$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
767 out of 767
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Karun75
Business
chicago
Aug 25, 2010

Could be better

The hotel is in a good location the rooms were clean but there was a lingering odor in the room,the staff could be more friendly they did not even offer us a trolley even after they found us struggling with the bags,the hotel has 2 structures that they call towers (lol)and its a long walk if your room in the second tower.They did not have enough parking either but there are parking garages that are close by.The location is great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
juliosky
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 28, 2010

Publish Rate + Parking Fee $30/day

Great location,close to National Mall. But the rate does not include the parking fee $30+ tax /day.Staff during check in unhelpful.Staff during check out are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 10, 2009

Need an update

Not a great location. Hotel needs an update. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
awhi
Business
Texas
Jul 17, 2012

Not a good hotel

It was a bad experience from the beginning. We checked out after one night. They only had valet parking. The man who did the valet parking complained about having to go get the car. The suite we booked was not what we got. We had to pay $50 more to upgrade. I decide to go online to see if I selected the wrong suite. So I entered the hotel name, instead of the hotel website address and a report came up on the hotel about bed bugs, not to mention that the water from the bath tub ran out so slow. We decide to check out. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Also, it is not in a convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappydisappointed
Business
NJ
Jun 13, 2012

Uptight staff

The front desk did not even have the courtesy to say where the room is located, since they have 2 buildings one in front and one in backward. Had to carry two little kids and luggage all the way to 8th floor on first building and then realized that the room is on the next building in 8th floor. The elevator is awfully slow and small. I had booked a suite and there was no kitchenware in the kitchen, then when I asked them for the kitchenware, they were not too happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Aug 7, 2011

State Plaza - old hotel

Stayed at State Plaza due to its proximity to the American Red Cross. This is an aging hotel with lumpy carpet and rusty bathroom fixtures. Would not stay here again. The staff members were polite but didn't go out of their way to help: e.g., the man who parked my car did not offer to take my luggage to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Dec 18, 2009

Don't stay

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Beginning at 9am someone kept OPENING our door every half hour until we checked out 1pm, even though we locked it. Do not stay here. EVER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 13, 2008

My review of State Plaza Hotel

The State Plaza Hotel was not what I expected. There was no problem checking in and the staff was helpful taking bags to the room. Immediate parking in the hotel lot was not available. The staff would not put my name on a list in case a spot would open and they referred me to a parking garage 5 blocks away when I later learned there was a public garage behind the hotel. Why was this garage not presented as an option? The fixtures in the kitchenette seemed to be older and I didnt really want to touch them. The refrigerator did not work properly and the hotel did not have an ice machine or any vending machines. The hotel was made up of two separate buildings -- the room key was supposed to open the doors connecting the two builings -- my key did not work. Had a very difficult time getting credit for third night that I did not use. Was generally dissatisfied with this hotel and would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CTL
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 8, 2011

Antiquated and the vagrants charming

The hotel is old and antiquated, noisy with commercial trash pickup @5:30 each day even on Saturdays, and to add to the charm, we had to deal with vagrants from the liquor store next store & the public park across the street just to get into the hotel in the evenings. Beware of reservations modifications & penalties as you will be dealing with the most un-reputable/un-customer service oriented management team in the city. Evidently, 24 hrs prior to arrival, Mgmt will process reservation modifications. However, once you arrive & need to cancel the last day of a 5 day stay, 96+ hrs notice is no longer sufficient & will cost you a penalty (coincidently, a 1 night stay). Both my wife & I work for multi-billion $$ companies who do business on a regular basis in DC & the GWU area specifically. We will work with our travel departments to blacklist this hotel. The hotel accommodations themselves are not business friendly and management policies are business hostile. Despite spending $30/day to park our rental car, the bright part of the customer service team was the bellhops. They were quick to bring the car up & they also provided a valuable service helping us run the gauntlet of vagrants milling around the street. Although location was not bad, there are better and safer accommodations in the area for the same price. Recommend spending your money elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Englander
Apr 12, 2011

Worst Hotel Ever - and we are not picky

DO NOT STAY AT THE STATE PLAZA HOTEL! Rude manager - talks down to us and other guests that had issues with rooms Really for over $200 a night air conditioning in the building can not be controlled via the room - the hotel is so old and not classy you die of heat in the rooms even though you think you have a thrermostat - the managers solution is to provide a box fan in the window that does not open past 2 inches... They sent an "engineer" to check our ac he told us he can show us how to work the thermostat or show us how to open the window- really who can't do that themselves? But norther what he did a/c would not work as it was not on in the building The hotel is not handicap friendly stairs to get to elevators Slowest elevators EVER! The rooms look like the 70's and have not been updated If you don't take my Advise you will wish you did!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Save time by not staying here!!! You will thank me

Back to menu Return to top