$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 7, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

4 stars
1914 Connecticut Ave., Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
70 reviews
Fantastic DC Experience

The location was great. Right on the bus line and close to a metro station. It was close and easy... See full review

  • rcox.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Great hotel in the middle of everything

Friendly and profesional staff that went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable. The room was... See full review

  • Ben and Takreem
  • Dec 30, 2014
This historic hotel, a member of Historic Hotels of America, has graciously appointed features such as oversized guest rooms and suites, as well as the personalized attention of our professionally trained staff. We offer a prestigious location and outstanding service to meet your business, leisure and meeting needs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle Rooms

Standard King
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 400-500 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior Double Suite
Two double beds with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Deluxe King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspread, two throw pillows, wooden headboard. City or courtyard view. 700 square feet. Queen sofa bed, easy chair, desk, TV. Dining room with dining table and two chairs. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Second TV in bedroom. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Complimentary bottled water.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.3 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Chartwell Grill
Continental inspired cuisine, fresh appealing breakfasts, luncheons and dinners

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1,800 square feet of versatile meeting space capably accommodates a wide selection of functions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edlee1
Houston
Jul 7, 2014

Overall Experience

This is our second time staying at this hotel. Great location and best staff! Room accomodations was great. Room was clean and bellman was superb. Front desk staff was professional, courteous and accomodating especially Kacem and Adrianne. Kacem ckecked on us daily and made our visit even better. We will be back for Thanksgiving and will stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in the Dupont Circle, walking distance to everything-restaurants, shops and Metro Center. Located close to embassy row-Argentina and Bolivia embassy within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ch84
Business
Arlington, ma
Jun 9, 2014

Great value!

We spent the weekend in one of the Churchill Hotel's king bed rooms. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The layout was somewhat odd (bathroom access is through the closet and the mini bar credenza was in a alcove that blocked it from the rest of the room) but it was still very functional. We were directly across from the elevator so I expected it to be a noisy room, but we honestly never heard a peep from the hallway or elevator. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GabM
Business
Toronto, Ontario
May 12, 2014

Amazing hotel

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to DC. Not only is it beautiful, the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are impeccable, and it is in a great location. I definitely recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Escape Artist
Business
Detroit, MI
May 9, 2014

enhanced DC visit

The hotel itself has some quirks. For example some non-functional ice machines sent me on a floor to floor search for ice. But any issues I encountered did not sour the visit at all. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was clean and spacious. The location of the hotel is perfect for a family or couple. A 20 minute walk will get you to the National Zoo, National Mall & Monuments, and great dining. The area is very safe during the day and night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anominus
Business
Seattle, WA
May 1, 2014

Kind reception, relatively nice living space, and coffee.

Kacem welcomed my sweetheart and I in and shared some maps with us to get us started on our first visit to D.C. The room was sufficient, with a king bed in a room just a bit larger than a king bed, a bathroom perhaps just larger than a twin, and an entryway. The coffee was replenished quite well every day, and the electrical outlets were in the lamps on both bedside stands. The internet was really slow, but it worked, and is free with the option to upgrade to faster. The Metro station is actually quite a walk away, but I suppose I expected that. It is quite well priced for otherwise being pretty well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast at the in-hotel lounge and restaurant is not that great, and it's expensive. I recommend taking a short walk to any number of great restaurants nearby. Le Pain Quotidien is a great one!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gammad
Business
Atlanta
Apr 30, 2014

Easy come, easy go!

This was near my meeting and available on the last minute. Easy booking online and easy check in and out. Room 314 is behind elevator but older building meant little noise from shaft. Had an issue with tub drain but nothing haven't had at other chains. Front desk was helpful. I can stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andyritt
Business
Boston
Apr 21, 2014

d c

Very nice epode and hotel. Location was good and area safe and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RE and BJ
Business
New Jersey
Mar 27, 2014

Pleasant business trip in excellent location.

Overall, very nice visit. Property is older but well maintained. Would stay here again. Very friendly and attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle is 1/2 mile walk to restaurants and Metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dino dupe
Business
Louisiana, USA
Feb 24, 2014

historic

I don't like corporate so this was a great choice for us. The location is superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arobmiller
Business
Wilmington, NC
Dec 16, 2013

Great value!

The only complaints I have are that the pillows were too soft and the hotel needs updating. The staff was exceptionally friendly, and the room was clean. It's an old hotel that creaks and could use some updating, but overall a great purchase!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charleysmom
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 30, 2013

Terrific location and comfort

Great experience. Loved the location and the staff was terrific. Cleanliness couldn't be beat. Its an old facility so narrow hallways, small elevators, tiny bathrooms, but for me the other qualities far outweighed those minor issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top