$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
770 reviews
Great stay in DC

We arrived shortly before check in time but our room was ready and we received an upgrade to a... See full review

  • Harold B.
  • Aug 26, 2015
awesome family vacation!

The location of the hotel is very convenient and I like it that it is right next to CVS pharmacy.... See full review

  • Imelda C.
  • Aug 10, 2015
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Highlights
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
Nearby attractions
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Policies
Starting 01 January 2015, valet parking with in/out privileges will be $34 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$104
4.2 / 5 185 reviews
★★★
$129
4.3 / 5 4 reviews
★★★
$94
4.1 / 5 80 reviews
★★★
$114
4.3 / 5 118 reviews
★★★
$129
3.8 / 5 23 reviews

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.
Deluxe King
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe King guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe 2 Queen
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe 2 Queen guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature two queen beds and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe Plaza Suites
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe Plaza Suites at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and one sofa bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 770
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Autiiger
Couples
South Carolina
Apr 17, 2014

Wonderful Five Nights

Location, location, location. Great area to tour memorials, near bus lines, and the metro. Staff was friendly and helpful when questioned about local buses. The room and premises were spotless. Restaurant was reasonably priced for DC and service and meal were great. Being an older hotel there were some issues with heating and air, but it was spring time and easy to deal with. Room was spacious with kitchenette and dressing area. BIG plus was the 24 hour CVS next door and Subway 2 blocks away. With a full size fridge, we could eat in the room or snack at will. We will definitely stay at The State Plaza again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take 31 bus to GW Metro to save time, money, and shine leather.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HealthEducator
Couples
Greensboro, NC, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Amazing one night stay

We stayed here one night after a conference in Alexandria, and the room was enormous compared to our suite at the Renaissance Plaza. It was the size of a small apartment, and the furnishings were everything you'd expect from a mid-century luxury hotel. The room was really quiet, even with Halloween parties going on across the street at GWU. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the room was warm. There was no WiFi access available on our floor, and the wired ethernet connection did not work. All parking is handled by valet, and is an additional fee. Overall, it was a fantastic stay, and was an incredibly comfortable one-night stay. We'll definitely check the State Plaza Hotel out again next time we're headed to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The F Street Bistro was delicious and reasonably priced especially for Foggy Bottom. The bartender was great, and we really enjoyed our dinner.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bobbygee
Couples
Round Rock, Texas
Jan 12, 2012

Great location, good value

We selected the Sate Plaza because of the location. We like walking when we visit the District. The location is ideal for visiting museums, restaurants, getting to the Metro, and to the offices on the Lincoln Memorial end of the Mall. Staff was at the desk every time we came into the lobby. The valet parking was very well attended, always prompt. If you are looking for luxury this isn't it - what is is a very clean hotel with very nice rooms that appear to have been converted from small apartments. The kitchenette is very handy to have. The State Plaza makes for a very convenient base of operations in the District. We will seek it out on future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmjohns3
Couples
Greensboro, NC, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great trip!

We had a great time at this hotel. Valet is especially cheap compared to other area hotels, and the location is great for walking to a variety of attractions. Staff was especially friendly and helpful, remembering personal experiences with us from over the length of our stay. The only con is that heat and ac is seasonal, which made our room a little warm. Overall a great price for a great suite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat at Tonic, only a few blocks away. Best burger I've ever had!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mishamayor
Couples
NYC
May 8, 2012

Good Hotel

Big room. Kitchen. Nice location. Moderate prices. Polite staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harry the Viking
Couples
Orange Co. California
Jun 16, 2012

Our stay at the State Plaza Hotel

We found the staff and the hotel wonderful. No complaints except the elevator was mollasses slow. otherwise an absolute delight to stay, The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. nothing was a bother.We would very highly recommend it . PS, the attached Small restaurant was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Staying at the Plaza, you can reach most museums and attractions within a short walk.The Metro is only a 10 minute walk for further travel.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maryluna
Couples
Miami
Aug 20, 2012

Fantastic location

Near to the principal attractions, the room was clean and comfortable, friendly staff. More than I expected for the price. Good choice!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EcoNut
Couples
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 19, 2013

Activacation

Came to support climate change action in D.C. Loved the hotel and location. Would not rent a car next time. Lovely, helpful staff and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car in D.C. Use public transit or bikeshare. Parking is either ridiculously expensive or very difficult to find, everywhere.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
asimpson
Couples
Rock Hill
Feb 27, 2013

Great place to stay

If you are looking for marble and spa tubs, keep looking. If what you need is a clean, well-located place to stay near the mall in DC, this is a great place to stay. We were in town for a conference at the Corcoran (3 blocks away) and to see the normal tourist sites (the mall is only a few blocks away) and museums (a longer walk). The room was older but spotless, the bed comfortable, and the staff went out of their way to make sure our visit was great. We had such a good trip we are coming back in a few months for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great food can be found at DuPont circle.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan at peace
Couples
Thorofare,NJ
Jun 9, 2013

A wonderful romantic getaway

The hotel gave a warm comfortable feeling. I loved the location because it was in the center of everything. We enjoyed the on-site restaurant and the 24-hour pharmacy next door. The beautiful park was directly across the street and most of the tourist attractions were within walking distance. We look forward to visiting the hotel again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try different types of food, there's so many to choose from.

Back to menu Return to top