$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
770 out of 770
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Not what I expected

The kitchen area was very small, it had a gas stove top. I have never used gas. There was no microwave or any oven of anykind. I was hoping to be within walking distance of the major attractions. We took the metro to most. It was also hard to find a good resturant within walking distance, only fast food types.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel did have a very good breakfast buffet. The food was excellent.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Magichanzz
Friends
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2009

Substandard

The kitchenette had 3 forks, 5 knives and no spoons. there were no paper towels or wash clothes, no tea kettle, etc. You can call down for all those things but they don't pay attention to what you ask for and the people who work there can barely speak english and brought us up the wrong things every single time we requested things. We stopped letting the maid in on the 2nd day because she threw out food that was sealed in zip lock bags and was on the table- clearly things that were not trash. We were on the 3rd floor off the alley and because the air conditioning was blowing out warm air we had to have our windows open all the time - it was very noisy. Even with the windows closed the noise inside the hotel was too loud. I think this used to be apartments or something- the walls are paper thin; you can hear everyone and everything. They don't sell tours like the other hotels, but they have a computer room where you can do it yourself. They also don't have laundry facilities and there isn't a laundry mat in the vicinity, if there was they didn't know about it. They don't have breakfast, the F Street Bistro is terrible and the hotel doesn't have a concierge. Its 6 blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro, next time we will stay somewhere closer to the Capitol or a Metro stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Skippy the super dad
Family
Dover, DE
Apr 22, 2009

Not that impressed but great location

My wife and 16 month old son came to DC to see the sights. The hotel was walking distinct to everyting but that's about it on the positive side. It was warm when we arrived and the building still only had heat so it was very warm in the room. Our room was a suite but had little to no cooking tools. We had to beg/borrow/steal just to make our dinner. Parking is $30 a night plus tax with really no other options. There are no ramps for luggage or strollers so it was a challenge checking in/out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a CVS right next door if you need bus/train passes.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Seattle, WA
Apr 12, 2010

loud and not very restful

Do not stay in room 122. It has a very loud, clanging fan noise which made it extremely difficult to sleep. It was next to the entrance, the stairs, and the elevator, making it subject to all the noises of much coming and going. The entrance seemed to be the place to gather for extended socializing and a great deal of noisey activity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Dec 30, 2007

My husband and I were ...

My husband and I were very let down with the State Plaza. The hotel was run down. When we got to our room we found the toilet didn't work. We called the front desk and forty minutes later it was fixed. We had to park on the street because they charged 30 dollars to park in the garage, and the full kitchen didn't include a microwave. The one good thing about the trip was the food in the hotel. No room service, but it was very good. Even with the food, we would have been better off staying almost anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Is reasonably close to musuems.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Family Group
Family
Miami, FL
Mar 29, 2010

AC was horrible!!!

Washington DC is very nice. We went to a lot of museums and had a great time with the family. The only thing we did not like was the temperature in the hotel room. When we got there, the room was extremely HOT and when we went to find out what was wrong, they said they have 2 systems for the AC and that they weren't ready for the cool system to kick off yet. So we weren't able to sleep with that temperature. If you're planning on staying in State Plaza Hotel in Washington DC, we recommend to go in winter time and you're not gonna have any problems with the AC. We've never had any problems in any other hotels when it comes to AC issues. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

When taking the metro, you're going to be able to go to any museum you'll like.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Menomonee Falls, WI
Jun 8, 2009

An Okay Hotel for the Price

Ours was a family vacation to Washington, D.C. We enjoyed four days and three nights of touring and sightseeing. Our hotel, the State Plaza was located on 21st and E. This was a terrific location because it allowed us with two young children to easily access the Metro or walk to many of the wonderful sites such as The Mall, Smithsonians, and George Washington University. The location of the State Plaza was one of its two strengths. The other strength was the hotel's outstanding service. The staff did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. They were very helpful and polite. The hotel itself was old. It may have once been an apartment building. The appliances, including the bath facilities, were outdated. We ordered a microwave which didn't work and needed to be replaced. The paint on the walls was very thick in some places lending to the assumption that the building was old. On the whole, our vacation to D.C. was enjoyable, but I really cannot recommend the State Plaza Hotel. There are many other choices in the same area, for about the same price, that would be worth checking out. They allow on average about 20 minutes to get off the bus and take pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

I highly recommend the use of the tour service, "All About Town." The clean and air-conditioned bus picks you up in front of the hotel and takes you to all of the popular monuments including the Lincoln, Jefferson, FDR, Korean War, WWII, and Iwo Gima memorials.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jun 1, 2009

DC Visit

The rooms were not very clean and I found hair in the bathroom. YUK!! It was very noisy. The staff was nice, but not nice enough to make up for the room and noise. No place to get good food within an easy walk and the hotel didn't have a gppd place to eat. I won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anela
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Oct 9, 2010

There are better places to stay

The staff was pleasant and helpful. It was just too far from shopping, dining areas and metro. I've experienced better in Crystal city, where breakfast was included and metro only a block away. Why have a kitchen if unable to buy milk, eggs, and fixings for sandwiches? only one pot to cook in. 2 stove burners did not work. should supply dish soap, salt/pepper, wash sponge and cooking oil. A frying pan would have helped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yohan
Couples
Florida
Aug 31, 2009

Hotel Rating

The interior was extremely plain painted in white color with almost no decoration. In addition, it did not smell good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk to the main attractions or use the subway, which is about 6 blocks away from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top