$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
1,364 reviews
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
State Plaza Hotel - Location Location Location

For US Dept. of State the location does not get any better. Staff was great! Friendly and helpful.... See full review

  • DC Business
  • May 13, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The F Street Bistro is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful décor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1364)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 1364
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Dec 18, 2009

Don't stay

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Beginning at 9am someone kept OPENING our door every half hour until we checked out 1pm, even though we locked it. Do not stay here. EVER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Dec 18, 2009

Don't stay

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Beginning at 9am someone kept OPENING our door every half hour until we checked out 1pm, even though we locked it. Do not stay here. EVER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Magichanzz
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2009

Substandard

The kitchenette had 3 forks, 5 knives and no spoons. there were no paper towels or wash clothes, no tea kettle, etc. You can call down for all those things but they don't pay attention to what you ask for and the people who work there can barely speak english and brought us up the wrong things every single time we requested things. We stopped letting the maid in on the 2nd day because she threw out food that was sealed in zip lock bags and was on the table- clearly things that were not trash. We were on the 3rd floor off the alley and because the air conditioning was blowing out warm air we had to have our windows open all the time - it was very noisy. Even with the windows closed the noise inside the hotel was too loud. I think this used to be apartments or something- the walls are paper thin; you can hear everyone and everything. They don't sell tours like the other hotels, but they have a computer room where you can do it yourself. They also don't have laundry facilities and there isn't a laundry mat in the vicinity, if there was they didn't know about it. They don't have breakfast, the F Street Bistro is terrible and the hotel doesn't have a concierge. Its 6 blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro, next time we will stay somewhere closer to the Capitol or a Metro stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Magichanzz
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2009

Substandard

The kitchenette had 3 forks, 5 knives and no spoons. there were no paper towels or wash clothes, no tea kettle, etc. You can call down for all those things but they don't pay attention to what you ask for and the people who work there can barely speak english and brought us up the wrong things every single time we requested things. We stopped letting the maid in on the 2nd day because she threw out food that was sealed in zip lock bags and was on the table- clearly things that were not trash. We were on the 3rd floor off the alley and because the air conditioning was blowing out warm air we had to have our windows open all the time - it was very noisy. Even with the windows closed the noise inside the hotel was too loud. I think this used to be apartments or something- the walls are paper thin; you can hear everyone and everything. They don't sell tours like the other hotels, but they have a computer room where you can do it yourself. They also don't have laundry facilities and there isn't a laundry mat in the vicinity, if there was they didn't know about it. They don't have breakfast, the F Street Bistro is terrible and the hotel doesn't have a concierge. Its 6 blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro, next time we will stay somewhere closer to the Capitol or a Metro stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carrotsofyore
Kansas City, KS
Apr 19, 2010

good deal, good location, okay service

The room wasn't ready even though we called, checked in, etc multiple times. Eventually they gave us a bigger room because the one we reserved wasn't available. Super crowded with students. Made service slow. some employees were nice, but for the most part the staff was uncaring and unfriendly. All being said, the location was great and the price was right. The room was large, nice, & clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NOstradamous
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 14, 2010

It was ok

They have a separate bill for parking, which was about $36 with tax included. Had I known there would a be charge for parking I would've picked a different hotel for a higher price that included parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
esylvie
Chicago, IL
Apr 19, 2010

Great location!

Good deal for the price: great location, spacious rooms, clean (not spotless), restaurant on site, good service, no particularly memorable ambiance. I would recommend the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
QnzDiva14
New York, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Just OK

The State Plaza Hotel is an old hotel that needs to be updated. The drains in the bathroom were slow and the toilet ran; I had to jiggle the handle to get it to stop. The location was great, it was walking distance from several restaurants in Foggy Bottom and the Metro. I had an overall satisfactory stay, but I have stayed in better, more modern hotels before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nashville, tn.
Sep 1, 2009

location good

very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liz annoyed
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 25, 2012

Average stay.

Overall my experience @ the State Plaza Hotel was average. The staff was polite, but they could have been more informative on public transportation. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom lights were too hot and no ventilation in the bathroom, not sure if they are all the same. I guess if it was winter it would not have been a problem but we were in 100 degree weather and as soon as I came out of the shower I felt that heat from the lights. One of my major complaints is the internet service! It was sooooo slow. I think my dial up connection from the 90's was faster than this hotel's. It was useful for basic email, but that was it. :( wifi connection is slow so be prepared!!! It would have been nice if they served continental breakfast at least like most hotels but it was not a deal breaker. The proximity to attractions was not too bad on foot it was about 6-7 blocks. On average we walked 6-7 miles a day going from one place to another. The metro station is in close proximity as well to get to farther destinations. It is a little tricky @ first to figure out the right pricing and location but everyone is helpful in D.C so don't be afraid to ask for directions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

chinatown/gallery place area has a lot of different eateries. pizza, peruvian, brazilian, mexican,italian and of course chinese. wok n roll was pretty good(chinese/japanese). The basic eateries everywhere you go are pizza and sub places.

Back to menu Return to top