$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
852 reviews
weekend getaway

came to dc to visit my brother who lives on-campus at gw. was pleasantly surprised to walk into a... See full review

  • Aarika S.
  • Feb 24, 2015
Across the street from GWU dorms

Clean and convenient- across the street from the George Washington University dormitories. Large... See full review

  • Sandy from Va
  • Jan 14, 2015
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
Starting 01 January 2015, valet parking with in/out privileges will be $34 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.
Deluxe King
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe King guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe 2 Queen
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe 2 Queen guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature two queen beds and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe Plaza Suites
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe Plaza Suites at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and one sofa bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (852)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 852
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Texas
Sep 7, 2010

Modern? Not quite!

Don't expect any bells and whistles. Very plain and outdated decor. My finace and I can usually stay anywhere and make due with what we get but not with this hotel. It close to the university, that's it. When we arrived there were two front door guys standing in the reception area, neither made the effort to get the door or help with the luggage. The receptionist was not welcoming and we could even get a hello. The hallways are narrow and depressing, reminded me of a dorm hall. The kitchen (which we didn't ask for) was outdated and the kitchen table looked like it would fall it you sat anything on it. As soon as we checked in, we were on the phone getting another hotel ASAP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Englander
Apr 12, 2011

Worst Hotel Ever - and we are not picky

DO NOT STAY AT THE STATE PLAZA HOTEL! Rude manager - talks down to us and other guests that had issues with rooms Really for over $200 a night air conditioning in the building can not be controlled via the room - the hotel is so old and not classy you die of heat in the rooms even though you think you have a thrermostat - the managers solution is to provide a box fan in the window that does not open past 2 inches... They sent an "engineer" to check our ac he told us he can show us how to work the thermostat or show us how to open the window- really who can't do that themselves? But norther what he did a/c would not work as it was not on in the building The hotel is not handicap friendly stairs to get to elevators Slowest elevators EVER! The rooms look like the 70's and have not been updated If you don't take my Advise you will wish you did!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Save time by not staying here!!! You will thank me

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Deland
Jun 9, 2008

No A/C

The worst Hotel I have stayed at in the last 20 years. First you had to park in on building, drag you luggage thru the basement to the other building. Told they had no bellman on at that time. The room had no micro/w, the carpet was dirty and needed to be repulled as it had rolls in it. I trip on these several times, again bad back)The A/C barely worked the first night.They had no ice and had to make several calls to finally get ice. I was told I could use the ice trays in the room but they had not been refilled. So I got the privilege of tipping the persom who delivered the ice.As I stated earlier- no Micro/w- and in that type of setting it is the one thing you use the most. And ever time we had to go to the car we had to thake te elavator to the 1st Floor walk across the building ( about1/2 block) take another elavator down to the car. The second day was worst. We get back after a long hot day of sightseeing to find the A/C is not working at all. We pack up everything and started to leave. Just before we reach our car the Manager came up and said he had a room that the A/C was working. Since it was so late and we had such a bad day we took it. My wife went to get the key and the desk clerk was made because he had just rented that room. Did not care about the ones already check-in. This new room was much nicer and it had a micro/w.Ther was more but I hate to type, but you get the idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wfelt001
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 14, 2010

BAD Hotel!!!!

Hotel is very old and very outdated. All the rooms were around 90 degrees, and they do not have a/c, they will provide a small worthless fan though. Also the hotel fees for parking, and $75 of other unknown fees added up to more than the cost of the room for two nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Boiler_Up
Business
Warsaw, IN
Mar 28, 2010

Very outdated

The location of the hotel is nice. We walked every day, and it was good that hotel was near.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There's almost no dining option around the hotel. The first night we arrived we went to bed without dinner because there was no place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DTTW
Business
California, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Nice to have a kitchen

Pros: quick walk to national mall and white house, easy access to metro and bus, cvs pharmacy next door (good for quick snacks), free wireless Internet, clean room, and kitchenette in room. Cons: rude hotel staff, dated decor, few dining options in immediate vicinity, many homeless in area, parking is limited (except on weekends), in room microwave by request only, hotel parking costs $28/day, shower temperature is tempormental Overall this place is nothing to brag about. I probably will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Founding Farmers has great food at great prices, but make a reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
She fits
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Great location! Very clean.

The hot water was a constant problem, we stayed there for 5 nights and we had a problem daily. We also did not have any heat, they said late March you should not need heat, but the temperatures at night were between 30-40 degrees so it was cold! Other than that the location and cleanliness was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ardeidae
Business
Oregon, USA
Jan 15, 2013

Month in DC

We spent a month in Washington DC, seeing the sites and using the hotel as a base of operations. Its located close to the Metro and a few places to eat. The hotel is old, needs to have the rest rooms updated (urine smell). The staff is amazing they work hard and provide excellent service. On site resturant is ok, nothing special, food quality can be random. The room is advertised as having a kitchen, but you must ask for a microwave, there is limited dishes and nothing to cook with. Would not recommend if you expect to use the kitchen. Overall not somewhere I would recommend staying beyond two days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anela
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 9, 2010

There are better places to stay

The staff was pleasant and helpful. It was just too far from shopping, dining areas and metro. I've experienced better in Crystal city, where breakfast was included and metro only a block away. Why have a kitchen if unable to buy milk, eggs, and fixings for sandwiches? only one pot to cook in. 2 stove burners did not work. should supply dish soap, salt/pepper, wash sponge and cooking oil. A frying pan would have helped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yohan
Business
Florida
Aug 31, 2009

Hotel Rating

The interior was extremely plain painted in white color with almost no decoration. In addition, it did not smell good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk to the main attractions or use the subway, which is about 6 blocks away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top