$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
770 out of 770
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ontario, CA
Nov 24, 2007

Fantastic Hotel.

The State Plaza in Washington DC was a highlight of our trip tp DC. Very clean and very quaint. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Definitely a great hotel to stay in while you are in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near tourists spots.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Nov 18, 2007

Very comfortable!

The State Plaza Hotel in Washington, DC is a very comfortable hotel. It would be especially great for extended stays,since it is an all suite property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Also, a pharmacy is located on the corner. Great buys, like groceries, to use in your suite.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wondell
Couples
Washington, DC
Nov 3, 2007

Great Location

This hotel has two buildings connected by a walkway. Because I initially arrived at the hotel alone, I had to walk through one building; through an parking lot; and then through another building to reach my hotel room. I had to walk the reverse to leave out of the hotel. This is NOT safe for a woman. Be careful and ask the front desk to place you within the first building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Wilmington, NC
Sep 30, 2007

quaint, spacious and up-to-date

The State Plaza Hotel in DC was a delightful surprise. Our room was very spacious, with a kitchen and eating area; old style decorations and structure, like a dressing area with a vanity table and mirror, but with newer stuff like internet connection at a large desk. Within walking distance to The Mall and GW University.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked to the White House, the Mall, Pennsylvania Avenue. We shopped for food at Trader Joe's, not far from our hotel.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 29, 2007

Very warm, spacious, and inviting

The room was great with a separate kitchen and separate dressing room next to the bath. The staff was very warm, friendly, and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 29, 2007

Horrible Stay

I could not get over how disgusting the room was. Dirty floors, gross furniture, and just a distasteful atmosphere. Everywhere I looked were noticeable signs of wear -- cracked floor tiles, worn wall paper, carpet installed by a 3-year-old. I would not stay at this hotel again for any offered price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 17, 2007

My review of State Plaza Hotel

The location is great. Rooms are very comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All DC attractions are very close to the hotel.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Seattle, WA
Sep 16, 2007

Great Location for GWU

I stayed at this hotel for a quick trip to see my daughter at college. It's got a very convenient location for George Washington University. The room was really a studio with a dressing room outside the bathroom and a kitchen (no microwave, however). It's a little worn around the edges, but I found it to be clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Since the State Plaza is in the GWU neighborhood, that means it's a short walk to most of the monuments (Vietnam, Lincoln, Washington, etc.) and the White House.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New Orleans, LA
Sep 16, 2007

State Plaza

This hotel has a fantastic location for the Price. It between Georgtown and downtown right behind GW University. The price allows anyone to spend a cheap weekend in DC without the commute home or breaking the bank. Surprisingly well kept for the size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown is 2-3 blocks away

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Gulfport, MS
Sep 7, 2007

Smoke Detector Problems

The room size was nice and it was very clean. HOWEVER, the first night our smoke detector started beeping (3 AM) because of a dying back-up battery (it is connected to the hotel's electricity but has a back up battery). No one answered the front desk phone at that time of the morning. It went off 3 more times during the night. We told the front desk the next morning and they assured us it would be fixed. The next night same beeping at 3 AM. AGAIN we called the next morning and they told us it would be taken care of. Amazingly it happened again the next night. We finally removed the battery and bought one at the CVS next door and replaced it ourselves. We also reported a plumbing problem that was never fixed. The CVS/pharmacy next door is by far the best perk of this hotel. It is a 10-15 minute walk through a university campus to the Foggy-Bottom Metro Stop. That's not so bad unless you have been walking around DC all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top