$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
853 out of 853
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotmama
Business
Harlingen, TX, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Comfortable Room

We enjoyed having the kitchen and the separate dressing area. The halls look like a dorm, but the room is comfortable. The location is great.It is walking distance to the Mall. The hotel compensated us with a breakfast for the mid night fire alarm and drill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab when it is 2 to 3 miles and you are short on time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatieC
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Feb 15, 2012

It Was Okay..

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and overall it was just ok. I'm not a snob by any means, but there were a few things that needed some attention. First of all, we were in D.C. while it was pretty cold out, and yes, heat is great. However, after being in your room for an hour or so, having your AC off or the heat on, you tend to get pretty warm. Well, our AC was not working; it only blew out heat. So we were a little uncomfortable. There was a slight odor in the hallways of the hotel, but thankfully it didn't carry over into the room. It was about a 10 minute walk to the White House, which was really cool. CVS was literally 10-15 feet away from the hotel, so that was really convenient. The room itself was very spacious and had a kitchen attached. The staff was really nice. Upon arrival, a gentleman at the desk showed us a map and pointed out some of the more popular attractions of D.C. We were also able to get a later check out with no charge, which was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House was about a 10 minute walk. The monument was also pretty close by. Restaurants were also around 5-10 minutes. CVS was literally right next door and a Starbucks and Subway were really close as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
My Babette
Business
Cambridge, MA, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Just what we needed

Two grandparents, 4 children ages 6, 7, 7 (twins) and 11. We requested and got, adjacent rooms. The little kitchens were a lifesaver: breakfast at our own pace in the morning; no restaurant hassles at night; and most of all, a real money-saver. A short walk to Foggy Bottom Metro; a medium walk to Washington Monument, Smithsonians, other museums. Rooms nicely sized; bathrooms and kitchens clean. Not luxurious but oh-so-practical. Worked out perfectly for us. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods Market, right by Foggy Bottom Metro stop, became our go-to destination: Two-for-one pizza on Tuesday nights, fresh fruits and vegetables, delicious hot bar and salad bar. Efficient ordering and check out, as well, especially for a popular, often crowded, spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tbonereal
Business
vb
Apr 11, 2012

parking tax

not bad, need to clean the bath cracks, increase the elevator speeds, nice kitchenet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

get help

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lea4
Business
Louisville, KY
Apr 15, 2012

great location

Easy to walk anywhere in the DC Mall area with older children. The hotel is older like many others in DC but well kept. Parking definitely not easy but the staff was helpful and directions to a nearby lot when theirs was full on arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely take the 6 block walk to Founding Farmers for dinner. Excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Likes to travel from home
Business
Gulf Coast
May 8, 2012

Same review as others

Great location. Older hotel but, nice good value..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Upscale grocery short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gyorko Travelers
Business
Inwood, WV
Jul 6, 2012

July 4th

My husband and I decided to stay at the State Plaza Hotel over Independence Day 2012. The hotel was in a GREAT location for that. We were able to walk to the national mall to see the fireworks. When we arrived, we were told that all the parking spaces were taken, and that we would probably need to park at a nearby garage. However, they were able to find spot for it, so we did not end up having to do that. Be prepared that their parking is scarce. The room was a suite (its an all suite hotel), and pretty ordinary. We had a room with 2 queen beds, a kitchen, bathroom, closet, and small powder room. The room needed some updating - the cabinets, tile in the bathroom, carpeting, etc. It did have a refrigerator, not full size, but not a mini-fridge, which was nice. There is a restaurant located downstairs, which was good, but a bit pricey. The staff was extremely helpful, especially with directions. Overall it was pretty ordinary, but sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It is between 0.5 to 1 mile from the Smithsonian/National Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liz annoyed
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 25, 2012

Average stay.

Overall my experience @ the State Plaza Hotel was average. The staff was polite, but they could have been more informative on public transportation. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom lights were too hot and no ventilation in the bathroom, not sure if they are all the same. I guess if it was winter it would not have been a problem but we were in 100 degree weather and as soon as I came out of the shower I felt that heat from the lights. One of my major complaints is the internet service! It was sooooo slow. I think my dial up connection from the 90's was faster than this hotel's. It was useful for basic email, but that was it. :( wifi connection is slow so be prepared!!! It would have been nice if they served continental breakfast at least like most hotels but it was not a deal breaker. The proximity to attractions was not too bad on foot it was about 6-7 blocks. On average we walked 6-7 miles a day going from one place to another. The metro station is in close proximity as well to get to farther destinations. It is a little tricky @ first to figure out the right pricing and location but everyone is helpful in D.C so don't be afraid to ask for directions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

chinatown/gallery place area has a lot of different eateries. pizza, peruvian, brazilian, mexican,italian and of course chinese. wok n roll was pretty good(chinese/japanese). The basic eateries everywhere you go are pizza and sub places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Petetedjohn
Business
Waterford, CT
Aug 6, 2012

DC Getaway

I was quite pleased with the hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The only item that was missing was a microwave oven. Still I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Veronika AKA Ms V
Business
Temecula California
Jun 25, 2012

Washington DC Sight Seing

The hotel was older but well kept and withing its rating. It is ideal for a family vacation with a tight budget since it has a workable kitchen. The location is great and in walking distance of many major tourist attractions within Washington DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top