$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

4 stars
1914 Connecticut Ave., Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
62 reviews
Churchill Hotel/Embassy Row, Washington, DC

Very nice hotel! Great place to stay, great location. The restaurant was very good. See full review

  • M425
  • Oct 27, 2014
a good stay

staff was courteous and helpful good location near Dupont Circle rooms clean and spacious See full review

  • Dave34
  • Sep 6, 2014
This historic hotel, a member of Historic Hotels of America, has graciously appointed features such as oversized guest rooms and suites, as well as the personalized attention of our professionally trained staff. We offer a prestigious location and outstanding service to meet your business, leisure and meeting needs.

Hotel Map

38.9163 -77.047
Area served
One of our best features at The Churchill Hotel is our central location on Connecticut Avenue, placing Washington DC's most exciting attractions easily within your reach.
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport Dulles International Airport
Area description
Near Dupont Circle, National Mall, Georgetown, Woodley Park, The White House, US Capitol.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle Rooms

Standard King
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 400-500 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior Double Suite
Two double beds with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Deluxe King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspread, two throw pillows, wooden headboard. City or courtyard view. 700 square feet. Queen sofa bed, easy chair, desk, TV. Dining room with dining table and two chairs. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Second TV in bedroom. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Complimentary bottled water.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.3 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Chartwell Grill
Continental inspired cuisine, fresh appealing breakfasts, luncheons and dinners

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1,800 square feet of versatile meeting space capably accommodates a wide selection of functions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NCURAguest
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 8, 2013

Conference Stay

Great value for the location. Accessible to all of the must see/do areas in DC. Staff was very helpful and polite. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Metro Card -- the entire city is accessible via the subway system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ffsf
Business
nashville, tn
Jan 23, 2013

stay for the inauguration

Recent trip for the 2013 Presidential Inauguration which meant the cost of the hotel was outrageous given this was a 4 star hotel I thought it would be somewhat more... when we checked in we were given no explanation of where things (ice, restaurant,vending) were located. No assistance with our bags. The hotel was run down. no safe in the room so to lock up valuables became an ordeal with a safety lock box in the lobby. Location was ok but very far away from sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an amazing Korean Restaurant 3 blocks away called Mandu The best I have ever had

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gayguys with kids
Business
cleveland Ohio
Apr 1, 2013

no place to park

Rooms are fine, but there is no place to park and bell staff and front desk staff are indifferent at best. We ended up parking several blocks away and carrying our luggage to check in. Same issue at check out. Staff says garage is full but could not identify a garage. Location is good and room cost reasoanlbe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bethesda Bagels has great breakfast and lunch options close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bicoastal Denizen
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 20, 2014

Grand Dame a Little Down at the Heels

A beautiful old building, fantastic location and spacious room were big pluses. On the negative side: the most recent renovation was sloppy and apparently long ago. My room had peeling wallpaper and scuffed bathroom tiles, as well as door hinges and hardware that had been painted over. Another off-putting note: a florescent-lit lobby that smelled consistently of fried food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Kramer Books is always bustling and open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheShvazz
Business
Chicago
Nov 20, 2012

Meh

Nice enough hotel for the conference, just a bit on the older side. Room was fine, annoyed that I had to ask to have breakfast removed from my bill twice when it was already included in the room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tgving
Business
nj
Nov 23, 2012

nothing to talk about

It was ok. The reservation was not there. Good that they had availability. They offer only valet parking for a ridiculous $39/ day. Room service was knocking on the door from 8:30 every half an hour because they had no tag "do not disturb". Windows were filthy dirty, pillows and mattress uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ValV
Business
Arlington, VA
Feb 19, 2013

It was nice

We had a very nice Valentine's weekend. The staff was wonderful and very serviciable. There was no parking in which I assume was due to the Valentine's weekend but there are many parking lots around the area. The hotel is nice and the bar area downstairs is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben Xu
Business
Charlottesville,VA
Sep 6, 2013

small room in the corner

I booked it in hurry,call center helped me book it.location is good.buy I have car,I don't care about location that much.the guy in front desk gave me a room in the corner,narrow hall between bed room and restroom.felt so bad and I asked them give me a regular shape room.they changed for me.better then previous one,but still too small,even no desk to put my laptop on.and I have to pay $39 for overnight parking,it's too much for parking in Hotel,but I don't have choise.and no breakfast.......won't come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arobmiller
Business
Wilmington, NC
Dec 16, 2013

Great value!

The only complaints I have are that the pillows were too soft and the hotel needs updating. The staff was exceptionally friendly, and the room was clean. It's an old hotel that creaks and could use some updating, but overall a great purchase!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia pa
Jul 10, 2010

One night

Hotel was nice the room and bed as well.The fan moter on the air conditioner was not installed right and made a lot noise all night with no way to shut it off or control temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SethBee
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 19, 2014

Overnight business trip

I've walked by the Churchill many times over the years, but never stayed there. With pretty much every other hotel in the district booked solid, I reserved a room. The hotel is fine; just fine. The rooms and the lobby need some updating, but it's the lay-out that takes some getting used to. The elevators are located off the lobby, around a blind corner, and down a very narrow (but short) hallway. The elevators are reminiscent of the 1970s. The "free" wifi is incredibly slow (even for downloading emails with attachments), as is the first level of upgrade ($5). I paid an additional $4 ($9 total) to get to a decent speed. If you can get a cheap rate and not looking for a romantic stay, the Churchill will be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top