$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

4 stars
View map of 1914 Connecticut Ave., Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
71 reviews
Fantastic DC Experience

The location was great. Right on the bus line and close to a metro station. It was close and easy... See full review

  • rcox.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Great hotel in the middle of everything

Friendly and profesional staff that went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable. The room was... See full review

  • Ben and Takreem
  • Dec 30, 2014
This historic hotel, a member of Historic Hotels of America, has graciously appointed features such as oversized guest rooms and suites, as well as the personalized attention of our professionally trained staff. We offer a prestigious location and outstanding service to meet your business, leisure and meeting needs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle Rooms

Standard King
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 400-500 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Junior Double Suite
Two double beds with quilted damask bedspreads, two throw pillows, wooden headboards. 550-600 square feet. City view. Desk and chair. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Complimentary bottled water.
Deluxe King Suite
One king bed with quilted damask bedspread, two throw pillows, wooden headboard. City or courtyard view. 700 square feet. Queen sofa bed, easy chair, desk, TV. Dining room with dining table and two chairs. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Second TV in bedroom. Bathroom with shower/tub combination, telephone, marble vanity, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Complimentary bottled water.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.1 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.3 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.7 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1,800 square feet of versatile meeting space capably accommodates a wide selection of functions.

Dining

Chartwell Grill
Continental inspired cuisine, fresh appealing breakfasts, luncheons and dinners

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nisha Marie
Edison, New Jersey
Mar 27, 2013

Washington DC Getaway

I had a great experience at the Churchill Hotel. The staff were curteous and professional. They were patieny in answering my questions. When we enterd the room it was very clean. Our room was cosy; it felt like home. We enjoyed watching shows on our flat screen television and relaxing on our king sized bed. My mother and I ordered room service. Our lunch was spectacular. Our food was sent in a timely manner. While I have many praises for this hotel, I have a few criticisms. The front desk workers were attentive to our nreds when we went to the desk, but it took a long time for them to answer the phone. Also, the heat in our room did not work. The staff accomodate us by sending up a space heater. However, the time spent without heat detracted from our comefort. And while room service was speedy in delivering our food our tray was not picked up until the next day. If you are considering staying here it is a wonderful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kamos
Business
Oregon
Oct 12, 2014

No complaints

My husband and I were working 12 hr days and were always happy to get back to the hotel. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was LARGE, nice furnishings, microwave, coffee maker. Basic internet was free & was adequate for what I needed (email, etc.); had no need to upgrade to a faster connection. Restaurant & bar were pretty empty when we ate there one night. Food was fine, not exceptional. The lobby is small but comfortable. The windows in our room could be opened, which I always appreciate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MISS ACK
Business
SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA
Oct 6, 2014

GREAT HOTEL AND LOCATION

RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF WHERE YOU WANT TO BE. FRIENDLY STAFF. ROOMS AND HOTEL ARE BEAUTIFUL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRJB2014
Business
Jacksonville, fl
Sep 24, 2014

Great Location

We didnt spend too much time in the hotel but great location...we valeted the car which was super convenient although the price was a bit high. The room was pretty average for an older hotel but it was overall a really great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelSuperfan
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2014

Beautiful location

Great location . Amazing staff !!!! Restaurant food was a nice surprise as well . Will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave34
Business
NY
Sep 6, 2014

a good stay

staff was courteous and helpful good location near Dupont Circle rooms clean and spacious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AP New york
Business
Baltimore
Sep 1, 2014

Not great but good enough to stay for a trip to DC

I stayed in the hotel for one night in one of my trips to DC. The hotel is located near Dupont Circle, many restaurants nearby. Can't complain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA elem. teacher
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 7, 2014

Great location, comfy rooms!

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The rooms are clean and large with very comfy beds! It has a small gym and restaurant. I'd stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LREE
Business
Guadalajara, Jalisco, México
Aug 6, 2014

Nice

Nice, excelent location. We could walk from the White House to our hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White house within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sheila567
Business
Bergen County, NJ
Aug 3, 2014

Very comfortable

The hotel was very comfortable, clean, and convenient for my purposes. Staff was always helpful. I was in DC to visit my daughter, who lives in Georgetown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Churchill Hotel Embassy Row / Dupont Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fiat Larry
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Jul 8, 2014

Grand hotel

The Churchill Hotel is a grand hotel. It was built in 1906, and features things like marble floors, comfy beds, warm comforters and very good air conditioning, all wrapped up in an old-world feel. But don't take the phrase "old world feel" or it's age in a negative way. The Churchill Hotel has been updated and doesn't feel old. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. Just far enough away from DuPont Circle so you don't get all the noise of the area, but it's all there a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great treat, be sure to check out Willie T's Lobster Shack and Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe & Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top