$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
853 out of 853
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
May 14, 2010

Great location for families!!

We spent time around the monuments, the mall area and the museums. All were withing walking distance which was nice. Also, the hotel is on the cusp of George Washington University and walking to local restaurants in the evening felt safe to us as it was a university setting with university police around.We had mixed helpfulness from the staff. Checking in and valet service was friendly and wonderful. Cleaning of the room was wonderful. But a microwave was advertised and there wasn't one in the kitchen. We called and asked for one, was promised one and it didn't come. The kids didn't get popcorn that night. However, a second call was responded to the next day. We cooked breakfast in the room but the silverware was lacking and had to eat our breakfast with spoons. We could not get internet in the room to work. A service call was requested but there was no follow up. We used the service in the community PC room so it was okay but a bit disappointing. Again, inconsistence staff. Ranged from wonderful to terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take cabs. Leave your car parked. There is little parking around the major attractions and not worth taking your car out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tariqo
Business
miami, fl
Jan 14, 2011

good hotel location .. expensive flight

VERY kind staff and welcoming.. bathroom was a little unfuctional but the rest was perfect. I would definetely choose it again for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lubis
Business
[@] Bellevue, WA 98007
Feb 17, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Very comfortable location and I enjoyed free wi-fi internet...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Washington's national mall and White House...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New York
May 1, 2011

impulsive weekend getaway

The hotel was surprisingly good for the price. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was really accommodating and bigger than expected with a full kitchen. If your looking for a great view this may not be the best place for it. Can't get much better for the price. One warning, check your washcloths! One of mine had pubic hairs on it. Disgusting!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a 24hr CVS RIGHT NEXT DOOR!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roberta s
Business
Minnesota, USA
Oct 14, 2011

close to the University

If you want to be close to George Washington, it is a great location but for conferences too far away from convention center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike A
Business
Georgetown, Guyana
Oct 12, 2011

Fair Comfort

Very comfortable and conveniently located. High speed internet not speedy at all. Average at most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dev1n
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Meh

As alumni of GW, my wife and I wanted to stay close to campus for old times' sake and the location is great for that as well as seeing the monuments (we had a friend with us who had never been to DC before so it was a good starting point to show them around). However, this place felt more like a dorm than a hotel. This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation! If the location isn't ideal for you then I suggest you stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ray's HeII Burger (Arlington) - best burger you will ever eat. Obelisk (Dupont Circle)- heard great things but was unimpressed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fleet feet
Business
Charleston, SC, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Great location

Walkable to area attractions. Metro stop close by. Wholefoods 3 blocks away. Hotel has 2 entrances which is confusing ..Prefer the F street entrance and tower for safety and convienence. Staff very nice. Room is confortable and clean. Could use new carpet and drapes. Bathroom is 1940-50's vintage looking but spotless as is the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RIS restaurant on L and 23rd ...great food and hot spot. Has an early and late dining menu at bar that is a good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanceyP
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Good overall, some annoyances

Good overall, but the room was a little bare (though large, with a nice kitchen and sitting room), and the internet went out for a whole day with no apologies. Also, there isn't any WiFi, just a cable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2Tourists
Business
Salem, OR, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Comfortable suite room

We would give this hotel a four or five star rating if a few things were improved. The internet service was spotty and was ethernet rather than WiFi, so you could not be away from the desk. They advertised a fully stocked kitchen. There was one pot, no plates, no oven, no dishwashing items and minimal utensils. We were supplied with a few things when we asked, but we had to buy a knife, a cutting board and a few other things. We planned to stay 2 weeks because we could cook, so we were disappointed. We loved the suite idea and the cleaning staff did a great job. The bed was really comfortable and it was relatively quiet. Great location in a nice area about 5 blocks from the metro and almost right on the Capitol Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top