$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
929 out of 929
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Mar 16, 2008

Clean and Convenient Location

The State Plaza Hotel is a comfortable, convenient hotel for tourists, as well as for individuals travelling to Washington D.C. on business trips. Our room was large and clean, and the kitchenette was stocked with both cooking and eating utensils. The staff was courteous and helpful, also. The location is also a great plus - 4 1/2 blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station, 1 block from the State Dept. Building, 3 blocks from the Vietnam War Memorial and the TourMobile Bus stop, and 2 doors down from a CVS Pharmacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to the Korea, and WW II Memorials, as well as the Lincoln Memorial

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City
Jul 7, 2008

excellent location, excellent value

the State Plaza hotel is in an excellent location within easy walking distance of national mall, GWU, shopping and metro. excellent kitchenette, 24 hour CVS right next door, small and friendly, staff very friendly and help, the beds are big, great mattress, plenty of pillows, big rooms, very good for families. one small negative was that the maids did not always vacum the floor every day, the bathtub would back up a little and it was obvious that the tubs were not scrubbed every day. however, the pluses of this place FAR outweigh the slight negatives. I wish all my vacation/business rooms were this outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

buy a map, walk to White House and shopping because there are good restaurants along the way and due north of the hotel. larger grocery store is in Watergate, short walk west.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 12, 2008

Great Location, Super Convenient

The State Plaza Hotel was very charming. Aside from no wireless internet, the hotel was extremely comfortable. Having a full kitchen proved very nice when unexpected guests came to visit. The beds provided a great sleep and the location to all the monuments was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab to the White House and then walk as much as possible from there. Jump on the TourMobile bus which takes you all around and you can jump on/jump off at your leisure. The Hotel is a comfortable walk from the Vietnam Memorial.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
Aug 3, 2008

Good value for your money!

Service was good from check-in to check-out. There's a CVS beside the hotel complex and together with the kitchen adds up to a very convenient stay. (You can cook your own meals)! The iginition in the gas stove isn't working though so bring a lighter or something. Overall, my stay there was a "good value" for my money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Its a good 10-15minute walk to DC attractions!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bagpiper
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 30, 2009

Perfect for the Price

Outstanding location within minutes of the Mall and Foggy Bottom Metro. Rooms come with kitchenettes and with a CVS pharmacy right next door, savings on meals are there for the taking. Service was excellent and the gym, although rather small, was efficient. 8/10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the food and dining experience at Old Ebbitt's Grill. Steaks are delicious and the ambience cannot be beat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven CT
Dec 15, 2009

Good hotel, Great price

Front desk staff was very helpful, free wifi was a welcome change in my recent hotel stays. Room was large considering usual DC area hotels and clean. Small kitchen was also neat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On the edge of GWU campus and dupont circle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 1, 2010

Perfect Place

Is a apartment very big, with a big kitchen, very good mattress and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beverly Hills, Ca.
Feb 4, 2010

TERRIFIC PLACE!

We had a wonderful time. The room is really large and that doesn't include a separate kitchen. The staff is very helpful and if you walk towards George Washington U. there are a lot of restaurants. The hotel is right next to a CVS pharmacy and two blocks from a Starbucks. We walked to the White House, the Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument, and all the other museums. You got all of this and at an amazing price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JB, Club Lady
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 4, 2011

Return Guest

I am a returning guest at the State Plaza, have been there annually for the last five years. I attend DAR Continental Congress and other activities at DAR Headquarters. I like the fact that the location is a walkable distance or if I need a taxi they are always there. The facility reminds me of excellent European Hotels I have stayed in. The kitchenette gives me the opotion to eat in if i chose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is with in walking distance of the White House, the Mall and most other histroic places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC 1st-timer
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 7, 2011

Fantastic experience!

This was my 1st trip to DC & I chose this hotel based on positive reviews...and I'm so glad I did! The staff was very helpful & friendly, and the room was very clean & spacious. We were on the 7th floor & my niece loved the view of the buildings at night. The full kitchen & the CVS located next door allowed us to save a little money & eat a little healthier as most street vendors don't have many veggie options. We were pleasantly surprised that we heard no noise from neighboring travellers...which was much appreciated after long days of sightseeing. We walked everywhere & were never more than 1.3 miles away from the hotel - which was a huge plus! By the time we left, we knew our way around quite well & were planning our next trip back. My niece can't wait to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Since my niece is a vegetarian, CVS was a wonderful place for us...they have a good selection of sandwiches & salads as well as frozen items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top