$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
853 out of 853
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Tom Tom
Business
Cologne, Germany
May 16, 2013

Would stay again

Room was very big and comfortable. Only downside: Parking with the hotel is very expensive and parking on the street is very difficult during the day on weekdays (2 hour limit everywhere). Location is very convenient if you are there to visit the National Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Digitalangel
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
May 15, 2013

Very nice!

Convenient to most things in D.C., especially the Vietnam Wall and the National Mall which is why we were there. My husbands name was added to the Wall. The room was extremely clean and pleasant, however, we had to walk through two buildings to get to the room. That was a tad inconvenient. Also, restaurant in hotel had extremely limited menu and not open all the time. Beds were very comfortable in fact my partner will probably buy one just like it when he returns home. Overall a very pleasant stay. I did get to ride the subway for the first time in my life. Unless you really like to walk, be prepared to pay public transportation of some type. D.C. is spread out and unless you are active and healthy, walking may be a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to pay for public transportation if you want a really good restaurant at a really good price. Most of the restaurants around our hotel were either pub types or very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RCD713
Business
Show Low Arizona
May 14, 2013

Washinton Stay

The hotel was great. The room was very clean. Beds were very comfortable. The location was perfect, close to monuments. Recommend using the bus tour to see all the sights. You can get off and on at any stop. Save a lot of walking. Also recommend flying into Reagan Airport as it is close to hotel. We had good meals at the hotel. Good food and reasonable prices. We really enjoyed the trip. No problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the bus system to see all the sights before walking. You can get off at many attractions, saving the long walks. There were good places close to hotel to eat. You can also eat in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC tourist for a day
Business
nj
May 10, 2013

DC quickie

Dated an worn decor, ie; bathroom tiles were broken and clearly from the 50's and not in a good way. It was basically clean and functional. Friendly staff. There are 2 buildings, front and back. the one in front smelled ok. the one we stayed in smelled bad maybe like old smoke? NOt sure but it was not a nice smell. Staff was unavailable when we checked in so had to chase around trying to find an alternate check in. The desk person finally showed up and was friendly but not overly helpful. I'd reserved a room with 2 queen beds and ended up with one bedroom with one bed and a living room with a pull out sofa. Parking on site was $$$ at $37.00 plus tax. Location couldn't be better for the DC tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Memorial and george Washington U nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karolka
Business
Warsaw, Poland
May 9, 2013

great starting point for sightseeing

great location, very nice and helpful staff, a bit too long waiting fot the check-in. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGNY
Business
New York, New York
May 8, 2013

Great stay!

The hotel was in a good location for my purposes, and a nice walk as well to several memorials. Staff was friendly enough, though I didn't interact with them much. Size of the room was huge for the price, which was great. A couple stains in some of the furniture/curtains, but sheets and towels seemed clean. I didn't use any of the amenities, but I was aware the that there was a nicely sized gym in the hotel which is always a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrandpaBilly
Business
Washington, D.C.
Apr 18, 2013

Good for family

We went to the hotel with our five year old grandson and we were happy with the size of the room and the kitchenette. The location was excellent, right in the middle of the George Washington University, and the staff was responsive and pleasant..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice little restaurant on site. Prices were reasonable and food was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Justin Traveler
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 4, 2013

State Plaza Hotel

Stayed at the State Plaza Hotel for 3 nights. It was a positive experience. It was clean and the staff was really great. Very friendly and were always willing to help with finding restaurants and activities to do. The rooms were small and average but did have a nice kitchen. For the price we paid it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Founding Farmers restaurant was phenomenal. we ate there three times in three days. If you go to Washington DC you must try this place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SPRG
Business
Midland, Ontario
Apr 3, 2013

Good location but needs updating

This hotel is in a good location for the sights but was not what we expected from the website. While the bedroom was spacious and the beds very comfortable, the suite overall needed an update. The kitchen was not equipped as promised - among other items, there was no microwave. The bathroom was decrepit and had ants coming in (also were some ants in the kitchen). The bathroom floor was dirty when we arrived. We asked that it be cleaned after my son broke a glass in the bathroom and also requested that something be done about the ants. When we got back at the end of the day, neither had been done. We called again and housekeeping cleaned the floor but did nothing about the ants. Also, there were no pressure-balanced faucets in the bathroom so the water pressure and temperature were unreliable from day-to-day and even during a particular shower. One day the shower was cold. While there were some advantages to staying here (mainly the location) we would not stay here again and would not recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel was reasonably priced and the food was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FamilyTraveler50
Business
ManchesterD
Apr 1, 2013

Perfect for a family vacation

The room was spacious, dresser was large but not very sturdy, kitchen provided enough room to eat and cook in, and the bath and dressing area was nice. They provided nice soaps from Bath and Body Works. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows and fresh smelling sheets. I would definitely stay here again. Overall an excellent value in a pricey town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top