$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

4 stars
1914 Connecticut Ave., Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
56 reviews
Very comfortable

The hotel was very comfortable, clean, and convenient for my purposes. Staff was always helpful. I... See full review

  • Sheila567
  • Aug 3, 2014
Grand hotel

The Churchill Hotel is a grand hotel. It was built in 1906, and features things like marble floors,... See full review

  • Fiat Larry
  • Jul 8, 2014
This historic hotel, a member of Historic Hotels of America, has graciously appointed features such as oversized guest rooms and suites, as well as the personalized attention of our professionally trained staff. We offer a prestigious location and outstanding service to meet your business, leisure and meeting needs.

Hotel Map

38.9163 -77.047
Area served
One of our best features at The Churchill Hotel is our central location on Connecticut Avenue, placing Washington DC's most exciting attractions easily within your reach.
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport Dulles International Airport
Area description
Near Dupont Circle, National Mall, Georgetown, Woodley Park, The White House, US Capitol.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle Rooms

Standard King
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 400-500 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior Double Suite
Two double beds with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Deluxe King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspread, two throw pillows, wooden headboard. City or courtyard view. 700 square feet. Queen sofa bed, easy chair, desk, TV. Dining room with dining table and two chairs. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Second TV in bedroom. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Complimentary bottled water.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.3 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.6 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.8 mi

Dining

Chartwell Grill
Continental inspired cuisine, fresh appealing breakfasts, luncheons and dinners

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1,800 square feet of versatile meeting space capably accommodates a wide selection of functions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 56
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bermuda Dunes
Aug 10, 2008

My review of Churchill Hotel

The suite was spacious and comfortable. It had coffee-maker, fridge, ironing board and iron. There is Ample table and desk top area and lighting. Wirless internet is available from a thrid party at a reasonable charge. Plenty of storage and hanging space. Bathroom is a little cramped. It is an older hotel, but is very well maintained. Good restaurants within walking distance and close to Metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Zoo is nearby and free but disapponting now (Aug 2008) because of all the restrictions due to renovation.

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 6, 2007

elegance

This was the first time i stayed at the churchill...as soon as i walked in the lobby my breath was taken away...i felt slight akward because it was almost too richy for my taste...but it was beautiful...the only thing i was upset with was parking...valet parked the car and than charge you 25 dollars later...wether this be normal or not im not sure...obviously im not a city girl....but all in all it was a beautiful hotel...and a great stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh
Aug 4, 2009

Very nice experience.

Our stay was brief but enjoyable. Late check in. Held our car while we got ready for dinner. Overall met our (high) expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fiat Larry
Santa Clara, CA
Jul 8, 2014

Grand hotel

The Churchill Hotel is a grand hotel. It was built in 1906, and features things like marble floors, comfy beds, warm comforters and very good air conditioning, all wrapped up in an old-world feel. But don't take the phrase "old world feel" or it's age in a negative way. The Churchill Hotel has been updated and doesn't feel old. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. Just far enough away from DuPont Circle so you don't get all the noise of the area, but it's all there a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great treat, be sure to check out Willie T's Lobster Shack and Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe & Grill.

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edlee1
Houston
Jul 7, 2014

Overall Experience

This is our second time staying at this hotel. Great location and best staff! Room accomodations was great. Room was clean and bellman was superb. Front desk staff was professional, courteous and accomodating especially Kacem and Adrianne. Kacem ckecked on us daily and made our visit even better. We will be back for Thanksgiving and will stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in the Dupont Circle, walking distance to everything-restaurants, shops and Metro Center. Located close to embassy row-Argentina and Bolivia embassy within walking distance.

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dino dupe
Louisiana, USA
Feb 24, 2014

historic

I don't like corporate so this was a great choice for us. The location is superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RE and BJ
New Jersey
Mar 27, 2014

Pleasant business trip in excellent location.

Overall, very nice visit. Property is older but well maintained. Would stay here again. Very friendly and attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle is 1/2 mile walk to restaurants and Metro.

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andyritt
Boston
Apr 21, 2014

d c

Very nice epode and hotel. Location was good and area safe and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anominus
Seattle, WA
May 1, 2014

Kind reception, relatively nice living space, and coffee.

Kacem welcomed my sweetheart and I in and shared some maps with us to get us started on our first visit to D.C. The room was sufficient, with a king bed in a room just a bit larger than a king bed, a bathroom perhaps just larger than a twin, and an entryway. The coffee was replenished quite well every day, and the electrical outlets were in the lamps on both bedside stands. The internet was really slow, but it worked, and is free with the option to upgrade to faster. The Metro station is actually quite a walk away, but I suppose I expected that. It is quite well priced for otherwise being pretty well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast at the in-hotel lounge and restaurant is not that great, and it's expensive. I recommend taking a short walk to any number of great restaurants nearby. Le Pain Quotidien is a great one!

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charleysmom
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 30, 2013

Terrific location and comfort

Great experience. Loved the location and the staff was terrific. Cleanliness couldn't be beat. Its an old facility so narrow hallways, small elevators, tiny bathrooms, but for me the other qualities far outweighed those minor issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search