us to the airport. All in all a most pleasant stay. The friendly, knowledgeable staff made our stay one we will remember for good reasons and I would certainly return and recommend The DuPont Circle Hotel to one and all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul64
Couples
Bedford, England
Mar 25, 2013

Great Stay

Great Stay in the heart of Washington D.C. Friendly, helpful staff Could do with Tea/Coffee facilities in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lily Susan
Family
New York
Mar 25, 2013

Excellent location, great comfort

Traveling with children and interested in easy access to metro and Washington sites, we could not have been more pleased. We loved the room, staff was friendly, restaurant was awesome for breakfast. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was superb - coloring books and great choices for kids.

Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Man and Wife
Couples
Des Moines, IA
Mar 24, 2013

Okay but wouldn't stay there again

After confirming our reservation in the morning and letting the hotel know we would be arriving late that night, we checked in and were put in the wrong room. We were then given a room that a hotel employee often stays - and smokes - in. After our third trip to the front desk and toting our luggage all over the hotel, we were put in the correct type of room. The front desk clerk tried to make up for that situation with giving us ONE free breakfast and ONE free drink, though there were clearly two of us that were treated poorly that evening. The bed was okay but the bathroom layout was awkward. The only lights for the restroom also illuminated the bedroom, and the door separating the toilet and shower from the rest of the room was just a glass door. Perhaps there are folks out there who don't care about privacy, but my spouse and I don't really enjoy watching and listening to each other use the restroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Wedding
Family
Ithaca, NY
Mar 19, 2013

Great accommodations and staff

The friendly staff gave us a great room with heated bathroom floors and comfy beds away from any noise. The location was perfect -- near the metro with good dining options. The hotel's restaurant served a great Sunday brunch. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
twinkers
Family
wdc
Mar 13, 2013

great family getaway

I really liked the staff and the location. It was a great surprise.I would stay there again.Need to get the room that is a little bigger.They did accomodate us.Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sightseer Soph
Family
Orlando, Florida
Mar 11, 2013

Nice Stay

We enjoyed our time in DC. The hotel was in a great location. We did have some trouble sleeping with all of the honking and traffic noise outside. The room was always clean but we did wake up with terrible allergies and congestion, either from the scent the rooms were cleaned with or the dust. The concierge was always VERY helpful and helped make our trip quite memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel bar was a lot of fun!

Back to menu Return to top