$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
853 out of 853
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bahoo65
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 12, 2013

Week trip to D.C.

Stayed in D.C. for the week. Hotel was in a convenient location. About three blocks from the metro and three blocks from the mall. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint would be that my room was right next to the lobby and you could hear people coming in and out at all times of the day. The room was very spacious. The resturant located at the hotel was very good and enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut
Sep 1, 2008

Good value, safe neighborhood

Good location close to all major Wash DC sites, safe neighborhood next to George Washington University. Very large suite with full kitchen was nice. Used onsite parking, pricey but convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Many of the popular tourist sites in Wash DC are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Fullerton, CA
Aug 31, 2008

great location-no need for rental car

Great location and walking distance (about 5 blocks) from the Metro Subway. We flew into to Ronald Regan airport and took the Metro from the airport to the hotel. We arrive a few hours early however, the hotel was nice enough to accommodate us with early check in. The rooms are a little dated, but they are clean and comfortable so for the price and location it didn't matter that much. The rooms have small kitchens which came in handy for extended stays. One of our children is attending George Washington University and for the next several years we plan on staying at this hotel when possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About 3 to 4 blocks south is the Lincoln and Vietnam memorial.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 31, 2008

Perfect for visit to GW University

Very comfortable, well appointed accommodations. It has two very small lobbies, but the rooms are big, with full sized kitchens. There is a handy CVS pharmacy right next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to National Mall and the Kennedy Center, but actually on the edge of the main campus for George Washington University. It's closer than the school's own hotel, the George Washington Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

Very convenient and a nice stay

We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the White House and all the monuments. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was very big and pretty comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near the White House & Washington monuments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

My review of State Plaza Hotel

Only criticism - unusual unpleasant odor, continual over 4 days, at the front entrance of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for a great walk through George Washington University

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2008

Large Room Space and Kitchen

We booked this hotel because of its large room size and kitchen which allows simple cooking. It's a pity there is no hot water boiler in the room. We had to rely on the microwave to boil water for making milk for our toddler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is located close to the city and major state attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
Aug 3, 2008

Good value for your money!

Service was good from check-in to check-out. There's a CVS beside the hotel complex and together with the kitchen adds up to a very convenient stay. (You can cook your own meals)! The iginition in the gas stove isn't working though so bring a lighter or something. Overall, my stay there was a "good value" for my money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Its a good 10-15minute walk to DC attractions!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill
Aug 3, 2008

Exactly what we needed

My husband and I have severe food allergies, which makes it hard for us to travel, since eating out is usually a challenge. This hotel had a full kitchen with each room, for only a slight bit more cost. This meant that we could bring and cook our own food -- which saved our health and our money! We could walk to the mall to see all the sights, and when we didn't want to walk that far, a metro stop was four blocks away which would take us right to where we wanted to go. We highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Whitestone, NY
Aug 3, 2008

excellent location and value

The only problem was that breakfast (and I assume other meals) was not served on weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Whittier, CA
Jul 31, 2008

Not Bad

Stayed 4 nites. Only in the room to sleep. Found the room to be spacious with a small fully stocked kitchen. Everything was comforatable. The furniture and tiling can be a little outdated. The halls tended to have an 'older' smell to them. It is located very near George Washington University and seems to handle clientel for the university. The hotel is a good 5-10 minute walk to Foggy Bottom metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top