$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
853 out of 853
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 29, 2008

good value in DC

Room was larger than expected, clean and comfortable. staff seemed friendly and hotel was in the Georgetown/GWU area convenient to for my needs. About a 6 block walk from the nearest metro stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 23, 2008

My review of State Plaza Hotel

THE STATE PLZA HOTEL WAS A NICE CLEAN HOTEL . STAFF WAS VERY NICE AND HELPFULL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brighton, MA
Jul 14, 2008

Everything you need and more

This is the hotel for the person who doesn't want to be paying $3.00 for a soda, etc. The building once housed apartments, so each room comes with a little kitchenette to allow you to do some basic cooking, heating, and keeping stuff in the refrigerator - in DC, that can save a lot of money. It's not fancy but such a relief to have a room design that's different from your standard hotel. It has a 'european' feel to it - a little older, small elevators, rugs that are very basic. But the bed is comfortable, the staff are great, the internet works, and you can make your own midnight snack. It's also a great location - right on the edge of the George Washington University campus - meaning more access to everyday shops like CVS etc. that are harder to find in the downtown area. It's only a couple of blocks from the mall, and within a few blocks of the Metro. The only down side is the four steps to the first elevator level. This could be a problem for anyone with mobility issues. All in all, I loved it, and this will be the first place I look to stay when going to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a 24 hour CVS next door and a great restaurant, Tonic, that has good food, especially brunch on the weekends. It's also just a few blocks from the Mall near the Viet Nam Memorial.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 13, 2008

My review of State Plaza Hotel

The State Plaza Hotel was not what I expected. There was no problem checking in and the staff was helpful taking bags to the room. Immediate parking in the hotel lot was not available. The staff would not put my name on a list in case a spot would open and they referred me to a parking garage 5 blocks away when I later learned there was a public garage behind the hotel. Why was this garage not presented as an option? The fixtures in the kitchenette seemed to be older and I didnt really want to touch them. The refrigerator did not work properly and the hotel did not have an ice machine or any vending machines. The hotel was made up of two separate buildings -- the room key was supposed to open the doors connecting the two builings -- my key did not work. Had a very difficult time getting credit for third night that I did not use. Was generally dissatisfied with this hotel and would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 13, 2008

Very Efficient

The staff at the desk are friendly and efficient. The car and luggage handlers are great. The restaurant staff is not very communicative and helpful. The accomodations are very nice and my room was well kept. This was my third time to stay at tha hotel. I highly recommended it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice cafe two blocks away, on the Geo. Washington University campus. They have good meals and a lovely brunch on Saturday and Sunday morning. Their name is The Tonic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City
Jul 7, 2008

excellent location, excellent value

the State Plaza hotel is in an excellent location within easy walking distance of national mall, GWU, shopping and metro. excellent kitchenette, 24 hour CVS right next door, small and friendly, staff very friendly and help, the beds are big, great mattress, plenty of pillows, big rooms, very good for families. one small negative was that the maids did not always vacum the floor every day, the bathtub would back up a little and it was obvious that the tubs were not scrubbed every day. however, the pluses of this place FAR outweigh the slight negatives. I wish all my vacation/business rooms were this outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

buy a map, walk to White House and shopping because there are good restaurants along the way and due north of the hotel. larger grocery store is in Watergate, short walk west.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ypsilanti
Jul 6, 2008

SIMPLE & CHIC

AS SOON AS WE WALKED IN WE FELT AT PEACE/EASE. THE ROOM WAS VERY RELAXING THE WHITE ON WHITE WAS VERY NICE. NOT TOO MUCH FANCY DECOR WHICH WE REALLY LIKED. COMFY AND CLOSE TO MAJOR ATTRACTIONS. WE HAD TO WALK A LITTLE BUT WE FOUND IT LAST MINUTE AT A GREAT PRICE. NOT TOO FAR FROM THE METRO. MY DAUGHTER ENJOYED IT! IT WAS VERY PEACEFUL. GRACIAS!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

WE HAD TO WALK A LITTLE TO GET TO THE WHITE HOUSE AND LINCOLN MEMORIAL BUT WE SAW REALLY NICE THINGS ALONG THE WAY. THE ARCHITECTURE IS AMAZING!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville
Jul 5, 2008

Great Hotel for a Great Price

My family and I went to Washington D.C. for the Fourth of July. This hotel was a few blocks from a subway station. Also, fairly close to Lincoln Memorial and Washington Monument. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to check-in well before the scheduled time. The room included a kitchen area with fridge, stove, cups, plates, silverware, etc. so if you are on a tight budget you can save money by eating in. Although, part of the fun is searching for different/new places to eat. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but we did not try it. The beds were comfy, bathroom a good size, not real noisy. Overall, an excellent place to stay. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family! Right outside the hotel is a CVS Pharmacy for extra needs while visiting. Not a lot of restaurants in close proximity to the hotel it is in the George Washington University area. Very pretty/safe area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure to go to the zoo. It is not close to the hotel, so make sure you have your walking shoes on. The Old Post Office was nice to walk through, but would not recommend eating there. Do not waste your time at the National Aquarium. There are MUCH better museums to see and most are free admission. You can't beat that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Not what I expected

The kitchen area was very small, it had a gas stove top. I have never used gas. There was no microwave or any oven of anykind. I was hoping to be within walking distance of the major attractions. We took the metro to most. It was also hard to find a good resturant within walking distance, only fast food types.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel did have a very good breakfast buffet. The food was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newman Lake
Jun 29, 2008

Great spot for DC Tourists!

The State Plaza Hotel was a very enjoyable stay. We were just blocks away from many major attractions in Washington DC, as well as within a few minutes walk of a Metro Station. The hotel was older than I expected and had no continental breakfast, and the high speed internet was not wireless. But otherwise the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, and the staff friendly and prompt to respond to our requests. It was a great trip and we would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The tonic restaurant was just around the corner and tasty. I wouldn't waste my money with the hotel restaurant, especially when you have such a variety of options in DC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top