$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
767 out of 767
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 8, 2007

Dated Interiors

Although the location was fantastic, the interior of the room that I stayed in was very dated. The furnishings were from the 70's or possibly even earlier. However, I must admit that the room was clean & provided adequate comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to dining & shopping. And, other attractions.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington, VT
Jul 30, 2007

very accomodating

very accomodating - we were upgraded to a suite with a kitchenette. Location for our needs was excellent; close to the MAll and Metro system

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to the Mall for Wash DC attractions

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roamin with Roman
Business
Newark, NJ
Jul 29, 2007

Need updating

The rooms were clean but very dated, especially the air conditioner. Very close to Vietnam Memorial and Lincoln Memorial which is why I chose this location. Free continental breakfast was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 25, 2007

Good Location for Price.

I cannot complain about this hotel, the room was spacious, private, and clean. The full kitchen even had clean dishes and utensils. It was only about 3-4 blocks from the nearest Metro Center (Foggy Bottom I believe). There were two queen beds, a dresser, and a desk. A kitchen with sinks, a stove, cabinets, and a small table. And a separated vanity and bathroom. The breakfast was fine as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 18, 2007

Great location at bargain price

The State Plaza rooms are oversize and also include an adjacent kitchen with a table and chairs, full size refrigerator, stove and microwave. The bath also was spacious. The hotel used to have a nice restaurant but apparently it is undergoing renovations. My only problem with the State Plaza is that so many people want to stay there I often have a hard time obtaining a reservation. Hotel employees are courteous and helpful. The bellman even went down the street to purchase a newspaper for me the night of my arrival. Disabled travelers should know that there is a half flight of stairs to maneuver from the lobby to the first floor and the elevator to other floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is convenient to offices in the Foggey Bottom area. There is a CVS pharmacy closeby.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, MO
Jul 17, 2007

State Plaza July 2007 AR

The staff were accomodating. There is no restaurant in the hotel and none within walking distance. Close to monuments (three blocks). Separate kitchen and dressing area were nice features. The hotel is older, has been pretty well kept up (paint, linens), but fixtures and furniture needed updating. The hotel includes two entrances (one per building) but the entrance in our building was not open for use and required a long walk to the front of the hotel. The business center (only one) was also located at the other entrance and had a minimum charge for usage. There are NO elevators from the front lobby to the main hallway (steep stairs). The in-room safe did not work and could not be repaired per the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Historical monuments are three blocks away, a drug store is next door, and there are no nearby restaurants

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamarrik
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 14, 2007

ok place to stay

This hotel is an ok place to stay. Good location about 5-10 walk from metro station. The staff is nice and the rooms were clean. However they need to remodel. The carpet is kind of old and the bathrooms needed to be redone. Oh yeah i cant prove it but I think they have a master control to the A/C because during the day the room was cold in the middle of the night it felt like the A/C was not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

George Washington University Foggy Bottom Metro station TGI Fridays CVS

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2007

State Plaza Hotel

The hotel is fairly near the western end of the Washington mall, only a few blocks. It is an older facility and our room had 2 queen beds, a kitchen area, a dressing area and a bath. There was a desk and chair and another side chair (not too comfortable). There were no nearby places to eat. We had to walk several blocks. The continental breakfast was coffee, juice, fruit and pastries. The room was small and was not attended so we were left to clear tables.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 25, 2007

Excellent Location

Large rooms with full kitchen, including a range. Bath room is rather small but overall, I liked the room. hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the White House and other Historical sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 24, 2007

luxury amenities

The most convience it provided me was it was located right in the heart of washington DC and mintues away from GWU!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a huge city park just a few blocks from the hotel. Great running trail, tennis courts, and an awesome skyline view.

Back to menu Return to top