$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

4 stars
1914 Connecticut Ave., Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
69 reviews
Grand hotel

The Churchill Hotel is a grand hotel. It was built in 1906, and features things like marble floors,... See full review

  • Fiat Larry
  • Jul 8, 2014
Overall Experience

This is our second time staying at this hotel. Great location and best staff! Room accomodations... See full review

  • Edlee1
  • Jul 7, 2014
This historic hotel, a member of Historic Hotels of America, has graciously appointed features such as oversized guest rooms and suites, as well as the personalized attention of our professionally trained staff. We offer a prestigious location and outstanding service to meet your business, leisure and meeting needs.

Hotel Map

38.9163 -77.047
Area served
One of our best features at The Churchill Hotel is our central location on Connecticut Avenue, placing Washington DC's most exciting attractions easily within your reach.
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport Dulles International Airport
Area description
Near Dupont Circle, National Mall, Georgetown, Woodley Park, The White House, US Capitol.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle Rooms

Standard King
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 400-500 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior Double Suite
Two double beds with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Deluxe King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspread, two throw pillows, wooden headboard. City or courtyard view. 700 square feet. Queen sofa bed, easy chair, desk, TV. Dining room with dining table and two chairs. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Second TV in bedroom. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Complimentary bottled water.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.3 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.6 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1,800 square feet of versatile meeting space capably accommodates a wide selection of functions.

Dining

Chartwell Grill
Continental inspired cuisine, fresh appealing breakfasts, luncheons and dinners

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 16, 2009

gem on the hill

I stayed at the hotel because it was close to where I gave a lecture. It was easy to find and leaving was easy as well--straight down Connecticut Avenue to 495. The hotel was spotless and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was narrow but this is a refurbished old hotel and some structural problems cannot be overcome. It is at the end of the Dupont Circle shopping and dining area and the Dupont Circle subway stop is close by. We parked the car and walked everywhere feeling safe night and day. You can look at the more expensive Hilton across the street but you won't get better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nisha Marie
Edison, New Jersey
Mar 27, 2013

Washington DC Getaway

I had a great experience at the Churchill Hotel. The staff were curteous and professional. They were patieny in answering my questions. When we enterd the room it was very clean. Our room was cosy; it felt like home. We enjoyed watching shows on our flat screen television and relaxing on our king sized bed. My mother and I ordered room service. Our lunch was spectacular. Our food was sent in a timely manner. While I have many praises for this hotel, I have a few criticisms. The front desk workers were attentive to our nreds when we went to the desk, but it took a long time for them to answer the phone. Also, the heat in our room did not work. The staff accomodate us by sending up a space heater. However, the time spent without heat detracted from our comefort. And while room service was speedy in delivering our food our tray was not picked up until the next day. If you are considering staying here it is a wonderful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Escape Artist
Detroit, MI
May 9, 2014

enhanced DC visit

The hotel itself has some quirks. For example some non-functional ice machines sent me on a floor to floor search for ice. But any issues I encountered did not sour the visit at all. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was clean and spacious. The location of the hotel is perfect for a family or couple. A 20 minute walk will get you to the National Zoo, National Mall & Monuments, and great dining. The area is very safe during the day and night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Mom7
New Jersey
Jun 22, 2014

Great Location

Great location near Dupont Circle, great restaurants and Metro close by. Staff was very friendly and helpful the room was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 9, 2007

large rooms and aging grandeur

Big rooms and elegant surroundings. Good location. Ambiance a littled tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 9, 2007

large rooms and aging grandeur

Big rooms and elegant surroundings. Good location. Ambiance a littled tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biggie Boi
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 8, 2013

The Churchill

This was the 3rd year I've stayed at this hotel. We have a function each year at the Washington Hilton and The Churchill is a convienent location to the Hilton. Rooms are great and staff is every helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charleysmom
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 30, 2013

Terrific location and comfort

Great experience. Loved the location and the staff was terrific. Cleanliness couldn't be beat. Its an old facility so narrow hallways, small elevators, tiny bathrooms, but for me the other qualities far outweighed those minor issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dino dupe
Louisiana, USA
Feb 24, 2014

historic

I don't like corporate so this was a great choice for us. The location is superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boom
Easton, PA
Nov 24, 2009

Excellent Stay

Only two slight issues - 1) I was traveling with my son and ordered a "double or king" room over the internet - when we went they only had king - but that was fine... and 2) They mistakenly put a parking ticket charge on our room but when we went to explain they removed it easy enough... Place was great - nice bar, rooms clean & quiet, staff was excellent, was on the weekend and we found street parking for our 2 cars very easily. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top