$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 1, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
851 reviews
weekend getaway

came to dc to visit my brother who lives on-campus at gw. was pleasantly surprised to walk into a... See full review

  • Aarika S.
  • Feb 24, 2015
Across the street from GWU dorms

Clean and convenient- across the street from the George Washington University dormitories. Large... See full review

  • Sandy from Va
  • Jan 14, 2015
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
Starting 01 January 2015, valet parking with in/out privileges will be $34 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.
Deluxe King
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe King guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe 2 Queen
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe 2 Queen guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature two queen beds and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe Plaza Suites
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe Plaza Suites at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and one sofa bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (851)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
851 out of 851
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 9, 2008

Great location and very friendly staff

The hotel was very comfortable with all nesessary amenities for business and leisure. The room and kitchen look much larger than anticipated. The biggest point - good location near metro station and White House. In a whole, Georgetown area is nice and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The National mall and White House just a few blocks away. Shopping center and recreation Potomac area within walking distance. The Kennedy center for art performance, Watergate complex and Memorials are not a long away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Deland
Jun 9, 2008

No A/C

The worst Hotel I have stayed at in the last 20 years. First you had to park in on building, drag you luggage thru the basement to the other building. Told they had no bellman on at that time. The room had no micro/w, the carpet was dirty and needed to be repulled as it had rolls in it. I trip on these several times, again bad back)The A/C barely worked the first night.They had no ice and had to make several calls to finally get ice. I was told I could use the ice trays in the room but they had not been refilled. So I got the privilege of tipping the persom who delivered the ice.As I stated earlier- no Micro/w- and in that type of setting it is the one thing you use the most. And ever time we had to go to the car we had to thake te elavator to the 1st Floor walk across the building ( about1/2 block) take another elavator down to the car. The second day was worst. We get back after a long hot day of sightseeing to find the A/C is not working at all. We pack up everything and started to leave. Just before we reach our car the Manager came up and said he had a room that the A/C was working. Since it was so late and we had such a bad day we took it. My wife went to get the key and the desk clerk was made because he had just rented that room. Did not care about the ones already check-in. This new room was much nicer and it had a micro/w.Ther was more but I hate to type, but you get the idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 8, 2008

A disaster

Kitchens have no microwaves and gas stoves that do not work. One of our rooms had a severe gas leak (the other room had the stove turned completely off, probably due to a gas leak)to which the hotel sent a serviceman who banged on the pipes with a wrench. Our room was not changed until the next day at our demand, as the guests were becoming ill. The only good thing about this hotel was that the showers were hot and had excellent water pressure. Other than that this property is a safety hazard. In addition, most of the staff had no clue about restraunts or attractions in the area and when asked gave wrong directions or simply stated I don't know. Stay away from this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irving, *
Jun 5, 2008

Good location

The location of The State Plaza Hotel was great for walking to almost all of the attractions in DC. The Metro was a little further that I thought but still was not bad. I liked having the kitchen, but there was no groceries close by so we had to shop at the CVS. The cleaning people took my turban towel on the first day when they were cleaning and I never got it back, although I asked every day. No one would call me back and when we checked out, after staying there five days, they still had not found and returned it to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Peachtree City, GA
Jun 5, 2008

Great location

The State Plaza Hotel is located within walking distance of many major D.C. attractions. There is a 24 hour pharmacy next door which my granddaughter called our life line. The staff was pleasant and willing to assist when needed. The rooms were well maintained and clean. It was nice to have a kitchen. However, we did not find out until the last day that we could have requested a microwave. On my next trip to Washington, I would glad stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask about restaurants in the area. There are good ones nearby, but are a bit difficult to find. Most of the major monuments, as well as the White House and the Capitol, are within walking distance. The White House and Capitol are rather long walks, but are doable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
May 27, 2008

Great location,great value

State plaza Hotel was vert convenient to parking, the Metro, and an easy walk to the mall and its attractions. Very good value for the money, clean, and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Bistro happy hour and buffets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
huntington
May 25, 2008

friendly

very close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance from alll activities

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
May 11, 2008

Great location

The State Plaza was in a central location. Most parts of DC were within a 1-2 mile walk. It's also just a few blocks from a metro stop (which is very convenient if you are arriving from Reagan national airport). There's a CVS next door and the national mall is just a 10 minute stroll away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 4, 2008

Excellent staff

The front desk and gentlemen greeting were wonderful and very knowledgeable. This was our first trip to DC, and we had lots of questions. The room was wonderful. We had a plaza suite, which enabled my sons to stay up until all hours, while I comfortably slept in the other room. Room service was disappointing, as the menu was very limited, very expensive, and not all that great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tonic Restaurant (suggested by Hotel staff) was very good and relaxing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 20, 2008

How many hotel rooms have a kitchen?

I found the room very comfortable and even though the TV was small, the room was spacious and the kitchen was a definite bonus! The doorman was fabulous and the location is ideal whether you're there on business or just site-seeing. Only a ten minute walk from the White House and a six minute cab ride from Georgetown, which has every store and restaurant you'd want. Only negative was that there was much dining and shopping in a close walking distance since you're basically located in the middle of a college campus. Lovely scenery though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Utilize the Metro. Twenty dollars lasted me almost the full 4 days and we traveled from Arlington to the Capitol building and back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top