$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 20, 2015 Check-out: Feb 21, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
848 reviews
Across the street from GWU dorms

Clean and convenient- across the street from the George Washington University dormitories. Large... See full review

  • Sandy from Va
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great

I highly recommend this hotel for its good location and service. Even more appealing is the room... See full review

  • Kate
  • Dec 30, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
Starting 01 January 2015, valet parking with in/out privileges will be $34 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.
Deluxe King
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe King guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe 2 Queen
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe 2 Queen guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature two queen beds and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe Plaza Suites
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe Plaza Suites at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and one sofa bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (848)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
848 out of 848
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FLG doing RE
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 19, 2009

Walk to George Washington University

We were visiting our daughter for parents day at George Washington University. The location is great, the value is great, the room was a bit hot and the HVAC not responsive but opening a window took care of that. Good bath setup with lots of towels, nice kitchenette setup, staff was good, the place was clean. The breakfast was not that appealing and a cup of coffee to take back to the room was $3.25.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks coffee is a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Dec 12, 2009

Washington

The hotel had no amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
State traveller
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 11, 2009

Tired but convenient

There was lots of room for a family and a full kitchen in the junior suite but there were buildings on all sides creating a closed-in atmosphere. The furniture was dated and stressed, old carpet etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Full service shopping food market and CVS drugs, barber, stylist, phone store etc available in one stop undergound level of Watergate Plaza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nebraska
Oct 31, 2009

Not Too Bad for the Price!

Had to walk to the other side of the hotel with our luggage because their computers were down. Was a pain since we arrived in the evening. Staff didn't offer assistance which was disappointing. If you're interested in a hotel that does't have much dazzle and within walking distance to alot of DC's monuments, this would be a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Have good walking shoes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dane lost in Washington
Business
Denmark
Jul 28, 2009

Good:location+Price Bad:lost luggage

Were staying a the State plaza for 7 days as part of a vacation and booked rooms on the state plaza due to location and price. We arrived 4 hours to early and due to the room was no ready we were offered to have our luggage stored while touring the city, we were even handed a card for the walk. Upon returning our luggage was unfortunately nowhere to be found, and we were sent to our rooms with nothing but the clothes we were wearing while they where trying to locate our luggage. Approximately 1 hour later they reported it as lost but they tried to locate it. Since most of our cash was in the luggage and we needed to be close by our dinner ended up being snacks in the room while receiving bi-hourly briefings by a somewhat frustrated and confused manager. Before bed we where luckily handed toiletries after having requested them. At 10 pm the bag was located to be with a guest that checked out earlier that day and it was going to be shipped the following day. Next day the day shift manager briefed us and offered us breakfast, all in all he seemed more confident than the person who had handled the problem the day before. We spent the day buying the clothes that we needed for the day. The next day we received our luggage at around 11 am the only thing missing being the external metal address tag. and we where off course very relieved. This had off course happened because of a human error or breach of procedure and is not something I would expect happening upon a second visit.However I do feel more could have been done service wise so that we didn't have to loose 1,5 day of our 7 days vacation to siting prone and buying replacement clothes. As said, very unfortunate, but this is not something I think is a normal incident for the hotel. The room we had booked was a single queen bed room, it came with a desk for office and supposedly internet connection could not get it to work, but they had two workstations in an office we used instead. The room was quite large and had a kitchen with a stove ( not oven) coffee maker, microwave and toaster and it was in good condition cleaning wise. With the exception of what happened in the start of the stay it was all in all a good stay and the location and value for money is unbeatable. The daily cleaning was excellent and the staff was generally polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around in Washington DC. 80% of the tourist attractions are within walking distance of the State plaza, memorials, white house and museums included.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jess from NC
Business
Concord, NC, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Perfect distance to all the attractions

The hotel was older and the staff could be a little more attentive but overall this hotel was good. It was in a perfect location to walk to all the attractions and the neighborhood was safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TerriLee
Business
Texas
Jan 19, 2010

Family Reunion

Loved the room and amenities. They just forgot to refill the coffee one day and the creamer and sugar the next. Location not all that great for us, but a nice area and would maybe stay again. TV needed help the first morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

6 block walk to metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaufort, SC
Jul 9, 2011

Great Location for the price

This hotel was in a great location near my husband's workplace, but was also very close to tourist attractions (White House/National Mall/Memorials). Valet Parking is available at the hotel. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. However, the kitchen could have been more appropriately stocked for those staying longer periods of time and do not plan on eating out every meal. Microwaves are available by request which was very helpful. If planning on cooking in the hotel I would advise asking what is included in the kitchen so you can bring any additional items that you will need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC vistor
Business
Atlanta GA
Jun 19, 2011

Good location

The hotel is located in the Foggy Bottom area very close to George Washington University (a block away) and the White House (~5 blocks away). The Metro system is also ~4 blocks away. A CVS store is right next door, and a Starbucks and Subway store are very close by. Location wise, this was a perfect spot. The hotel was OK. It was no-frills in that there was very little decoration in the Lobby, hallways or rooms. On the other hand, it was very clean and well maintained. The cleaning staff was a little annoying (knocking on the door too early in the morning to see if anyone was inside), but they did respect the "privacy please" sign when we remembered to hang it on the door. The internet access (ethernet connection only) worked ~40% of the time, but the repair-dude told me they were replacing the system the weekend I was leaving (so, who knows?). I know the woman in the room across from me was upset with the poor internet access. I would recommend the hotel getting this straightened out ASAP. Bottom line: If you are using the hotel to sleep in and plan to spend most of your time running around DC, this is a great place. If you want a lush hotel with lots of amenities, this is probably not the ideal place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant "Tonic" is right around the corner from the hotel (on 21st I think) and is a great place for burgers and a beer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2007

State Plaza Hotel

The hotel is fairly near the western end of the Washington mall, only a few blocks. It is an older facility and our room had 2 queen beds, a kitchen area, a dressing area and a bath. There was a desk and chair and another side chair (not too comfortable). There were no nearby places to eat. We had to walk several blocks. The continental breakfast was coffee, juice, fruit and pastries. The room was small and was not attended so we were left to clear tables.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top