State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
1,364 reviews
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
State Plaza Hotel - Location Location Location

For US Dept. of State the location does not get any better. Staff was great! Friendly and helpful.... See full review

  • DC Business
  • May 13, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The F Street Bistro is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful d├ęcor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1364)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
1364 out of 1364
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Fullerton, CA
Aug 31, 2008

great location-no need for rental car

Great location and walking distance (about 5 blocks) from the Metro Subway. We flew into to Ronald Regan airport and took the Metro from the airport to the hotel. We arrive a few hours early however, the hotel was nice enough to accommodate us with early check in. The rooms are a little dated, but they are clean and comfortable so for the price and location it didn't matter that much. The rooms have small kitchens which came in handy for extended stays. One of our children is attending George Washington University and for the next several years we plan on staying at this hotel when possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About 3 to 4 blocks south is the Lincoln and Vietnam memorial.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 29, 2008

good value in DC

Room was larger than expected, clean and comfortable. staff seemed friendly and hotel was in the Georgetown/GWU area convenient to for my needs. About a 6 block walk from the nearest metro stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Aug 20, 2007

Very comfortable, great location

I think this hotel gets a lot of business travelers as it is so close the State Dept., but it was great for vacation travel. The kitchen was sparse (there was no microwave but one was brought up immediately when I asked for one), but fine for our needs with a full-sized refrigerator and stove (no oven). The TV had my favorite cable channels, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom and dressing area, while older, were just fine. The hotel offers free internet but our laptop didn't have a cable to hook it up. The folks at the front office loaned us one, and we were off and running. The hotel is five/six blocks from the Metro station and within a short walking distance of the Kennedy Center and the Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam Veterans Memorial. We were able to easily walk to all the sites, including the White House, Smithsonian, Washington Monument, etc., although others may opt to jump on the Metro. We were also able to take the Metro from Reagan National Airport and then walk to the hotel. There are no restaurants immediately around the hotel. But there are a couple of stores; one grocery, one variety, and a liquor store with good prices on California wines. There's a Starbucks down the street. The staff was nice and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I don't know if they do this year round, but the Kennedy Center, also just down the street, offered free concerts at 6 p.m. every evening on the Millenium Stage, and the type of music was different every night.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jennred
Business
dallas,tx
Jan 26, 2012

Best kept secret in DC

Other than no internet working in the room, it was a fabulous experience! I thoroughly enjoyed my time here. Close to everything; Lincoln Memorial, Arlington Cemetery, Washington Monument and The White House. Very, very nice staff. It was an apartment building made in to a hotel. Super large rooms with separate bedrooms and full kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything; Lincoln Memorial, Arlington Cemetery, Washington Monument and The White House. Very, very nice staff. It was an apartment building made in to a hotel. Super large rooms with separate bedrooms and full kitchen

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jahd
Nashville TN
Jul 5, 2013

Great place, great location

GREAT location, big comfortable room, helpful staff. The amenities are a bit dated, but that is probably what keeps this hotel affordable. I would certainly stay here again. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC 1st-timer
Atlanta, GA
Jul 7, 2011

Fantastic experience!

This was my 1st trip to DC & I chose this hotel based on positive reviews...and I'm so glad I did! The staff was very helpful & friendly, and the room was very clean & spacious. We were on the 7th floor & my niece loved the view of the buildings at night. The full kitchen & the CVS located next door allowed us to save a little money & eat a little healthier as most street vendors don't have many veggie options. We were pleasantly surprised that we heard no noise from neighboring travellers...which was much appreciated after long days of sightseeing. We walked everywhere & were never more than 1.3 miles away from the hotel - which was a huge plus! By the time we left, we knew our way around quite well & were planning our next trip back. My niece can't wait to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Since my niece is a vegetarian, CVS was a wonderful place for us...they have a good selection of sandwiches & salads as well as frozen items.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tatiana
Manchester, NH
Feb 17, 2008

Great for tourists

The hotel is a great place for tourists and DC guests. Cheap, but clean and very comfortable. Located near the National mall, museums, Capitol and White house! Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Memorial

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jun 9, 2010

Great place to stay!!!

This hotel was great! Very friendly staff. Great room with very comfortable beds. Close to many sights and good restaurants. Our whole experience was wonderful. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to metro station, which takes you anywhere you want to go in DC for a couple of dollars. If you use it a more than a couple times a day, buy a day pass.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minnesotanice
Brainerd, Minnesota
Apr 13, 2010

State Plaza DC Review

We found the State Plaza Hotel in DC to be an awesome bargain. It was close to the sights, in a safe neighborhood, had great service, and clean spacious rooms with a kitchenette. We will stay there again on our next visit to Washington DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are in DC sightseeing, the DC by Night Gray Line Tour is not to be missed. They pass along so many interesting facts, and you will get to see some attractions that are awe inspiring lit up by night. Don't miss it!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First time in DC
Colorado
Apr 14, 2010

Great location.

We went for the Cherry Blossom Festival and 5 days of sight seeing. The State Plaza Hotel staff was more than friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS Pharmacy next door so you can get all of your snacks for your day trips.

Back to menu Return to top