$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
859 out of 859
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
9060
Business
Kentucky
Nov 14, 2013

Washington D C

Had a wonderful time at the State Plaza Hotel in Washington D.C.. The room was very nice and fairly close to some of the attractions. The staff were friendly and very helpful to me. Would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JEG DC
Business
Washington DC
Nov 11, 2013

Great location.

Great location right in Foggy Bottom. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C Sawyer
Business
Clarence, Louisiana
Nov 9, 2013

Staff was extremely helpful. Rooms were exquisite. Location was very good.

Enjoyable, secure, appreciated, and downright courterous. They got it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Grandparents 4
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Oct 20, 2013

Great Location!

This hotel was in easy walking distance to the Vietnam Wall, Lincoln Memorial, Korean War Memorial, World War II Memorial, Washington Monument, the Mall, the White House, Lafayette Park, and many other points of interest. The rooms were very clean. The kitchen was a separate room and very useable. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Azhun
Business
the US
Oct 9, 2013

Nice hotel

My friend and I had a really good time in DC. The hotel was perfect, with a small but fancy bathroom(which was great!) and a kitchen! The bed is comfortable, and the pillow is soft. The only thing had bothered me a little was because that we can hear noise from the street or other customers in the hallway. But not too much, which wont bother your sleep. Overall good hotel. Good location, near GW University and bus stop, two or three blocks to the subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To bus stops and subway station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steven New Travelor
Business
Phoenix
Sep 23, 2013

Great location and very comfortable suite

We were very impressed with the newly renovated suite and enjoyed our 3 night stay. The staff were friendly and accommodating of our every request. The room was beautiful and very large. It was a 15 minute walk to the White House and downtown DC. A perfect place to stay. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Washington DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk just a few short blocks to downtown and enjoy the sights at your leisure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bggb
Business
Newport News, VA
Sep 23, 2013

Museum trip

Price and location were great. Rooms were old and ordinary, but well kept. Parking was available, but for a stiff fee (which was not mentioned on their website, but included in their amenities list).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Start museum and monument viewing as early as possible. Skip the museums in the afternoon and plan outside activities then.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
honnie
Business
buffalo,ny
Sep 22, 2013

getaway

The location was perfect. Room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter D Intrepid Traveler
Business
NYC, NY
Sep 20, 2013

Had some doubts, but...

this is the first review I've ever written. After reading all the reviews i had some doubts about the hotel but decided to book a room anyway. We were not disappointed, so I felt I had to write. Arrived to check in at about 3:30 and we were told that our room was still being cleaned. The staff were extremely apologetic and after about a 10 minute wait we were told that they found another room, renovated no less. The bedroom was huge! Room for 2 Queen sized beds, a bureau and a desk with a lot of room to spare. The kitchenette (which was the deciding factor) had a small seating area and was stocked with pots, pans, flatware and glassware. There was a coffee maker,toaster, gas range, microwave and a full size refrigerator. They actually sent up another microwave and set of pans (which we sent back). It was perfect for eating in when we wanted. By the way, did I mention clean? We're both in the hospitality business so we tend to be a little over critical at times. There was a decent sized changing room and a full bathroom with a sink and shower head that my wife fell in love with (Home Depot, here I come). The staff was extremely courteous, always smiling and in good spirits. Even the workers doing the renovations were very friendly. They were also very quiet working in the rooms directly below us. The location was great. I had my doubts about being on a college campus but it was peaceful, quiet (for a campus) and clean. Places to eat nearby and grocery shopping as well. There were always people around but it never felt crowded. And just a short walk to the mall. Is it a "5 Star" hotel? No, I knew that when I booked it, but it still was way above our expectations. Would we recommend it to a friend? We already have and we plan on staying there again the next time we go to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS, Whole Foods, sandwich shop & liquor store right in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Masoud D
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 5, 2013

Very close to everything, good staff, clean hotel

I spent 2 night in the hotel with my wife. The hotel is quite old, but they have renovated it and you can enjoy its all good points like cleanliness. The most important thing is that it is 10 min walk distance to the white house! I had an issue with the staff and they resolved it very well. The parking charge was announced incorrectly for me and when I arrived, I told them that sb has given me wrong info when I called the hotel and asked for the parking fee. After 1 hour, they brought a nice excuse letter and also did not charge me for 1 night of parking. I liked their attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top