$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
767 out of 767
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Landon
Business
CA
Aug 25, 2011

Price & Location was good, at least

The hotel is in a great location. The hotel is older and our room with a kitchen was quite dated and did not look very clean. The kitchen had a refrigerator and stove but we had to ask for a microwave to be delivered to the room. There were very few dishes and pans so we relied on the microwave. If the rooms were more updated and clean, the place would be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jan 17, 2010

just ok

It was old but ok.No were too eat at the hotel it was closed would of been nice too know.Had too call down to get towel one time toilet paper on a a day they cleaned the room.Were no nice when i called down for some.Room was bigger then some we have stayed in so the size was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
djm41534
Business
Tucson AZ
Jan 30, 2010

Good Location but that's it!

My family and I took a trip to D.C. to visit the memorials with my parents. I thought my wife, son, and I were going to be staying in a suite for privacy reasons. The State Plaza Hotel's version of a suite was two beds in the same room and a kitchen that looked like it belonged in a 1970's college dorm. Mismatched furniture and very outdated appliances. I think most people reserving a suite expect a separate living area with a pullout sofa not an ugly kitchen with cheap vinyl flooring and a useless powder room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, NE
Mar 28, 2010

State Plaza Hotel

I enjoyed the room, as it was very clean and the staff were nice. I was excited to see that there was a kitchen, but disappointed to find that it was not stock with a cutting, dish towels, soap, or an oven. I am used to staying at the Virginian Suites which provides all of these items. However, the location of the State Plaza hotel was ideal. I would just ask that a cutting knife and kitchen towels/dish soap be provided and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deserving the Best
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 6, 2011

Not Bad

[...]promissed suite on first floor with 2 beds. They claimed they were unaware of that request. So they gave us the wrong room at first. We had to repack to move for second night. As well, first room had very bad odor. No pots in kitchen. Bathroom had no vents. Maid entered 2 - 3 times uninvited. First receptionist was very imporsonal and impatient, almost as if she didn't want to serve us.However exterior of hotel was beautiful. Other than odor of first room, everything appeared clean, orderly and comfortable. Remainder of staff we encountered were kind and considerate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Apr 9, 2008

My review of State Plaza Hotel

the heat did not work in the hotel, several guests were very upset at check in, with the heater not working and the cleaniness of the rooms. Great location, nice kichten, but it was warm very night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

white house, war memorials

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gulfport, MS
Sep 7, 2007

Smoke Detector Problems

The room size was nice and it was very clean. HOWEVER, the first night our smoke detector started beeping (3 AM) because of a dying back-up battery (it is connected to the hotel's electricity but has a back up battery). No one answered the front desk phone at that time of the morning. It went off 3 more times during the night. We told the front desk the next morning and they assured us it would be fixed. The next night same beeping at 3 AM. AGAIN we called the next morning and they told us it would be taken care of. Amazingly it happened again the next night. We finally removed the battery and bought one at the CVS next door and replaced it ourselves. We also reported a plumbing problem that was never fixed. The CVS/pharmacy next door is by far the best perk of this hotel. It is a 10-15 minute walk through a university campus to the Foggy-Bottom Metro Stop. That's not so bad unless you have been walking around DC all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Refugio
Business
USA
Mar 9, 2008

Nice Beds

The overall experience at State Plaza was ok. I was execting nicer rooms, by which i mean updated furniture/modern equiptment. The room had apparently been recently painted so for four nights i slep with the window open, while it rained for two nights!, to avoid paint odors! Kitchen was VERY simple, outdated appliances but i never used it but once; I had to call the front desk because the kitchen had everything but a microwave! Internet NEVER worked! i had to keep disconnecting the modem and somehow it worked ok for about ten minutes before page not found messages popped up. I would stay at a different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Not what I expected

The kitchen area was very small, it had a gas stove top. I have never used gas. There was no microwave or any oven of anykind. I was hoping to be within walking distance of the major attractions. We took the metro to most. It was also hard to find a good resturant within walking distance, only fast food types.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel did have a very good breakfast buffet. The food was excellent.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Magichanzz
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2009

Substandard

The kitchenette had 3 forks, 5 knives and no spoons. there were no paper towels or wash clothes, no tea kettle, etc. You can call down for all those things but they don't pay attention to what you ask for and the people who work there can barely speak english and brought us up the wrong things every single time we requested things. We stopped letting the maid in on the 2nd day because she threw out food that was sealed in zip lock bags and was on the table- clearly things that were not trash. We were on the 3rd floor off the alley and because the air conditioning was blowing out warm air we had to have our windows open all the time - it was very noisy. Even with the windows closed the noise inside the hotel was too loud. I think this used to be apartments or something- the walls are paper thin; you can hear everyone and everything. They don't sell tours like the other hotels, but they have a computer room where you can do it yourself. They also don't have laundry facilities and there isn't a laundry mat in the vicinity, if there was they didn't know about it. They don't have breakfast, the F Street Bistro is terrible and the hotel doesn't have a concierge. Its 6 blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro, next time we will stay somewhere closer to the Capitol or a Metro stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top