$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

4 stars
1914 Connecticut Ave., Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
67 reviews
Much better than I expected

This hotel has a classic, elegant feel to it, without being in any way dilapidated or run down. The... See full review

  • Branch Floridian
  • Dec 6, 2014
Churchill Hotel/Embassy Row, Washington, DC

Very nice hotel! Great place to stay, great location. The restaurant was very good. See full review

  • M425
  • Oct 27, 2014
This historic hotel, a member of Historic Hotels of America, has graciously appointed features such as oversized guest rooms and suites, as well as the personalized attention of our professionally trained staff. We offer a prestigious location and outstanding service to meet your business, leisure and meeting needs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle Rooms

Standard King
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 400-500 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior Double Suite
Two double beds with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Deluxe King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspread, two throw pillows, wooden headboard. City or courtyard view. 700 square feet. Queen sofa bed, easy chair, desk, TV. Dining room with dining table and two chairs. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Second TV in bedroom. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Complimentary bottled water.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.3 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1,800 square feet of versatile meeting space capably accommodates a wide selection of functions.

Dining

Chartwell Grill
Continental inspired cuisine, fresh appealing breakfasts, luncheons and dinners

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anominus
Business
Seattle, WA
May 1, 2014

Kind reception, relatively nice living space, and coffee.

Kacem welcomed my sweetheart and I in and shared some maps with us to get us started on our first visit to D.C. The room was sufficient, with a king bed in a room just a bit larger than a king bed, a bathroom perhaps just larger than a twin, and an entryway. The coffee was replenished quite well every day, and the electrical outlets were in the lamps on both bedside stands. The internet was really slow, but it worked, and is free with the option to upgrade to faster. The Metro station is actually quite a walk away, but I suppose I expected that. It is quite well priced for otherwise being pretty well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast at the in-hotel lounge and restaurant is not that great, and it's expensive. I recommend taking a short walk to any number of great restaurants nearby. Le Pain Quotidien is a great one!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New one
Business
Spencer Iowa
Jun 9, 2014

Great Location

Close to great restaurants and Metro that will take you anywhere in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ch84
Business
Arlington, ma
Jun 9, 2014

Great value!

We spent the weekend in one of the Churchill Hotel's king bed rooms. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The layout was somewhat odd (bathroom access is through the closet and the mini bar credenza was in a alcove that blocked it from the rest of the room) but it was still very functional. We were directly across from the elevator so I expected it to be a noisy room, but we honestly never heard a peep from the hallway or elevator. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 9, 2007

large rooms and aging grandeur

Big rooms and elegant surroundings. Good location. Ambiance a littled tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orinda, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Churchill

good time, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 16, 2009

gem on the hill

I stayed at the hotel because it was close to where I gave a lecture. It was easy to find and leaving was easy as well--straight down Connecticut Avenue to 495. The hotel was spotless and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was narrow but this is a refurbished old hotel and some structural problems cannot be overcome. It is at the end of the Dupont Circle shopping and dining area and the Dupont Circle subway stop is close by. We parked the car and walked everywhere feeling safe night and day. You can look at the more expensive Hilton across the street but you won't get better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boom
Business
Easton, PA
Nov 24, 2009

Excellent Stay

Only two slight issues - 1) I was traveling with my son and ordered a "double or king" room over the internet - when we went they only had king - but that was fine... and 2) They mistakenly put a parking ticket charge on our room but when we went to explain they removed it easy enough... Place was great - nice bar, rooms clean & quiet, staff was excellent, was on the weekend and we found street parking for our 2 cars very easily. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megs51
Business
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Jun 2, 2010

Nice Place

This was a nice hotel with mostly friendly staff. It's 4 big uphill blocks from DuPont Circle, feels like way longer with your bags, but is also close to Adams Morgan, which is really nice. It was very clean, with a bathroom that could have been larger. My only real complaint would be the quality of the pillows, and I would have preferred a cushier mattress, but all in all it was very nice and quiet. Can't believe anyone still charges for WiFi though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk up Columbia to Adams-Morgan. You can get good food and beer at Tryst, excellent pie at The Diner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine, DC fan
Business
Poughkeepsie, NY
Dec 6, 2009

Upscale hotel, super location & rates

We were spending a few days in the DuPont Circle area to visit relatives and friends. This location was great and the upscale feel of the Churchill was truly a surprise for the rate we paid! INSTANT access to catching a taxi as well. And, the hotel bar/lounge was a plus for getting a "nightcap".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Escape Artist
Business
Detroit, MI
May 9, 2014

enhanced DC visit

The hotel itself has some quirks. For example some non-functional ice machines sent me on a floor to floor search for ice. But any issues I encountered did not sour the visit at all. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was clean and spacious. The location of the hotel is perfect for a family or couple. A 20 minute walk will get you to the National Zoo, National Mall & Monuments, and great dining. The area is very safe during the day and night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top