$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

4 stars
1914 Connecticut Ave., Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
61 reviews
a good stay

staff was courteous and helpful good location near Dupont Circle rooms clean and spacious See full review

  • Dave34
  • Sep 6, 2014
Very comfortable

The hotel was very comfortable, clean, and convenient for my purposes. Staff was always helpful. I... See full review

  • Sheila567
  • Aug 3, 2014
This historic hotel, a member of Historic Hotels of America, has graciously appointed features such as oversized guest rooms and suites, as well as the personalized attention of our professionally trained staff. We offer a prestigious location and outstanding service to meet your business, leisure and meeting needs.

Hotel Map

38.9163 -77.047
Area served
One of our best features at The Churchill Hotel is our central location on Connecticut Avenue, placing Washington DC's most exciting attractions easily within your reach.
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport Dulles International Airport
Area description
Near Dupont Circle, National Mall, Georgetown, Woodley Park, The White House, US Capitol.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle Rooms

Standard King
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 400-500 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior Double Suite
Two double beds with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Deluxe King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspread, two throw pillows, wooden headboard. City or courtyard view. 700 square feet. Queen sofa bed, easy chair, desk, TV. Dining room with dining table and two chairs. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Second TV in bedroom. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Complimentary bottled water.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.3 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1,800 square feet of versatile meeting space capably accommodates a wide selection of functions.

Dining

Chartwell Grill
Continental inspired cuisine, fresh appealing breakfasts, luncheons and dinners

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fiat Larry
Santa Clara, CA
Jul 8, 2014

Grand hotel

The Churchill Hotel is a grand hotel. It was built in 1906, and features things like marble floors, comfy beds, warm comforters and very good air conditioning, all wrapped up in an old-world feel. But don't take the phrase "old world feel" or it's age in a negative way. The Churchill Hotel has been updated and doesn't feel old. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. Just far enough away from DuPont Circle so you don't get all the noise of the area, but it's all there a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great treat, be sure to check out Willie T's Lobster Shack and Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe & Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charleysmom
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 30, 2013

Terrific location and comfort

Great experience. Loved the location and the staff was terrific. Cleanliness couldn't be beat. Its an old facility so narrow hallways, small elevators, tiny bathrooms, but for me the other qualities far outweighed those minor issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben Xu
Business
Charlottesville,VA
Sep 6, 2013

small room in the corner

I booked it in hurry,call center helped me book it.location is good.buy I have car,I don't care about location that much.the guy in front desk gave me a room in the corner,narrow hall between bed room and restroom.felt so bad and I asked them give me a regular shape room.they changed for me.better then previous one,but still too small,even no desk to put my laptop on.and I have to pay $39 for overnight parking,it's too much for parking in Hotel,but I don't have choise.and no breakfast.......won't come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gorgeous louie
Business
New York, New York
Aug 30, 2013

Very classy!!

The employees were very helpful when arrived. The proses of checking in went smooth and quick. Loved the room, only problem was that the wifi was not very powerful. Other than that it was close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NCURAguest
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 8, 2013

Conference Stay

Great value for the location. Accessible to all of the must see/do areas in DC. Staff was very helpful and polite. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Metro Card -- the entire city is accessible via the subway system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
abka
Business
ct
Jul 25, 2013

Great Hotel

I always had a great experience with Churchill hotel. One of the best hotels in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

legal seafood in chinatown, best seafood in DC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gayguys with kids
Business
cleveland Ohio
Apr 1, 2013

no place to park

Rooms are fine, but there is no place to park and bell staff and front desk staff are indifferent at best. We ended up parking several blocks away and carrying our luggage to check in. Same issue at check out. Staff says garage is full but could not identify a garage. Location is good and room cost reasoanlbe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bethesda Bagels has great breakfast and lunch options close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nisha Marie
Business
Edison, New Jersey
Mar 27, 2013

Washington DC Getaway

I had a great experience at the Churchill Hotel. The staff were curteous and professional. They were patieny in answering my questions. When we enterd the room it was very clean. Our room was cosy; it felt like home. We enjoyed watching shows on our flat screen television and relaxing on our king sized bed. My mother and I ordered room service. Our lunch was spectacular. Our food was sent in a timely manner. While I have many praises for this hotel, I have a few criticisms. The front desk workers were attentive to our nreds when we went to the desk, but it took a long time for them to answer the phone. Also, the heat in our room did not work. The staff accomodate us by sending up a space heater. However, the time spent without heat detracted from our comefort. And while room service was speedy in delivering our food our tray was not picked up until the next day. If you are considering staying here it is a wonderful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ValV
Business
Arlington, VA
Feb 19, 2013

It was nice

We had a very nice Valentine's weekend. The staff was wonderful and very serviciable. There was no parking in which I assume was due to the Valentine's weekend but there are many parking lots around the area. The hotel is nice and the bar area downstairs is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biggie Boi
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 8, 2013

The Churchill

This was the 3rd year I've stayed at this hotel. We have a function each year at the Washington Hilton and The Churchill is a convienent location to the Hilton. Rooms are great and staff is every helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ffsf
Business
nashville, tn
Jan 23, 2013

stay for the inauguration

Recent trip for the 2013 Presidential Inauguration which meant the cost of the hotel was outrageous given this was a 4 star hotel I thought it would be somewhat more... when we checked in we were given no explanation of where things (ice, restaurant,vending) were located. No assistance with our bags. The hotel was run down. no safe in the room so to lock up valuables became an ordeal with a safety lock box in the lobby. Location was ok but very far away from sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an amazing Korean Restaurant 3 blocks away called Mandu The best I have ever had

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top