$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

4 stars
1914 Connecticut Ave., Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
69 reviews
Grand hotel

The Churchill Hotel is a grand hotel. It was built in 1906, and features things like marble floors,... See full review

  • Fiat Larry
  • Jul 8, 2014
Overall Experience

This is our second time staying at this hotel. Great location and best staff! Room accomodations... See full review

  • Edlee1
  • Jul 7, 2014
This historic hotel, a member of Historic Hotels of America, has graciously appointed features such as oversized guest rooms and suites, as well as the personalized attention of our professionally trained staff. We offer a prestigious location and outstanding service to meet your business, leisure and meeting needs.

Hotel Map

38.9163 -77.047
Area served
One of our best features at The Churchill Hotel is our central location on Connecticut Avenue, placing Washington DC's most exciting attractions easily within your reach.
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport Dulles International Airport
Area description
Near Dupont Circle, National Mall, Georgetown, Woodley Park, The White House, US Capitol.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle Rooms

Standard King
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 400-500 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior Double Suite
Two double beds with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Deluxe King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspread, two throw pillows, wooden headboard. City or courtyard view. 700 square feet. Queen sofa bed, easy chair, desk, TV. Dining room with dining table and two chairs. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Second TV in bedroom. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Complimentary bottled water.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.3 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.6 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1,800 square feet of versatile meeting space capably accommodates a wide selection of functions.

Dining

Chartwell Grill
Continental inspired cuisine, fresh appealing breakfasts, luncheons and dinners

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orinda, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Churchill

good time, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 16, 2009

gem on the hill

I stayed at the hotel because it was close to where I gave a lecture. It was easy to find and leaving was easy as well--straight down Connecticut Avenue to 495. The hotel was spotless and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was narrow but this is a refurbished old hotel and some structural problems cannot be overcome. It is at the end of the Dupont Circle shopping and dining area and the Dupont Circle subway stop is close by. We parked the car and walked everywhere feeling safe night and day. You can look at the more expensive Hilton across the street but you won't get better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orinda, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Churchill

good time, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlantic Beach
Aug 6, 2008

My review of Churchill Hotel

My whole floor (3rd)smelled like an ashtray. My co-workers rooms and floors were fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megan on Business
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 27, 2014

Wonderful overnight stay

I was traveling for business and found a great discount on The Churchill. The staff was very accommodating, particularly during my early arrival. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which was clean and beautiful. There aren't many in-room amenities included in the price and the TV channels were limited; however it didn't causes a problem on our end. We didn't eat at the Grill but the atmosphere seemed nice for a hotel bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine, DC fan
Poughkeepsie, NY
Dec 6, 2009

Upscale hotel, super location & rates

We were spending a few days in the DuPont Circle area to visit relatives and friends. This location was great and the upscale feel of the Churchill was truly a surprise for the rate we paid! INSTANT access to catching a taxi as well. And, the hotel bar/lounge was a plus for getting a "nightcap".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gorgeous louie
New York, New York
Aug 30, 2013

Very classy!!

The employees were very helpful when arrived. The proses of checking in went smooth and quick. Loved the room, only problem was that the wifi was not very powerful. Other than that it was close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CH tech traveler
Business
San Mateo
Jun 24, 2014

Great location not far from Dupont Circle

The hotel was clean and well-staffed plus in a lovely neighborhood. I took a walk in the evening up the street to a large park with great views and some historical aspects. Hotel was convenient if you need to be in the Dupont area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful restaurants in Dupont Circle area.

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J and L MOM
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Jun 25, 2014

Memorable visit

Churchill Hotel is a quaint, well preserved hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. The lobby is a perfect place to relax as is the restaurant area. Complimentary tickets to the Phillips Collection are a bonus! Would definitely stay here again. Leaving my room one morning with an empty water bottle, I was greeted by a chamber maid who offered me a fresh bottle when she noticed that mine was empty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for the complimentary Phillips Collection tickets!

Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ch84
Arlington, ma
Jun 9, 2014

Great value!

We spent the weekend in one of the Churchill Hotel's king bed rooms. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The layout was somewhat odd (bathroom access is through the closet and the mini bar credenza was in a alcove that blocked it from the rest of the room) but it was still very functional. We were directly across from the elevator so I expected it to be a noisy room, but we honestly never heard a peep from the hallway or elevator. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top