$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
843 reviews
lovely kitchen, nice hotel, worthwile

I know this hotel long before. Last time I booked this hotel but I failed to live in for the reason... See full review

  • zhaangty
  • Aug 29, 2014
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
Starting 01 January 2015, valet parking with in/out privileges will be $34 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.
Deluxe King
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe King guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe 2 Queen
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe 2 Queen guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature two queen beds and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe Plaza Suites
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe Plaza Suites at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and one sofa bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (843)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
843 out of 843
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gimpy Grammy
Business
Middleton, Idaho
Feb 27, 2014

Washington D.C. trip

Just wonderful!! Thanks for finding that hotel for me!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Autiiger
Business
South Carolina
Apr 17, 2014

Wonderful Five Nights

Location, location, location. Great area to tour memorials, near bus lines, and the metro. Staff was friendly and helpful when questioned about local buses. The room and premises were spotless. Restaurant was reasonably priced for DC and service and meal were great. Being an older hotel there were some issues with heating and air, but it was spring time and easy to deal with. Room was spacious with kitchenette and dressing area. BIG plus was the 24 hour CVS next door and Subway 2 blocks away. With a full size fridge, we could eat in the room or snack at will. We will definitely stay at The State Plaza again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take 31 bus to GW Metro to save time, money, and shine leather.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Inja Girl
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 27, 2014

Location, Value Can't be Beat

I'm a frequent business traveler to DC and was delighted with the State Plaza. Huge room, well-furninshed, large bath with a separate dressing/make up area. Staff was PERFECT, location can't be beat (walking distance to WH, Mall, Whole Foods, and several great restaurants). It looks like this is a refurbished hotel or residential building--all executed very well, nothing shabby. Would make a great place for tourist or business travelers. Only "complaint" is a very slow, old elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods and Roti, three blocks away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Future
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 30, 2014

Great hotel

Perfect location a bit dated but not bad at all great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 17, 2010

Very nice

The location is very close to the National Mall, which is good for travelers. Staffs are very nice and helpful. The room is clean and big;it even has a kitchen in the room, which I didn't expect. Overall I had a very nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
madda
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Dec 8, 2010

Very good hotel

Good location, good services, and a comfortable and spacious room. Besides, there is a 24h market place (CVS) next to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stella Squirrel
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 1, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

We observed the National Mall. The hotel's atmosphere, design, room and service were excellent! In addition, the location of the hotel was quite convenient, so we could reach the National Mall very easy and quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Young One
Business
Colonial Heights, VA
Jan 1, 2011

In the thick of it :)

My cousin, her best friend, and myself traveled to State Plaza Hotel for new years 2011. We were going to a concert for Chris Brown at Club Love. Although the hotel was a little far from the club, it was the BEST hotel I have EVER stayed in! I was extremely to find the quality matched every cent that we paid. THe people (including our valet [...]) were among the friendliest people. We were in walking distance to the Kennedy Center and the Washington Monument. In the future I will be staying at this hotel when I travel to DC, and recommending everyone else comes too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is really close, and viewable from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 23, 2007

Great Location and Great Service

The State Plaza is a great small hotel in a perfect central DC loction -- right near the White House and George Washington University. The Mtro is just2-3 blocks away. The rooms are spacious and old-fashioned in a comfortable way. There is a dressing room outside of the bathroom and there are small kitchens as well -- great for chilling beverages and making tea or coffee. The service is friendly and the continental breakfast generous and delicious. I try to stay at the State Plaza whenever I am visiting Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House is walking distance from the hotel and there are many dining opportunities close by. A Starbucks is one block away! And Georgetown shops and restaurants are close as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sassy Italian
Business
Paducah, Ky
Jun 12, 2009

Wonderful time at the State Plaza

Our stay at State Plaza Hotel in DC was wonderful! It didn't look the greatest from outside but once in your room, it was heaven! The beds were so incredibly comfy and the place was spotless. If you needed anything, they were at your door within 2 minutes. One of the elevators was out of service on the last day we were there and it was a little slow but it wasn't like that the whole time we were there. We had a problem with our flight and may not ever fly "United" again but when we got to our hotel, they were so acommodating for us. The help was super friendly. We met lots of very friendly "regular" guest there too. It was close to all the attractions we wanted to see and walking distance from the Metro subway. Our accomodations included a full kitchen with all that you needed, a dressing room separate from the bath, and a very large bedroom. TV was updated and the room was restful. I felt very safe there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking is expensive at the Hotel but the subway was maybe 6 blocks away and it took you anywhere you wanted to go. At night, there was street parking that was free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top